We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful get together at Castle Cliffe”

Review of Castle Cliffe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Ground floor plan
1st floor plan
2nd floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carole-Ho...
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful get together at Castle Cliffe”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Castle Cliffe for a large group get together over a long weekend. Everything went really well from the initial arrangements with the owners to the weekend itself. The house was spacious well equipped and felt very comfortable and of high quality but without being posh/precious. There was plenty of space to get together or find a quiet corner. The owners left a large box of delicious brownies and beautiful flowers to welcome us.

We did some lovely walks from the front door and left the cars in the car park for most of the weekend. Just be careful as the dry stone wall around the car park is a little delicate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large comfy house with mainly en-suite bathrooms in great location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie B
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous stay for our intimate family wedding”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most amazing stay at Castle Cliffe for our small family wedding at the end of August. There was 18 of us as a group in total and there was more than enough room for us all without feeling on top of each other. Jackie & Neil made everything so easy from the first communication and we can't thank them enough for being so accommodating, we were even allowed to visit before our booking to check out the room configurations. It was hard to leave at the end of the week as the house is so beautiful, welcoming and comfortable. The weather even played its part so we could enjoy the bbq with the best views imaginable.
Thank you again Jackie & Neil, we can't wait to re visit your lovely house.
Mr & Mrs Howard x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmb1938
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No one doubted that we had made a first-class choice in coming here”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

In Castle Cliffe we found an ideal house for a week's holiday for a family of twenty people.The situation is beautiful, ideal for those who wish to go on walks. The house is spacious, with finely appointed, clean and attractive bedrooms. The kitchen facilities are first-rate, and the children had a room where they could live independently but within earshot. The field close by, owned by Castle Cliffe, was a further boon for the children. We had a great time and recommend the house and its situation very highly.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karinjc
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great house,beautiful location and views”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at castle cliffe two consecutive weekends in June for a group walkng weekend.
The views from every room are are all stunning.
The house is spacious, well designed with lots of single sleeping options and en-suites,
bright decor,clean and comfortable.
Fabulous in every aspect.
We have booked to return for our third year.
A chimnea in the garden would be perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: views
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic House with amazing views.”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We hired this house for my sister's hen weekend and i can honestly say we were not disappointed!!
Neil and Jackie were amazing from the initial enquiry to our arrival at the house where fresh flowers, absolutely delicious chocolate brownies and milk in the fridge were all left ready for us, and after a 5 hour journey from South Wales, were most welcome.
We were a group of 20 and the house enabled us to all gather together when we wanted to but also allowed everyone their own space to relax.
The communal areas were fantastic and all bedrooms were of exceptional quality with the majority having ensuite facilities. There was more than sufficient parking for the whole group. The views out of the windows were spectacular.
We spent Saturday afternoon in the beautiful Village of Bakewell which was just a 5 minute drive from the house.
Would highly recommend this house to anyone looking for somewhere to go for a large group/family get together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing