We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gorgeous cottage, nestled in a little piece of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Views from the rear garden,there is also a small village recreation area to the right
Chatsworth house and park land
We've got beautiful walks from Devonshire Cottage along the river to Chatsworth Bridge
Chatsworth House & beautiful gardens to walk around,get lost in the maze,picnic on the lawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deirdre B
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gorgeous cottage, nestled in a little piece of heaven.”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed here with my husband and son, for 1 week in August and it was amazing. The cottage is beautiful, immaculately clean, and has everything you could wish for. It is a great central base for walking holidays, or for touring the countryside and villages in the area - and it even boasts a pub across the road ! We have already planned our return :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Affable_G...
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Cute cottage, perfect location, lovely owner, wonderful break!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My sister and I stayed in Devonshire Cottage so that we could spend some time together and enjoy the wonderful walks around Chatsworth. The cottage is really well appointed, and very tastefully decorated and furnished. Marlene (the owner) has added lots of extra touches of TLC which make it a fabulous place to stay. There are so many lovely walks straight from the door that we only took our cars out twice during our six night stay. The lovely cafe in Beeley was unexpected and a delight and although our experience dining at the Devonshire Arms across the road from the cottage wasn't good (review to follow when I get time) it has a really cosy bar area and was a great place for an after-walk drink.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21CJ_B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Beautifully decorated cottage in a wonderful location. Very clean and well equipped.
Would definitely stay here again. Thanks Marlene for a lovely break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feedmybon...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation, great location!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We booked this cottage because we were working at a local event and wanted somewhere cosy and comfortable to stay while we were away.

Booking was easy, and the proprietor was very helpful and prompt in responding to my enquiries. The cottage itself was lovely - really well appointed, and such a fantastic location.

I would very happily stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picture Perfect - You will not want to leave”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I don't often write reviews, but enjoyed this beautiful cottage so much I had to spread the word. The cottage is absolutely gorgeous and the views from the back garden are breathtaking. It really is picture perfect...... like you see in the story books or in films. I loved the way this cottage is decorated. It is so warm and cosy and everything was immaculately clean and furnished to such a high standard. The bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it with me. It is perfectly located with a lovely country pub just footsteps away. The owner, Marlene, was lovely..... she couldn't do enough for us and her local knowledge helped us make the most out of our stay. We were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine.... which I thought was a really nice touch. If you are considering booking this place - just do it!! I promise you won't be disappointed. I can't wait to go back. Thanks Marlene for a wonderful holiday we will never forget

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way this cottage makes you feel instantly relaxed and at home
Liked least: Not being able to fit the bed through the door ;0)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing