We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find!”
Review of Sleep Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sleep Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A real find!”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is part of what used to be a Youth Hostel, but banish any thoughts of spartan surroundings from your minds: it's had a boutique-hotel style makeover, and now offers tasteful, comfortable accommodation in well-appointed rooms - even down to the designer 'smellies' awaiting you in the bathroom. The'knock-your-socks-off' shower deserves a special mention! The Sleep Lodge is essentially an 'apart-hotel', with handy kitchenettes for breakfast/snacks/whatever, and no full-time reception: instead, you're met on arrival in the car park and shown to your room. Ironically, service was better here than most conventional hotels we've experienced - a quick phone call ensured that any query or minor problem was promptly (and charmingly!) dealt with. It's especially suitable if, like us, you're a group of friends, as several of the rooms can convert to twins, and are clustered in self-contained units. It's a quick (if steep!) walk into charming Bakewell itself, where you'll find a good range of really excellent restaurants & cafes, several of which offer discounts to Sleep Lodge/Bagshaw Hall guests. Over all, it's great value for money, and we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: The staff are genuinely helpful - if you book direct, you can discuss with them what you're look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayGBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    38
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
78
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed here with 4 girlfriends in April for my birthday and it was just perfect. We had 3 rooms between 5 of us and drew straws for who would get the one with the King size bed! Facilities were excellent from the huge shower, the comfy beds and the mini kitchen facilities in each room. Rooms were so large that there was plenty of room to gather in one for a nightcap of the wine nicely chilled in the fridge! With plenty of choice in Bakewell for places to eat breakfast, there was no need for the traditional B&B. All in all a great weekend and we're already planning the next. And Elaine who dealt with our booking could not have been more helpful!

Room Tip: The rooms with baths are slightly larger than those with a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnitWitSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at this place for 2 nights and found it a quiet and conveneint place.
IT's located in a quiet neighbourhood. The room (RM 2) is reasonably sized, with a small glass dinner table. It's modernly furnished and the big window opens to a nice lawn.
The kitchenette and culinary items are new, clean, well-maintained, and adequate. We prepared our own breakfast and dinner (readily made food from supermarket in microwave) in the room and everything worked perfectly well. The bathroom is spacious and well-maintained too.
The only thing that didn't work very smoothly was the free wifi - it didn't work in the evenings.
The staff were not always there but they were quick to help on the phone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuang Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Nice big clean room. Big comfy bed. Being able to cook snacks and toast etc was handy. TV was a bit rubbish

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

After reading numerous reviews I was slightly apprehensive as to what to expect, so was prepared for anything.

We stayed in the "Superior" Sir Ranulph Fiennes Apartment ~ No: 1

We were met at the exact time by the Owner, who was very pleasant and accommodating. He explained that the apartment wasn't serviced, so if we needed more Tea Bags/Coffee/Loo Rolls/Towels/Clean Sheets etc.....then just to ask.

On entering the Apartment I felt a little dismayed. It smelt very damp and musty, despite windows being open, also it was quite dark inside (he quickly put the lights on). The bathroom and hallway are both below ground level which makes it look dingy inside.

The apartment was reasonably clean, but not spotless. On getting into bed late at night I was upset to find a large black mark on the "clean" sheets just at about shoulder height. Whoever made up the bed must have seen it? It put me off, but I had no choice but to sleep on it. As well as the damp smell there was also a smell of like rotten rubber in the corner of the room which made my luggage smell. The Bathroom was well appointed with a bath and seperate shower, but the bath had a large black mark in the corner. The toilet seat came out of its fixing on the right hand side when I sat on it, so I repaired it as best I could, and had to handle it with great care for the rest of the stay. The pop up waste in the sink was broken, the lever at the back was jammed, so you had to get your nail underneath the plug to lift it to let water out. Having said that the seal wasn't very good anyway, so you had to wash very quickly before it emptied itself anyway.

One thing I would also mention is that in some respects this apartment isn't very private. There is a side window in the little hallway which people walk directly past and look in. If you have the bathroom window open at the top, people passing can see in, and also the large bedroom window only has a roller blind. Which is obviously either up or down. Sometimes people would walk around the back and look directly in, and that includes the Gardener who stood directly outside on his phone for some time. Which made us feel uncomfortable inside, and I thought was rude of him as he could see us. Most of the time we had to keep all the blinds almost down for some privacy.

Plus points:
Good for access into Bakewell, albeit up/down a very steep hill.
You are left alone to do as you please.
Plenty of hot water.
Very large comfy bed
Easy for basic self catering.
Nice large room.

Minus points:
Car Parking ~ There are 10 Apartments, but we found with 4 cars in the car park, it was becoming awkward to park. Can't imagine how it takes 10 cars if full...!!!!
Only 8 hangers (4 each) in the wardrobe. Not enough!
Minimal cutlery/crockery, ie. 2 cups/2 plates/2 Knives/2 Forks etc.
The Duvet was a nightmare. I assume it was a feather one? It was very light at the top, but weighed a ton at the bottom, and was extremely heavy and bulky looking. When the bed was made it looked like it was full of mole hills! (Also however had made the bed hadn't even bothered to do the buttons up on the duvet, apart from 2, so it was constantly slipping out.

To sum up:
I would consider going again if I couldn't find anywhere else, but it is definitely NOT worth the £90 a night that we paid. I feel you are paying more for the "concept" of the Sleep Lodge, than what you actually receive.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor apartment, which should be lighter inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toshgirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.0 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
0.2 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.4 km away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
13.5 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
268 reviews
5.3 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Lodge

Property: Sleep Lodge
Address: Fly Hill, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bakewell
Price range (per night): $130 - $171
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Lodge, provides contemporary bedrooms in Bakewell. Sleep Lodge is a new brand of guest accommodation designated as “Room Only” providing flexibility that a traditional hotel or bed & breakfast does not offer. Sleep Lodge is a budget offer for all types of travelers providing premier accommodation in contemporary style bedrooms. Flat screen T.V, DVD, WiFi connection, dining table and kitchenette in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sleep Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing