We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pawfect cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Huston Farmhouse Portrush, rural retreat with beaches and restaurants 3 miles away.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Huston Farmhouse Portrush, rural retreat with beaches and restaurants 3 miles away.
Collie Kim says 'Pets Welcome - I'll watch the cat-flap!' Master bedroom with clock radio & sleigh-bed. Also hair dryer.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
The Huston Farmhouse Portrush, rural retreat with beaches and restaurants 3 miles away.
Collie Kim says 'Pets Welcome - I'll watch the cat-flap!'
Master bedroom with clock radio & sleigh-bed. Also hair dryer.
Christmas at the Huston Farmhouse Portrush
Roasting enclosed fire in the extension to the kitchen. Underfloor heating. Sofas for 6.
Spaniels enjoying the fields
Kim enjoying the fire in the Cosy Living Room. TV, DVD Bluray all in here. Rough walls for cosy feel
Sign at end of lane to guide visitors. Set of semi-detached houses across the road. Bus stop 50m.
Aerial picture of farm. No other rental properties on site.
Lounge seats 6 with enclosed multi-fuel stove. Stove is independent of underfloor heating.
Lounge - picture windows - views over hills to South and West.
Kitchen with 6-burner gas cooker and 2 electric ovens and separate grill.
Diamond models the gate at the end of the house from the garden to the yard - keeps many dogs in.
Dedicated private bathroom upstairs - shower and bath with comfy seat! Shaver socket 110/220V.
Twin bedroom. Clock radio, wardrobe. Garden view to South towards Coleraine.
Single bedroom. Now wardrobe. Clock radio. View to historic farmyard with whitewashed outbuildings.
Downstairs shower room - walk-in power shower. Shaver socket.
Kitchen from lounge. Farmhouse table seats 10.
Winter scene 2010 from the lane, towards Farmhouse.
Master bedroom - view 2
Porch at Christmas
New 2016 - child gate keeps dogs downstairs. Can also be used for children! Easily removed.
Double USB charging socket in kitchen. To left of sink.
If you don't have dogs or children to keep downstairs, open gate then push this tab & lift to remove
2018 and the last of the doors and windows in the yard are sympathetically replaced.
2018 windows replaced in byte and stable plus new stable doors.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Portrush, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sine T
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pawfect cottage”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I stayed here with my parents, my husband, our teenage daughter and our 4 dogs. It was perfect for all of us. Downstairs twin for my parents after my mum's knee surgery. Snug living room for daughter to watch TV, play on wii, and avoid adults. Fab upstairs suite for us. And wonderfully cosy but easy to clean floors for the dogs! We were blessed with lovely weather so the dogs were on the beach every day, although the fields were very handy for quick morning and evening runs. Very close to everything! Boys managed 4 rounds of golf!
We will be back, especially as my husband found it's right on the North West 200 course.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2015
So glad the four dogs and three generations had such a good time. North West 200 books up 10-12 months in advance. Before the race dates are announced.
Come back soon.
Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely brilliant accommodation perfect for the dogs.”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a wonderful break at Huston Farmhouse. The property was clean, warm and a very much appreciated welcome pack on arrival. Loads of fields to wander around, the dogs loved this. The property is central to Coleraine, Portrush and Portstewart so close to restaurants and the lovely beaches in this area.

Everything you could need within the property, plenty of towels and the kitchen has all the appliances you require. We loved the stove a nice feature, easy to work and clean out.

We will definitely be back loved it and if you have dogs perfect.

Well presented property, relaxing location with lovely views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very much dog friendly, beds, bowls available and all tiled flooring downstairs for ease of cleaning,
Liked least: Nothing negative to report.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2015
So glad you and the dogs enjoyed your stay. Returning guests get 10% off published rates. So do ensure you ask for that in subsequent bookings. Adrian and Felicity
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cccdstewa...
n.ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing holiday cottage.”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I had the most relaxing stay in the cosy Huston Farmhouse with my husband, 15 year old son and our little dog Buzz. It is a beautiful holiday home with beautiful views close to Portrush Porstewart Coleraine etc. It was extremely clean and spacious and looking forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet & relaxing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2015
Great that you all enjoyed the holiday. Thanks for emailing the photo of Buzz chillin' - you will have seen it on our Facebook page. Subsequent bookings you get 10% returning guest discount. Adrian Huston
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rolorolo8...
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Class Cottage”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed at this charming cottage with partner, my daughter, her hubbie and our two dogs.....what a fabulous time we had. The cottage had everything we needed! We even enjoyed playing some of the games provided ; the cottage is so cosy and warm and had great views. Location perfect too for both Coleraine and Portrush......supermarket/ carryouts only a mile or so away in Portrush.
Our dogs really loved those super dog beds....food bowls even provided too. They enjoyed the romp around the garden though my wee pup was so excited , she fell into the pond! A quick wash and a toasty bed by the log burning stove and she was as right as rain in no time! Hope to return!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2015
Felicity and I are delighted you enjoyed the place so much.
The dog beds by 'Danish Design' are very practical. We got some for our home recently and had to use mail order. Being vinyl covered foam they are comfortable with a washable fabric insert.
When coming back be sure to ask for your 10% returning guest discount.
Adrian Huston
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth R
Antrim, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cosy cottage with amazing views”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in a brilliant location to see all the beautiful sights along the north coast. The view across the valley to the Limavady hills is just lovely and we have seen amazing sunsets from the lounge of the cottage. It is a warm cottage with under floor heating and so well presented through out and the bathroom upstairs is such a unique room to be enjoyed. There are so many beautiful beaches to be walked with nowhere too far away from the cottage. The new resturant Amici at Ballyreagh golf course Portstewart is well worth a visit with good food, beautiful location and friendly staff. For all dog owners the cafe down below Barrys in Portrush allows dogs on both verandas, we think its called Kokos.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2014
Thank you for the lovely review and tips about some restaurants we didn't know. Good to hear of dog-friendly ones too. Must check them out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing