We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Delicious afternoon tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Longbarn Village

Longbarn Village
Ranked #7 of 18 things to do in Alcester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: After 17 years working restoring and developing Barns the Longbarn Village is now permanatly closed Thanks to all our lovely customers & supporters over the years kind regards Jayne Roberts
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Delicious afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We visited the tearoom for afternoon tea, with our elderly Mum, as a treat for her birthday.

Jayne gave us such a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for her.
The food was lovely, tasty and filling , and the scones came with our favourite Rodda's clotted cream. The tea was loose (not tea bags) and there was plenty of it.
The tearoom is quaint and cosy and had a lovely courtyard garden for warm summer days (it rained today).

We would certainly return in the future.

Mel ,Vic & Margaret Westwood

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank MelandVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    5
    2
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely for a treat if get on an offer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

We went here with a groupon voucher and feel this was prob the amount it was worth ! On arrival we were put on a garden table from outside whilst waiting or a table to become free (we had booked) After finally moving we did have a lovey selection of sandwiches ,piece of cake and scone .(one tip it would be nice to be asked if we had a pref of cake as given lemon and there was carrot and coffee on display)and did find a hair in my scone ,accidental I'm sure but after mentioning to the waitress was just asked if wanted another (whicn i declined)no apology !
Was supposed to get a glass of wine each and realised we hadn't had on the wY home!
Overall nice but not sure would rush back

Helpful?
Thank deaks15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orangemabel, Owner at Longbarn Village, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Sorry to hear your thoughts on your Groupon offer we have been overwhelmed & with Groupon managing the booking syetem we do our best to keep up! This can be difficult as some customers arrive early or late and with only 4 tables in tearoom you can see we always manage well and find a seat for everyone. Sadly for the voucher hunters we wont be running any more offers as we will focus on our regulars. Pop back anytime for your free prossecco and apologise for forgettiing yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We live in the area and fancied trying somewhere new for a cuppa and cake , so we visited the orangemabel tearoom at Longbarn - it was a great choice. We couldn't have asked for a friendlier welcome , the setting was delightful, the numerous cups of tea perfect and the cake very tasty. Our 9 year old daughter felt very special having hot chocolate from a vintage china teapot. It was a little too cold to be outside however the garden looked great and we look forward to enjoying afternoon tea in the Summer.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank MarathonMan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We discovered this fabulous place on our way to Coughton Court., just follow the brown signs from Alcester.
Orange Mabel Tearoom, what a fantastic find, good old fashioned service that made us feel really welcome and the high tea was to die for, great setting with lovely gardens and walks,
A must visit and will be back soon.

Helpful?
6 Thank Cayman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orangemabel, Owner at Longbarn Village, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are always happy to have 'feedback' especially so positive! Please pop back and join us in our lovely Tea gardens this summer and introduce yourself. See our events list
Thanks again
Jayne Roberts
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total waste of time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Went with friends wish we hadnt, whole place seemed like a ghost town most shops shut and 1 swing does not make a childs play area, The alleged main attraction the gardens were shut and looked like they hadnt been looked after for ages I know we didnt pay but you couldnt pay me to go there again.Thankfully Coughton court and Ragley are close by so the day was not a total loss.Main advise dont go.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orangemabel, Owner at Longbarn Village, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Sorry to read of your experience at Longbarn. We are always closed Mondays and have closed Tearoom for two weeks with a clear notice stateing this. The restaurant of course is open. The Gardens are also closed for winter and will be open soon with great new furniture, lovely water features and traditional garden games and the popular country walks from Longbarn Village. Longbarn tries in no any way to compare to National Trust properties such as Coughton Court or Ragley Hall which I assume you will also review. As we are all small independant businesses we really do have to close occassinally.
If you are in area again please do pop in and introduce yourself and will be happy to treat you to a nice cup of tea for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longbarn Village also viewed

 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Longbarn Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing