We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Feels like home with stunning sea view”
Sunset over Donegal taken from outside the apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset over Donegal taken from outside the apartment
View from the Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Sunset over Donegal taken from outside the apartment
View from the Lounge
The Kitchen
Twin room
The en suite
The bathroom
May 2012
The beach
View to Portstewart May 2012
Mussenden Temple
View from Mussenden Temple to Downhill September '08
The pond at Downhill Gardens 0ctober 2012
The apartments May 2012
Downhill Gardens October 2012
View towards Portstewart November 2011
November 2011
View to beach and Portstewart late afternoon November
The apartments from cliff path
Sunset over Donegal July 2013
The apartments at sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Castlerock, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Barr51
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely situation but poorly maintained”
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

I too was disappointed at both the lack of maintenance and the lack of thought put into this rental, for what could be a very pleasant apartment. What can it take to replace a blown light bulb or to oil a sticking door or to fix a noisy loo? And what can it take to fix a hook by the sink to hang a towel on or to replace an irritatingly noisy extractor fan? Perhaps the apartment should be advertised as having ripped furniture? There was no Guest Welcome Pack giving details of local amenities and services, such as the location of the nearest doctor and hospital for instance, where and how to recycle, how the washing machine works etc. etc. These things are pretty basic and in virtually all of the rentals we have visited in the past. Overall I just had the impression that no-one cared for either the property or for the comfort of the holidaymaker. A shame really.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
This is a duplicate of the previous review. I feel it is a shame that both you and your wife felt the need to lower our overall rating and potentially ruin our chances of renting to others, with separate reviews of the same holiday, especially when you both said the same things. It saddens me greatly, and the fact you waited a week to write yours as if to give the impression you were two separate bookings is frankly vindictive. Thankfully we were not so unlucky to have two separate parties such as yourselves one after the other, and the guests who stayed after you, who were returning from last year and are planning to return again, were very kind and enjoyed their stay. As I said before, if you had contacted us we would have been happy to oil the door or replace a light bulb, hopefully the other 4 light bulbs in the kitchen enabled you to see sufficiently. As you can imagine, it is hard to get someone arranged to fix extractor fans when you have guests in and out every week, it is being attended to now that we have a couple of days free. Also if you needed a doctor you only had to ask us, you had our phone number and we are happy to answer you calls 24/7. With regard to the furniture, I won't bother to explain a second time my annoyance at that comment, the furniture is very comfortable and overlooks a breathtaking view, unfortunately you were too busy looking between the seats to see out the window! The washing machine is simple to use as the instructions are printed on the front and in 10 years no one has required further instruction, however we could have given it had we been asked! We would have taken the recycling to the bins for you, previous guests have left their recyclables on the worktop and we have dealt with it. Rather than have an apartment dominated by signs, unnecessary instructions and rules we like to keep it as a relaxing home from home. In 10 years of letting we have found guests enjoy looking at the view, visiting local attractions like the Giants Causeway, walking 2 minutes to the beach rather than worrying about recycling. We prefer to 'welcome' guests with tea, coffee and biscuits rather than rules about bins and instructions for washing their clothes, they are there to relax and that's what we care about. And we believe comfort is found in sofas and beds that are extremely comfortable. We have never had a complaint about lack of comfort and we are amazed at the number of complaints you have managed to give. The apartment is approved by the Tourist Board as it has all the equipment and facilities that they deem necessary. We are sorry you were unable to enjoy your stay in such a lovely situation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It is a bleak and unloved apartment with lots of maintenance needed.”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Window in main bedroom doesn't open, the en-suite shower leaks, the en-suite toilet takes ages to fill, and the furniture in both rooms smells damp and musty through lack of air circulation.

The small twin bedroom is only really a single bedroom.

The toilet in the main bathroom emits a siren like noise for minutes after being flushed. Bearings have gone in main bathroom extractor fan so we turned that off.

The living/kitchen area is in need of some decent furniture as the chairs have rips in and it is all in a poor state of repair. Top window doesn't open. There are no instruction manuals for the equipment in the apartment, no home comforts and not even a book or magazine to read. There is no "welcome pack" from the owner with information such as nearest GP, recycling info. Etc. and the general state of cleanliness is poor.... Bulbs need replacing and doors don't close... It could be so nice with some care and attention..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
It is a shame you didn't contact us during your 8 day stay to have any issues remedied. Which door does not close? The main bedroom patio door doesn't slide very freely because of the salty air and just needs a little bit of oil. We are in the process of addressing the ventilation. How often in succession does one need to flush the toilet? The bathroom toilet makes a noise for about 1 minute because of the water pressure in the whole building which unfortunately is out of my control. As for the furniture, there is a tiny tear in the seat of a kitchen chair and a tear between the two seats of a sofa, caused by previous guests. Would you have me throw out a whole kitchen table and chairs set and two sofas because of this? Unfortunately my budget is not large enough! The top window which doesn't open, and is only big enough for a cat to fit through, has stuck because of the close proximity to the ocean. The one below it is in perfect working order and lets lots of fresh sea air in. There are no instruction manuals as all the equipment is easy to use. You didn't want the new dishwasher we put in, the fridge, freezer and microwave are simple enough to understand and oven and washer/dryer have all the instruction you need on them. I find most guests prefer to have their own books and magazines than ones that have been dog-eared and covered in coffee stains by other people. It would be difficult to cater for the tastes of all readers. I trust the uninterrupted view of the Atlantic Ocean was satisfactory?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda H
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feels like home with stunning sea view”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Clean, comfortable and excellently equipped property. We had a lovely time there, really loved relaxing waves and stunning sunrise. We are definitely coming back. Thank you for the travel cot, the high chair and the welcome hamper. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sea view windows
Liked least: the town is very quiet
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbaraan...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What can i say didnt want to leave, sitting on the sofa cuddled up to my husband watching the waves so relaxing. The apartment has everything and is in a beautiful spot. Castlerock has everything for a family break or a quite romantic break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Had a dishwasher and the wifi
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keenbaker...
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for a quiet beach holiday, yet handy enough for sightseeing”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spotless, well equipped, great sea views. A clamber over rocks to nearest beach or maximum 5 minute walk to main, lifeguarded blue flag beach. The flat is comfy, plenty of room for us 4. We fitted 8 in for supper one day with ease. We didn't want to leave, it really felt like a home from home. Our visitors described it as a 'real find', one we hope to return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and access to the beach.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing