We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“nice cottage, great host”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
master bedroom sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
master bedroom
sitting room
dining room
kitchen
bunk bedded room
ancient cruck beams
Embessy Cottage, Winchester
view of garden from house
Embessy Cottage
Cruck Beams Embessy Cottage
The river park in Winchester
Winchester Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Twyford, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Quest0445...
1 review
“nice cottage, great host”
Reviewed 5 weeks ago for a stay in October 2018

I visited the cottage with my daughters a few times. We always had a gret time in the cottag. the host is always very hard-working and can always help us

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacation4...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage as described, but noise a problem”
Reviewed 22 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four stayed here for just under 3 weeks in the summer.
The cottage is accurately described in that it is very old, charming, nice garden and a good location. Bed linens were nice (simple, cotton), the place was clean, and it was nicely decorated in a quirky eclectic fashion. It was also good to have parking onsite.
However:
- The ceilings are extremely low (anyone over 5'9 has to crouch in the living room, for example), which means it is fine for a weekend but makes it uncomfortable for a longer stay.
- It is impossible to use the shower standing up (unless you want to flood the bathroom floor and/or risk slipping or braining yourself on a low beam) so really the cottage is only equipped with a bath. It wasn't a big problem for us, but if a shower is important to you, this is something to be aware of.
- It could do with new sofas, as the existing ones are rather tired, with hard cushions that slide off.
- Be warned that the walls are thin, and the immediate neighbours (who live there permanently) were VERY loud throughout the duration of our stay, in an extremely antisocial manner (eg keeping us up until 2am one night, waking us at 6am with TV on full blast another day, and regular high volume noise in between). The owner did complain to them but basically told us there was nothing else she could do - we just had to put up with it. She did eventually refund a night's stay at my insistence, and offered to switch us to another property she owns nearby for the second half of our stay, but only if we were willing to pay a lot more for it (we weren't). I didn't think that was good customer service, and would not stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2018
We would like to respond to this review to say that the cottage dates to 1450 - it is an ancient historic cottage with one low beam in the sitting room, and other beams as can be seen in the photos which do not affect anyone moving around the cottage, we cannot do anything about them, they hold the cottage up, and hence also due to the ancient design it is not possible to have a shower in the bathroom, just a bath as can be seen in the photos.
The sofas are excellent quality - from Laura Ashley, and are certainly not tired - sofas come in many shapes and designs, and these may not have suited this guest.
The neighbours have given us an apology for upsetting these guests and an undertaking that it will not be repeated - they had noisy friends of their children visiting and we have never had a problem from noisy neighbours in the 15 years we have been letting this property - we gave this guest a goodwill payment of a nights stay as she was disturbed late one night and early one morning, it is a shame she thought this was not good service Foran event outside of our control.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storytell...
1 review
“Typical English Country cottage”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

A characterful and very comfortable cottage in a quiet location, ,a charming village and close to Winchester by foot ,rail or bus, the South Downs and Jane Austen trail. Very well appointed- everything we needed was within the cottage and it has a lovely country garden. We found the bath a bit tricky but it is just one of those things if you want to stay in a typical country cottage. Would definitely recommend it and would visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2018
Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our cottage. I hope we may be able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sianyski
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Ebessy cottage is a truly delightful place to stay. Very homely, comfortable, spacious
Private. It's proper chocolate box but with all the modern needs like wifi TV etc.
It has a stunning private garden, a perfect place to sit and enjoy the bird life in particular.

Located in a really quiet street bar the school run, 2 mins walk to nearest pub 'the Phoenix' good pub food friendly and dogs welcome.
3 mins walk and you have the more upmarket Bugle and a well stocked but very pricey village shop with a great cafe restaurant underneath.

You can pretty much step out of the door and walk in any direction into beautiful countryside, it's a stunning village.
Winchester 10 mins drive but you can walk there, or catch the local bus or train.

Delightful place to stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck130...
Saint-Nazaire, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage near wonderfull Winchester”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Embessy cottage, located in a quiet street, is lovely, comfortable and well equipped.there are several nice footpaths near the river Itchen and through the countryside. Walking to Winchester is really easy and interesting, following the river and stopping at saint Catherine s Hill.
Within 5 minutes, you can find a food shop (lots of Fresh products) and two pubs.
In the area, there are lots of things to see and to do (nearby market towns and typical villages and countryside).
Caroline has been very helpful to organise our stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Hi
Thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and loved the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing