We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rural delight”

Review of Bumble Bee Barn

Sitting/Dining Room with French doors to patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting/Dining Room with French doors to patio
Bumble Bee Barn from the garden Bumble Bee Barn viewed from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Sitting/Dining Room with French doors to patio
Bumble Bee Barn from the garden
Bumble Bee Barn viewed from the garden
Kitchen with belfast sink and washing machine
Fabulous View from Bumble Bee Patio
Kitchen showing Alpha Cooker/Boiler
Kitchen showing entrance to Sitting/Dining Room
Dining Area
Garden and Pond View
King Post Truss in Sitting/Dining Room
Double Bedroom with touch on bedside lamps
Free-range chickens - lovely eggs for you!
Bumble Bee Barn from lower garden
West wall with name plate
Nearby Chatsworth House
Garden and pond
Yucca flowering in the garden
Bumble Bee from garden
Fireplace
Bumble Bee Barn Sitting/Dining Room
Freddy & Ginger at the bottom of the garden
Bumble Bee from the courtyard
Part of the lush garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Heather T
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rural delight”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The views from the cottage are perfection. Loved the cats, chickens and the geese even though the geese didn't like me much.Fresh free range eggs were very tasty. Stanton Moor up the hill is well worth a visit, mystical and beautiful. Lovely walks around the Monsal Trail. Only downside was the wifi which was not constant and weak. The cottage was cute, comfy and we'll equipped. I loved my stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely comments Heather and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I pay a lot for my super-fast broadband here and have installed a booster in Bumble Bee, but will look into this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathrynta...
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Wonderful little cottage with everything you need. Fabulous views, geese and chickens in the garden, wild deer in the fields. I really wish we could move In! Can't recommend enough

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thank you Cathryn for your lovely comments and so pleased you enjoyed your second stay in Bumble Bee. I will be happy to welcome you back again next year too as I know you have already enquired!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiggerton
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely quiet place to relax”
Reviewed 23 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Well where to start...Relaxing,cosy, tranquil, quiet little get away, with a little piece of nature all thrown in

Bumble Bee Barn is a lovely cosy little cottage, with everything you need to have a relaxing holiday. Bumble Bee Barn is situated at the back of the owners property so you really feel like you are there on your own. It is topped off with superb views from the living room of open fields, if your lucky you may even catch the deer playing in the fields just behind the Barn. There is an enclosed garden, I would have preferred a slightly higher fence to keep the dog in as we had to put her on the lead when outside but that says more about our dog then the Barn as Lady (Dog) is a bit of an escape artist so would have been over the fences in a flash to meet Fred and Ginger (Geese) and the chickens, saying that... a higher fence would spoil the view which would be a real shame as it is spectacular to sit and watch the birds having their breakfast in the morning with a pot of tea.

Cherry (Owner) is on hand should you need her and she has a good knowledge of places in the area so can recommend some good places to visit. There is a basket in the living room of leaflets for places in the local area including walks and restaurants to visit. There is a field at the back of the property that you can take your dogs on for that early morning/last thing at night walks.

There is very helpful notes of how to use the appliances, it was my first time cooking on a Alfalfa cooker, I really enjoyed it and it somehow made the food taste fresher this could be my imagination of course.

I hope you take the time to go and visit this lovely little piece of paradise if you get the chance, we would love to return someday and explore more as our pick of timings wasn't great as the larger local attractions don't open till end of March, however we still managed to find more than enough to keep us busy for the week visiting different villages near by and lots of different walks for Lady (Dog). There are lots more places in the area that we would still like to visit.

Thank you Cherry for your kind hospitality and we hope to visit again soon.

Take care
Donna, Luke and Lady (Dog)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for a really lovely review Donna and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Bumble Bee. You were lucky to see the deer too. It will be wonderful to welcome you back at a different time of year as the landscape changes with the seasons. All the best, Cherry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samidesig...
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little place for a break”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a lovely weekend staying at Bumble Bee Barn, secluded, spacious and well equipped. The huge bed was super comfy and excellent shower. Loved the old style cooker in the kitchen.

Peak District was a beautiful area to explore and we wish we had booked a few more days as there is so much to see!

Only little problem we had was running out of toilet roll, maybe placing a spare in the bathroom cabinet would be useful as we didn't want to disturb you.

Thanks very much,
Sami and Ollie

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2018
Thank you for your kind review and so pleased you enjoyed the cottage and lovely area. The bathroom cupboard is now kept well stocked with loo roll!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roam68481...
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Had a really lovely weekend stay here, the cottage was in such a great location and beautifully presented , would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2017
Thank you very much Laura. Just sorry I didn't meet you as I was away myself this weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing