We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bliss”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tara cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Patio area
Kitchen area
Lounge
Single Room
Master
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Portstewart, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
simonbond...
1 review
“Bliss”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Well presented three bedroom cottage. Well looked after clean and tidy on arrival (thank Sylvia).TV in ever room.Broadband added bonus and lovely enclosed rear garden for the wee one . Walking distance to town.very enjoyable stay Thanks.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmcreyn...
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tara Cottage is perfect”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I had a lovely break here. The location is just as described and the accommodation was perfect - roomy, well equipped, clean and stylish. We were given complete privacy but the owner emailed to make sure everything was O.K. The flowers in three of the rooms were a nice touch. The bungalow is in a quiet residential cul-de-sac and the totally enclosed garden is safe for children. Modern televisions in all rooms! For us it lacked absolutely nothing and is probably the best of this type of accommodation we have ever stayed in. We will certainly be back - this year again I hope. Thanks guys!
Ken & Dorothy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roominess, well equipped, High quality televisions in all rooms, wi-fi, stylish, clean.
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dragcoir
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Tara Cottage for one week in July 2012 with my wife and 3 children - Tara Cottage was first class with all amenities, mod cons and was totally Spotless. Wanted for nothing. Excellent Location and facilities. Will be returning. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: home from home
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
Thank you for your great review. Very helpful and very much appreciated

Amy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizMayne
St. George, Bermuda
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We found out about Tara Cottage from friends who had stayed there several times previously and decided to book the cottage for a few days during our vacation in Northern Ireland. When we arrived, we were met by the owners, Trevor and Rosemary Patterson, who are the most pleasant, friendly people you would ever want to meet!! They let us in to Tara Cottage and showed us around and it just felt like we'd come home!! It is a beautiful 3 bedroom cottage on a very quiet, exclusive road and backs on to nothing but the beautiful green fields that you can only find in Ireland. The cottage is fully equipped with everything you could want for your stay and we were very sad to leave. We would totally recommend Tara Cottage to anyone looking for accommodation where you can feel totally relaxed and at ease as well as being extremely well-positioned to the coast. Truly a pleasure!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about this cottage was great. You couldn't ask for better
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsypai
St. George, Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent comfort, amenities and location”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 for a stay in July 2012

My family and I travel from Bermuda to Portstewart to visit family in the local area and we have booked and stayed nine times at Tara Cottage. Each time we have been very happy and within an hour of unpacking have settled in and made it our home. Lovely living room with fire and comfy sofas, large family kitchen where we generally gather, three bedrooms, two bathrooms, all beautifully fitted out. Also, t.v.'s in every room so everyone is well suited if the kids are off to bed. There is a lovely back garden with a bbq, bordering on a field and on an inquisitive afternoon, the cows look over the fence to share some quality time.
Portstewart town, Coleraine, Portrush, a trip around the Antrim coast are all easy access. If you don't want to take the car out for the evening it is very affordable to visit anywhere by taxi to go to the local attractions. The proprietors of Tara recommended us a taxi service some years ago which we always use and they are always on time, extra friendly and affordable.
As golfers, Tara provides us the perfect locale for the courses of Portstewart, the Strand, The Royal Portrush just to mention a few.
I thoroughly recommend Tara Cottage to my fellow travellers, wether a group, a family or the perfect getaway for a couple. As returning vacationers to Tara I also would mention that value for money, it is the hidden gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to all tourist destinations but peaceful, safe and quiet when at Tara
Liked least: The only thing we don't like is having to leave Tara, but we always return!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing