We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“First impressions are lasting impressions.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eglinton Hotel

Eglinton Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portrush
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eglinton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Portrush
Ulster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First impressions are lasting impressions.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I am basing this review on the 10 minutes I was on the premises.

My wife and I were looking somewhere to have lunch and saw this establishment were offering a carvery for £7.95. On entering the reception area we noticed it was extremely dark and wondered if they had something to hide.

Before going through to the dining area we decided to use the toilets. I am a firm believer if the toilets are clean the rest of the place will also be clean. I can only speak for the gents, they were stinking. I waited in the reception area for my wife to come from the ladies and she stated they were of a similar standard to the gents.

There was an older man at the reception desk who showed no interest in us whatsoever. He never lifted his head to ask us whether we wanted to book a room or just have a meal. He completely ignored us.

We decided to go into the dining area to have a look. Again a great disappointment. There were no staff present at all that we could see and it was just around 1330 hours when you would expect the place to be busy. There was however three small lumps of meat sitting under hot lamps. The roast meat looked burnt, the pork was extremely fatty and the turkey / chicken was like something you would buy in a foil container from some of the supermarkets.

We saw a metal container with mushrooms in it. They were saturated in fat whilst the rest of the vegetables look very soggy. I know we don't eat with our eyes, but if it doesn't look good it probably isn't good.

Needless to say we quickly left and went to 55 Degrees North where the experience was altogether different. At least there we met staff who spoke to us.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UlsterSalmoTrutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    7
    12
    51
See reviews for
17
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Definitely the worst hotel we have EVER stayed at, Dirty, uncomfortable, smelly and most of all VERY VERY noisy. We didn't even get a breakfast after waiting for 30 mins. This hotel makes faulty towers look like a palace. Should be called the UGLINGTON. Soooooo disappointed. Wouldn't stay here again even if it was free

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Shelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portrush hotels

Westport
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

asked to see the room as reception and receptionist didnt give me much confidence, had to find my own way up to it as receptionist couldnt be bothered , had to turn on lights as i went up so wasnt surprised when i saw the room.....dark dreary and wasnt sure when bed clothes were laundered last so i fled!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BriannaWestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carndonagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is an overpriced hotel,run down and shabby,Nightclub across the road,noise going on into the early hours.food wasn't bad though.Place needs a complete makeover.good thing about it that it's close to everything.Free public car park behind the hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

spent day in portrush and finished with a meal in the eglington, which was gorgeous, staff were lovely too, couldnt ask for better, i know its got bad press on here but as far as eating its a long time since we as family enjoyed a meal out as much, i would like to point out though one thing baffles me, why in this day and age do the ladies have to climb stairs to use toilets,??

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccmNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portrush hotels
0.5 km away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 9 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.4 km away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 9 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
2.8 km away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 9 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 9 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.4 km away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 9 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.9 km away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eglinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eglinton Hotel

Property: Eglinton Hotel
Address: 49 Eglinton Street, Portrush BT56 8DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Portrush
Number of rooms: 138
Also Known As:
Eglinton Hotel Portrush, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing