We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“IDYLLIC IN BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY-SIDE SETTING”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wye View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steph C
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“IDYLLIC IN BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY-SIDE SETTING”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful and well-equipped cottage, perfect for a short stay to explore the quaint towns of Matlock and Bakewell close by. Wayne is very friendly and helpful and responded quickly to any queries I had. A definite recommendation! Thank you Wayne.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Steph thank you so much and hope to see you again
Regards
Wayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal45...
1 review
“Cottage spotless with amazing views of the countryside around”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Firstly, we received a warm welcome from Wayne, the cottage is unique, if you're looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway with character, this is it, the accommodation is clean and perfect for a couple, or four at the most, it's small but overflowing with it's own personality, there is just one thing, it's not suitable for children who are young enough to require constant supervision, we intend to come back a soon as we can, very highly recommended. As for the negative reviews, they can't have stayed at the same place as we did. IT WAS FANTASTIC.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
That you so much for the kind review and hope to see you sgain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Recently stayed here cant rate the place high enough. Wayne is more than helpful and more than professional. The prettiest calmest place I've stayed in. We as a group had a wonderful comfortable time. Cleanliness was above and beyond and enough stuff provided to make it a comfortable easy enjoyable stay. Anyone looking to stay disregard any previous negative comments that have been said and go and witness the incredible views and beautiful beuilding for your self. Great for couples great for friends and great safe space to enjoy as a family. Plenty to do in both villages just minutes from the cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. Hope to see you again.

Wayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy D
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hugely disappointed.”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Well what a let down ...
The area is beautiful and views from the cottage lovely but all good ends there.
The accommodation is very worn , grubby , tired and smells .
Definitely not what shown in the advertising literature, the settee which was a leather one in the picture is replaced by an old worn and dusty material one.
There was a mouldy dishcloth left in the Sink , centipedes in the bathroom and insects throughout the property.
When we left all of our clothes smelt and we have to wash everything.
Would definitely not recommend this property but would recommend the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Wow
If you look at reviews on booking.com and trip advisor you will note we get many 10/10
The accommodation was complete as new 9 months ago. New carpets, beds sofa, kitchen and Bathroom. How can it be grubby/tired and worn.?? The wardrobes are solid wood and wood smell and the dish cloth I have no idea what your talking about. So you found an insect in the middle of the countryside cottage (really)
You are isolated in your comments and as 6 of you stayed altogether and your parents said how lovely it was I simply put this down to been angry with something else but you choose to vent at us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie B
2 reviews
“DISAPPOINTMENT!”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Me, my partner and our 4 month old baby were staying for just one night so we could visit the area, Dovedale in particular. I saw this cute, quaint accommodation and booked it straight away as it looked lovely. The location was lush with a great view. The owner, Wayne, told me beforehand he would be in China during our stay and arranged for Kate to meet us. No sooner had Kate left us with the keys did we notice the disgusting blanket of dog hair covering the entire accommodation, upstairs and down! (from more than one dog - different colours of hair). I text kate asking for our money back as we wanted to leave asap. My partner had to remove the bedsheets so I could sit down to feed our baby whilst we waited for Kate. Kate was very apologetic and kind about the situation, refunding us immediately and agreeing that the cleanliness was nowhere near standard. She showed me the text from Wayne saying he'd left it ready for us and she simply had to let us in. I understand the property was pet friendly but the line was majorly crossed by the hair covering the beds, floor, shower - literally everywhere. It was no place for anyone to stay in that state, especially not a baby.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing