We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveller rating
244
281
90
36
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
281
90
36
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelbuffet stylethe twisted boot barnew wingwedding partyolder partfried breadspacious roomthe ground floorgood sizestratford upon avonself servicestayed one nightbiscuitsbar restaurantbreakfast was excellentcar park
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 679 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Room 9 was by the reception entrance. People stood outside the doors, 4 ft or so from our room, smoking, drinking and talking loudly all evening until the early hours of the morning. Friday and Saturday evenings there were wedding receptions held in the hotel. Music from the disco grew louder and louder as the evening went on- the windows of the party room were open and there was no escaping the noise that went on until midnight. After that wedding guests noisily filtered out through the doors, talking outside our room. The room itself was basic but comfortable. A previous occupant had been smoking in the room and it smelt of cigarette smoke. A chair had a cigarette burn in the fabric and a very unpleasant stain. The tiles on the bathroom floor were slippery when wet. The room itself was. Lean. We felt it unfair that we had been given a room so close to the disco noise. We had not been warned beforehand- had we been told we would never have stayed in the hotel which promised comfort and customer care.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 2001KPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night and we both slept very well, just like being at home!
All the staff were really nice and friendly.
Hotel was clean and tidy and the restaurant food was both value for money and very tasty.
The twisted boot bar which sits at the front of the hotel was lovely, again with friendly and helpful staff.
We were situated on the ground floor at the back looking on to a small field, nice and quiet.
A nice hotel, sure to be back!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

When we arrived we were a little early so we went into the bar area and had tea and scones, which was set out lovely with generous portions of clotted cream and jam. The rooms and corridors were very well furnished, very clean and the best bed, loads of room and very comfy. Definitely recommend this hotel for Stratford Upon Avon or Warrick castle, didn't eat here as there was a wedding party and thought they could be busy. Very friendły staff, breakfast was very good, buffet style, I requested a bowl of porridge that was made fresh and there was lots of fruit.enormous car park , Anne Hatterways cottage was 10 mins down the road with car parking.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Impressive refurbishment opening up the ground floor bar/restaurant area to allow light to flow through. Large car park and outside seating area. The bedrooms lack that extra little touch. Both room staff and restaurant staff require training in how to make a bed and how to serve coffee/tea.
Overall a pleasant one night stay. Please ask receptionist to smile and make guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carosmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Booked this hotel for a special anniversary meal a couple of months in advance after seeing the restaurant and talking to a manager just to check there weren't any weddings on that day. We wanted our family to stay overnight and we're given a reduced rate as we would be eating there.
We were then very surprised to discover on our arrival that the restaurant was closed for refurbishment. I was so disappointed we had not been told this originally or during the refurbishment so we could make other arrangements. We were told our table would be set up in the bar. The bar is nice but I was expecting something a bit more formal. It was so cramped as many people in there.
The meals were ok. We had a refund for one as it was so dry I and inedible.. We were told we were too late for desserts. Would have been nice if we had been told we should have ordered before 10. All in all our 40th anniversary meal was a big disappointment.
I did complain to the receptionist and completed a form left in the room with comments as well but no one interested.
I cannot complain about the hotel bedrooms which were clean and spacious. In fact the whole hotel is lovely but just had a disappointing experience for what should have been a special occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angela968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews