We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cosy Accomodation for a family and a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of cottage - a real get away from it all !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage - a real get away from it all !
Little hideaway!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Front of cottage - a real get away from it all !
Little hideaway!
Cosy lounge
View from bedroom 2
Complimentary wine on arrival !
Rear patio area with barbecue
Master bedroom with 5ft King size divan bed - very comfortable
Attic with double bed - slightly restricted head height
Bedroom 2 with double bed
View from master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cosy Accomodation for a family and a dog in a great location”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed in Peak Cottage for three nights just after Easter. The Cottage was perfect for our needs. The cottage was large enough for five of us and our dog. The cottage was well equiped and had everything we needed. It was a short walk from Bakewell where we found a number of dog friendly pubs and quaint shops. The communication with Debra the owner was really helpful. We even arrived to a welcome treat. We would thorougly recommend the cottage and will probably look to book again in the near future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
That's a lovely review paul thankyou and please come back soon x. We do try our best to make our guests welcome and comfortable
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veen n
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location, cosy and homely pet-friendly cottage in Bakewell”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We are a familyy of 5 (myself, husband, our teenage son, and husband's parents and their Schipperke dog). Peak Cottage has a great location as its super plus point! It sits on a slight hill just outside of Bakewell, about 500m from Costa, your nearest coffee shop. The description of the cottage by Debra is spot on so one cannot complain about parking or the jack and jill bathroom. It is super cosy with an enclosed courtyard which is good for your little pet should you not want to leave it in the house. We had my in-laws' dog stationed in the kitchen.

The front of the cottage where you can sit out is cosy. However, there is no view to really speak of. The best view is from the master bedroom, however, we weren't exactly ging to mill around the bedroom window while chatting and having a cuppa :-) If you're hoping to sit out and enjoy the view, this cottage isn't for you. However, if you're just after a nice and warm cottage with a great location, this is for you!

Things we appreciated other than the location:

1. superfast wifi

2. easy to use wireless control for the central heating

3. Master bedroom is exquisite, second bedroom fits a double bed but you won't have space to put your suitcase except (upright) in a corner behind the bathroom door. This room also doesn't have any wardrobe, so you might want to consider that should you wish to stay longer ( we managed just fine and not a problem for us. We stayed for 3 nights only and we usually travel light). The master bedroom has everything you need, you might be able to share the wardrobe! Our teenage son liked the loft bedroom, it could easily sleep 2 adults to be honest since it has more space than the 2nd bedroom below. In addition, all the beds were very very comfortable and smelt divine! I didn't want to get up the next day, just wanted to stay in!

We booked this cottage via Airbnb. Our only point of contention initially was the pricing. We were already on our way up north to pick up the in-laws when I had a correspondence from Debra that our payment was short of £40. She did make a point that Airbnb might have got the pricing wrong. I did communicate with Airbnb and they confirmed that it was £95 a night with no mention of extra charge for the dog, hence, the total cost to be paid to Debra was £285, not £325. (I am not including Airbnb fees as I am aware of their charges. This is merely the fees charged by Debra). This was the only thing that soured our experience even before our break started. We felt we had no option at this stage because this was a last minute booking where we were due to arrive at the cottage the next day. We had no choice but to pay the extra via bank transfer. It wasn't recommended by Airbnb but it was such a last minute booking that even Airbnb said they understood we had to pay outside of Airbnb. We had promised to take my in-laws for a short break and to visit my mother-in-law's brother nearby. Debra had kindly discounted it by £10. Due to arriving at my in-laws late at night, and signal issue, I paid the bank transfer on the morning before we set off for Bakewell. We have used Airbnb around half a dozen times and this was the first time where the owner said Airbnb made a mistake with their pricing. Debra has informed me that she has corrected her pricing with Airbnb. I checked. The cottage is now for rental at £109 per night and £15 for a dog per stay.

I am including this issue in the review so that you can confirm with Debra the final charge just to be sure.

Debra has kindly left a bottle of Prosecco, tea and coffee, and biscuits as a welcome. Much appreciated!

All in all, the cottage is in a perfect location, it smelt wonderful and clean, it was very cosy and warm with everything you need for your break. Debra is easily contactable and very amiable. I would recommend this cottage for sure! Thank you Debra.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Hi Veronica thank you for your lovely review so glad you liked it - regarding the view, there is a large conifer we are to cut down soon as this does impair the view a little we try hard to ensure guests have a clean and comfortable experience and apologies again for the Air B & B - we have only been with Air b & B for a couple of months, and their pricing is complicated, but i am glad that you felt it was worth the extra payment and I appreciate that.- please come and see us again soon, with kindest regards Debra Donoghue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJacques1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy, beautifully decorated, bijoux cottage in delightful location.”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Dog friendly without comprising on comfort or quality. Very friendly & helpful owners, so different to booking through agents. We'd love to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Thankyou for your review our objective was to offer 4 star accommodation and be pet friendly so glad you liked it and we look forward to welcoming you again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwr0gers
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming, clean and comfortable, but awkward access and parking”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Peak Cottage is a mere 10 minute uphill walk from the centre of Bakewell. Bakewell makes a perfect base from which to explore the Peak District, but is a charming, characterful market town in its own right and certainly deserves at least a day exploring.
The cottage was very clean and comfortable, with good facilities. Communications with the owner (Debra) were excellent and we were made to feel very welcome.
On the down-side, however, access to the cottage is via a short, narrow lane, in need of some repair, the top of which was very muddy and slippery. It made off-loading and reloading luggage quite awkward, and would be potentially hazardous in wet weather. Furthermore, cars must then be parked somewhere on the main road (for which there is some competition) because there is no space available to park in the access lane for tenants of Peak Cottage.
In short, a lovely cottage in a lovely town, but let down by its access and parking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2017
Hi roger so glad you enjoyed your stay - we do advertise that there is only on street parking as we are a secret hideaway - I also noticed that it was getting muddy due to heavy rainfall as this rarely happens however we are placing a ton of hardcore at the top of the lane and also we are having a new patio laid this week so this will improve access so thankyou for your feedback Debra - ps parking in Bakewell is a premium
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJBlount1...
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended ”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed here for a birthday weekend in January. The cottage is lovely, very clean, well equipped and extremely comfortable- it has been made to feel like a home from home. We would highly recommend the location and cottage - the owners are very helpful and approachable, I doubt anything would be too much trouble. We will absolutely revisit!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure hosting your stay, regards Debra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 169
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing