We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for a large group”

Review of Castle Cliffe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Ground floor plan
1st floor plan
2nd floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
warringto...
warrington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for a large group”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We were a group of 21 over 6 families....the rooms are flexible enough so that they work for our group. Rooms are clean, most with TVs (good for kids and X factor) and most are ensuite.

Downstairs is spacious with a large kitchen with an aga (great potatoes cooked in it) a large dining area, and plenty of seating, even a separate lounge with games for the kids.

Location was great, opposite a pub, and the Monsal Trail for walks out, and also 5 minutes from Bakewell.

We ordered a shopping delivery from tesco which made life easier.

The owners met us to show us what we needed to know, and also gave us some home made brownies, but the added touch of milk tea & coffee were available until ours arrived.

The property is perfect for a large group of friends / family get together, we're booking again for next year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ab Fab”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We recently stayed at Castle Cliffe. Our group of 20 all thoroughly enjoyed our time at this fabulous property. A large, clean, well appointed house, with a lovely garden and plenty of parking.
The kitchen had everything we could possibly need. The dining area seated us all with ease. The lounges are comfortable and warm. Log burner especially appreciated. Great to have a cosy snug room to watch TV in too.
Bedrooms with comfy beds and most with en-suite. Magical views of the lovely surroundings.
We were lucky to have a bright day and were able to cook BBQ food on the huge barrel barbecue.
Close to 2 pubs, one with restaurant, beautiful scenery, wonderful walks. We couldn't have wished for more.
We intend to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Flexible accommodation to meet the needs of such a large group.
Liked least: We couldn't find a CD player!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A fabulous house for a large group of people”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a fabulous week at this house. It was perfect for our extended family of 17, including 3 young children. The house manages to have enough space for everybody but didn't feel to spread out. It was in a lovely location, close to the some of the best bits Derbyshire has to offer.

The accommodation was great and we all had lovely rooms. The kitchen was very well equipped and had everything we needed - the family particularly enjoyed the instant hot water and the amazing brownies which were left by the owners.

The owners were very quick to answer a couple of questions we had about the property - even on a Sunday evening - and were very friendly when we met them.

We would definitely recommend this property and would book again.

Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the space
Liked least: The kitchen table could do with being changed - a little wobbly!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMDance
rotherham
2 reviews
“Amazing large family house”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Fabulous property with great views, walks and plenty of pubs and attractions. We spent the weekend celebrating our Ruby wedding with our large family and friends. The house was great for our grandchildren who had a lovely time playing in the paddock at the back and also the house had plenty of sofas for the oldies to crash out on and a huge dining table for all 20 of us to sit around. Really hope we will be able to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: Internet access was poor.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seal63
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a great place for a family get together or for a group of families The property is spacious, has a large number of bedrooms which allow various permutations/combinations for individual family needs and the en-suite arrangements for most rooms is very convenient. The house is comfortable and careful thought has gone into the requirements that guests with varying tastes/requirements may have. The kitchen is well equipped and lends itself to more complex culiniary efforts....the knives could do with a bit of sharpening though. Fantastic walking and cycling country with tracks from the doorstep. Our group of 5 families have been doing such large group holidays every year for the last 13 years and this property certainly would be in the top three.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable property. Great location for walking/cycling.
Liked least: There was a problem with garbage collection.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing