We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent cottage and brilliantly located for...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lock Quay Cottage

Lock Quay Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lock Quay Cottage
The Kitchen Lock Quay Cottage visible (far house) from the Lock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Lock Quay Cottage
The Kitchen
Lock Quay Cottage visible (far house) from the Lock
The Lounge with wood burning stove and leather sofa
The Dining Area looking out
Kitchen showing smaller sitting area with sofa bed
The Dining Area looking in
The Garden
Kennet and Avon canal from the bridge
The Double Room on the second floor
Single bedroom on the middle floor
Double bedroom on the middle floor
Twin room on the middle floor
The Lock area opposite
Welcome
The bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Safari644...
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent cottage and brilliantly located for us”
Reviewed 3 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We booked two nights at Lock Quay Cottage in April 2018 and it was excellent. We needed accommodation because we'd hired a self drive dayboat (a narrowboat) from the boatyard at Bradford on Avon Lock, on the Kennet & Avon Canal.

The cottage was very pleasant and had everything we wanted - plenty of bedrooms, and space to relax, inside or out. We were really pleased with the excellent welcome pack.

The location of the cottage was brilliant for us, being a couple of minutes' walk to the boatyard, plus two very different places to eat, The Lock Inn Cafe, and the Barge Inn were right there as well. So once we'd parked our cars by the cottage on Friday, boated on Saturday, we didn't need to move them till Sunday.

We really enjoyed a walk along the canal to the Tithe Barn when we arrived, and would have liked more time to explore more.

A very relaxing and enjoyable weekend was had by all - hopefully we'll return again before long.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
geefmon
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful short stay with infants and family”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We traveled from Canada to visit family in the U.K. in October 2017 with an almost 4 year old and a 5 month old. We converged in Bradford-on-Avon (BOA) with more family and their 10 month old while visiting family close to the Bath area. At the recommendation of my cousin in the U.K., we found the Lock Quay Cottage rental in BOA, and in total there were 4 adults, 2 under 1 year olds, and one 4 year old staying in the cottage. We had originally desired 3 nights, but the cottage was not available for a couple of our nights so we were able to quickly make some adjustments and David, the owner, was very prompt to respond with the alternative dates as well as loads of very helpful information of the area, restaurants, hints and tips, and many more details to ensure we could have a wonderful - albeit too short - stay!

Our part of the family arrived via train from Cardiff, a direct train. Arrival in lovely little BOA was easy, and once we knew to take a right onto Frome Road road the train station, an easy walk even with our luggage and two little ones. Within 5-7 minutes we had arrived at the Lock Quay Cottage, and enter the rental property. It was beautiful - impeccably clean, much larger than we could have anticipated, and well-outfitted with anything you could image you would require was found. We were also delighted with a special little welcome package, perfect for us and our family.

The cottage truly has everything you need for a lovely self-catering get-away, and is very comfortable so you can settle in and feel at "home away from home" in no time at all. We took a walk to get a few groceries, but decided to simply order some Indian Food take-away from a small delicious restaurant just a 3 minute walk away on night one and self-catered night 2. We also enjoyed the Lock Inn just across the canal for a few breaks, a breakfast, and a pint or two. Oh, and some afternoon tea at the Bridge.

The walk into town takes 10 minutes at most, and there are also plenty of sites and parks even closer than that, such as a lovely walk along the canal, Tithe Barn, some nice little shops, a few pub/restaurants, and more. The traffic in BOA is busier than we expected; however, you don't notice any traffic noises at all at the actual cottage property as it is just off the busy Frome Road.

The cottage really has everything you need. Kitchen has all the dishes, cutlery, and cooking equipment you'd need, as well as dishwasher, laundry, fridge, stove, etc., etc... lovely dining area, plenty of places to "spread out" and relax. There's a TV and DVD with loads of great movies to select if the weather turns or just for a late night relax. The beds are very comfortable and there are three bathrooms, one with a shower, one with a nice big tub. Honestly, everything you'd require is available, and David is very fast to respond and ensure you have a comfortable stay, I'm sure he could arrange it, but it has likely been taught of already, including a little booklet with some hints and tips and local information.

Only regret was not having at least 1 additional night to settle in just a little more, especially with young ones in tow, but were very pleased and the cottage actually exceeded our expectations. Thanks for a great stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paddy M
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully​ appointed”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage was even better than we had expected. The 2 parking spaces were a huge bonus in a place like Bradford on Avon. The interior was very nicely furnished and the kitchen was fully equipped with all modern cons and matching Denby ware crockery. The beds were extremely comfortable and we all slept very well. The house was immaculately clean and the Welcome pack was very welcome and generous. I left a large sized cafetiere for use by others!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing