We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
441
117
16
14
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
117
16
14
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub steep hill loose tea with freshly squeezed orange juice early night white horse huge bathroom fish and chips stayed one night room was spacious great room open fire roll top bath town centre an overnight stay lovely place member of staff
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Great place. Fab rooms, huge bathroom! Lovely food served in the restaurant. Well stocked bar. Slept really well on a comfortable bed and awoke to a well cooked breakfast. Second stay here. Be back next year (I hope).

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lolffon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Lovely large comfortable room, decent bed, nice and big. Proper tea and coffee making facilities with loose tea (Earl Grey and English Breakfast) and ground cafetière coffee . Several local real ales in the bar on hand pump, lovely sunny terrace. Great food, both evening meal, and breakfast and really friendly helpful staff. Everything was just perfect.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RossyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Lovely Inn with great food, wine and beer.
Staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable (especially beds and bathrooms).
Restaurant is very good as is breakfast.
Parking could be better, however a call to the property beforehand will likely resolve this.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Although the seating could be organized better, the staff is super friendly and the food portions are acceptable for the price. The seating is quaint and cozy, presenting with wood tables and chairs, a nice decor and some lite pop music in the background. I chose the Flatcapper Ale first, and it was slightly more on the pale side for my taste, it still had an exceptional bitter bite which is what was promised! We ordered the fish and chips and was not disappointed. The portions were solid, food was presented well and tasted great! We might stop back by for another go before we leave on Saturday !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank madmohican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Clean, modern & cozy rooms, nice restaurant downstairs with great breakfast in the mornings and lovely views over Salisbury Plain from the garden. Service was absolutely superb and accommodating, we felt very welcome and at ease here from the moment we walked in. Overall a very memorable and highly recommended experience ! Perhaps one tiny thing to improve on was the WiFi, which was a bit choppy & slow, but as we only needed it to book train tickets, this too was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view down the hill.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaffyD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews