We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to stay - had everything we could...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Huston Farmhouse Portrush, rural retreat with beaches and restaurants 3 miles away.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Huston Farmhouse Portrush, rural retreat with beaches and restaurants 3 miles away.
Collie Kim says 'Pets Welcome - I'll watch the cat-flap!' Master bedroom with clock radio & sleigh-bed. Also hair dryer.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
The Huston Farmhouse Portrush, rural retreat with beaches and restaurants 3 miles away.
Collie Kim says 'Pets Welcome - I'll watch the cat-flap!'
Master bedroom with clock radio & sleigh-bed. Also hair dryer.
Christmas at the Huston Farmhouse Portrush
Roasting enclosed fire in the extension to the kitchen. Underfloor heating. Sofas for 6.
Spaniels enjoying the fields
Kim enjoying the fire in the Cosy Living Room. TV, DVD Bluray all in here. Rough walls for cosy feel
Sign at end of lane to guide visitors. Set of semi-detached houses across the road. Bus stop 50m.
Aerial picture of farm. No other rental properties on site.
Lounge seats 6 with enclosed multi-fuel stove. Stove is independent of underfloor heating.
Lounge - picture windows - views over hills to South and West.
Kitchen with 6-burner gas cooker and 2 electric ovens and separate grill.
Diamond models the gate at the end of the house from the garden to the yard - keeps many dogs in.
Dedicated private bathroom upstairs - shower and bath with comfy seat! Shaver socket 110/220V.
Twin bedroom. Clock radio, wardrobe. Garden view to South towards Coleraine.
Single bedroom. Now wardrobe. Clock radio. View to historic farmyard with whitewashed outbuildings.
Downstairs shower room - walk-in power shower. Shaver socket.
Kitchen from lounge. Farmhouse table seats 10.
Winter scene 2010 from the lane, towards Farmhouse.
Master bedroom - view 2
Porch at Christmas
New 2016 - child gate keeps dogs downstairs. Can also be used for children! Easily removed.
Double USB charging socket in kitchen. To left of sink.
If you don't have dogs or children to keep downstairs, open gate then push this tab & lift to remove
2018 and the last of the doors and windows in the yard are sympathetically replaced.
2018 windows replaced in byte and stable plus new stable doors.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Portrush, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Yeander
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect place to stay - had everything we could wish for.”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I booked this after reading the reviews here, and can fully endorse all the positive comments. In advance of the rental, Adrian very thoughtfully emailed to offer to leave the keys for us in a safe place, as the previous renters were leaving the day before, and he knew we were arriving early on the ferry. I thought this was a very kind gesture, and saved us hours of hanging around waiting for the 3pm check-in.

The farmhouse is just perfect inside with everything we needed, including a welcome pack, lots of towels, fresh bedding, and many extras such as washing powder, dog poo bags, doggy toys, some cupboard staples etc. The dogs were in heaven - they loved the garden and the surrounding lanes. The back garden is not fully enclosed; they did get out a few times (chasing a cat I think) into the farmyard or down the farm lanes, but they are sensible enough not to go far, and there wasn't anyone else around so this wasn't a major issue. The main downstairs kitchen/lounge area works very well for a family, and I was glad the tv was in the separate lounge, as we spent several nights playing cards and board games - something we never normally do at home.

The upstairs bed was incredibly comfortable, and the bath gorgeous, especially after surfing.

Thanks again - we really had a ball, and would love to come back again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and dog-friendliness
Liked least: TV is an older model and emits a high pitch tone, which we older members of the party couldn't hear, but it was very annoying for the teenagers.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2013
Felicity and I are delighted you and your family including the dogs had such a good time. Looking forward to having you back next year.
Adrian Huston
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola W
Dundonald, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Country charm combined with modern living”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My family stayed here, along with our 3 dogs, for the week of the Milk Cup. I booked primarily for the location and the fact that dogs are welcome. The house itself looks very quaint from the outside but once you open the doors and enter the kitchen/diner/living area - what a surprise! A modern, airy space with every convenience catered for. The upstairs bedroom and bathroom are every bit as wonderful as they look in the photos. The surrounding countryside is beautiful, even in thunderstorms, and the surrounding fields are a playground for the dogs.
For groceries there is a large Asda in Coleraine or a Spar just a couple of minutes away towards Portrush - very convenient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: The garden wasn't totally enclosed so we couldn't let the dogs out unsupervised.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2013
Glad to hear the dogs and you enjoyed the Farmhouse so much. Having no livestock on the farm does indeed make for a doggie playground.
Hope to have you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxurious feel of the cottage
Liked least: spare room mattresses just starting to age a bit....
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jun 2013
Having stayed in private rental accommodation in various places at home and around the World I know exactly what you mean.

Felicity and I are delighted that our Farmhouse met your expectations, even if the weather for your visit could have been better. (There's a reason why Ireland is so green!)
Adrian Huston
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rab and E...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back home now 5 days and are still pinning!.”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

As a family, (that includes our pet dog), we love the north coast of our home country - Northern Ireland. We have spent many wonderful holidays there. So many places to visit, and all within easy reach, making it a true daily time of relaxing pleasure. Of course the number of our visits have resulted in a variance of holiday accommodation over the years. Truth be told we have been very satisfied, (with one exception), with such in the past, but on this occasion we all agree (and that includes the pet dog), we hit the jackpot. What a place! what a location! We had an absolute fantastic time. We were made most welcomed on our arrival. As for the accommodation.....absolutely amazing! Usually one might acknowledge same on arrival .... but we are still raving about it! The Houston family have very obviously done their homework, leaving no stone unturned, in making sure that not only is every need catered for, (and that includes the pet dogs'), but they have gone the extra mile in providing beyond such, resulting in what I can only 'TRY' to describe, by using the words, 'more than comfortable', 'most relaxing', 'very homely', with that extra flare of 'unexpected luxury', my description however doesn't give it full justice. Perhaps my title conveys a greater truth, because we are back home now 5 days and are still pinning! We most certainly will be back ASAP! The only negative thing I should point out is ...... the "tourist" boards rating??? Perhaps they should consult those of us who have actually stayed in the accommodation prior to applying their star ratings. That way the public that is looking for guidance re the standard of accommodation might be more accurately informed. For the record we rate The Houston Farmhouse Portrush, no less than a perfect ***** (5 star). Well done the Houston family and many many thanks indeed for a simply spectacular holiday. "BACK SOON"
Rab & Eileen & family (and that includes the dog 'Lola").

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2013
Thanks for such a detailed and generous review. We are glad that you have already booked your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ards_Guys
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 11 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Each year we book our holidays so we can bring are pack of dogs with us. Adrian had no problem with the four dogs and three humans coming to stay in the farmhouse.

Booking was straight forward and arriving was easy. We chose to arrive without anyone being there, only because the family are such bad timekeepers, I'll be late for my own funeral :-)

After getting in and finding out the layout, we more not disappointed in the farmhouse at all. The kitchen was super well equipped, with everything and more of the items you would need for a weeks stay. The lounge area was bright and spacious, lots of space and seating. The views amazing.

I have to say that the dogs had a brilliant time, which is the whole point afterall. The garden was amazing, they ran their little legs off. The fresh air, the space and the freedom were all they look for each year, The lane behind the farmhouse is a decent length and we walked it a few times when we were just too lazy to take them to the beach. It was so safe, well off the road and there aren't any animals, so it was ideal.

To stop wittering on about the dogs and actually review the accommodation, it was everything we expected and more. Rooms were bright, beds comfy, the little sitting room was just perfect with the sofa and open fire. To be honest, we didnt watch that much television, we had our iPads and the wi-fi was great. Can't be without our technology.

Lots of little extras were greatly appreciated ... the sugar, bread, milk, biscuits and butter were welcome, Everything for your stay was thought of even down to the poo bags!

The stove in the lounge area was just great, its been an age since I sat in front of one and I've even made enquiries about getting a multi fuel stove in my own house! You've started me on a spending spree Adrian.

I have included some photos and I have to confess, as is evident, I owe you a ball Adrian, Bonnie is a football freak and the other two dogs were getting in on the action.

So please, if you are thinking about going to the farmhouse, just book. You wont be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ktichen, I'd love the cooker :-)
Liked least: It was all great apart from the weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2013
So glad the dogs had a great holiday. Sounds like the humans did too! Glad to welcome you back on your next trip. Adrian and Felicity.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing