We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“No one doubted that we had made a first-class...”

Review of Castle Cliffe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Ground floor plan
1st floor plan
2nd floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bmb1938
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No one doubted that we had made a first-class choice in coming here”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

In Castle Cliffe we found an ideal house for a week's holiday for a family of twenty people.The situation is beautiful, ideal for those who wish to go on walks. The house is spacious, with finely appointed, clean and attractive bedrooms. The kitchen facilities are first-rate, and the children had a room where they could live independently but within earshot. The field close by, owned by Castle Cliffe, was a further boon for the children. We had a great time and recommend the house and its situation very highly.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karinjc
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great house,beautiful location and views”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at castle cliffe two consecutive weekends in June for a group walkng weekend.
The views from every room are are all stunning.
The house is spacious, well designed with lots of single sleeping options and en-suites,
bright decor,clean and comfortable.
Fabulous in every aspect.
We have booked to return for our third year.
A chimnea in the garden would be perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: views
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic House with amazing views.”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We hired this house for my sister's hen weekend and i can honestly say we were not disappointed!!
Neil and Jackie were amazing from the initial enquiry to our arrival at the house where fresh flowers, absolutely delicious chocolate brownies and milk in the fridge were all left ready for us, and after a 5 hour journey from South Wales, were most welcome.
We were a group of 20 and the house enabled us to all gather together when we wanted to but also allowed everyone their own space to relax.
The communal areas were fantastic and all bedrooms were of exceptional quality with the majority having ensuite facilities. There was more than sufficient parking for the whole group. The views out of the windows were spectacular.
We spent Saturday afternoon in the beautiful Village of Bakewell which was just a 5 minute drive from the house.
Would highly recommend this house to anyone looking for somewhere to go for a large group/family get together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbes740
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super party house in excellent location”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A group of us (9 couples) stayed at Castle -Cliffe for a week to celebrate the new year. The house was ideal for our group with so many ensuite bathrooms. The beds were very comfy and the linen quality excelllent.
There was a large dining table which comfortably seated all of us and enough comfy seats for afterwards. Although the weather was rather wet it did not in any way spoil our holiday. The location of the house right on the Monsal trail was ideal and most people went out walking every day, even if it was just into Bakewell. It was lovely coming back to a warm house and with the fire lit in the lounge we were very comfortable. Full marks to Neil and Jackie for leaving us a box of chocolate brownies and for calling round themselves to check everything was OK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the house and number of bathrooms
Liked least: Probably could do with a second fridge for large groups like ours
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena B
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Xmas in the Peaks”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We held a big family Christmas at Castle Cliffe with 14 people in total. It was a perfect location, lots of room, very warm and cosy and a huge kitchen for us to prepare lunches and dinners. The location could not have been better with views down the valley to via ducts and the Packhorse a lovely pub just round the corner. The owners were very helpful and friendly and the booking process very straight forward.
thanks for the lovely stay...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing