We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Fools Haven Thatched Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Fools Haven Thatched Cottage
Excitement, we have arrived. Lovely to meet you.  Did you have a good journey?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Welcome to Fools Haven Thatched Cottage
Excitement, we have arrived.
Lovely to meet you.  Did you have a good journey?
Downstairs living room with oil fired stove to keep you warm and cosy.
View of living room with rocking chair and cosy sofa.
'Bettys Bothy' an all weather BBQ Cabin - eat outside on patio when sunny.
'Betty's Bothy' our BBQ Cabin - charcoal lit and ready to party!
An example of our complimentary Hospitality Basket, enjoyed by guests and includes local produce.
Downstairs bathroom with slipper bath.
Downstairs bathroom with natural light and ventilation.
Downstairs bathroom with slipper bath and period fixtures.
An award winning Tourism NI 4 star property, embracing the values as World Hosts.
Inside 'Bettys Bothy' - lots of bench's and comfy cushions to lounge on.
'Puffins Perch' an outside, two storey, playhouse for the kids to play in.
View - looking down stairs to front door (half/stable door)
Upstairs and turn left for 2 single beds or right for 1 single bed and upstairs WC and shower room.
another view - downstairs bedroom with double bed.
Downstairs bedroom with double bed.
Kitchen well equipped with washer/dryer.
another view of kitchen showing cooker and fridge/freezer.
View of right hand side landing, leading to room with WC and electric shower.
Single bed on right hand side of landing.
Large electric shower in upstairs room with WC.
Landing on left hand side of stairs, leading to bedroom with 2 singles beds.
One of 2 single beds in this bedroom.
2nd single bed in this bedroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Carrickfergus, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
chris a
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Absolutely amazing .. well presented ... everything you could possibly need ..even a superb undercover bbq outside ..lovely comfortable and quiet
A well loved cottage

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Hi and thank you for reviewing Fools Haven and for your very kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your break and your evening in the BBQ cabin and we hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Alison & Robbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“A perfect cottage for our stay.”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

A friendly welcome from the owners and the added bonus of a super welcome basket full of local produce. The cottage is delightful to look at on the outside and has been decorated and furnished to the highest standard with everything we needed for our stay on the inside, even toiletries in the luxurious bathrooms. The downstairs double was plenty big enough, and while the upstairs single beds are arranged in a rather quirky manner, there was plenty of room for our 6'4'' teenager and his younger brother! The kitchen is all mods cons, and the barbecue hut in the garden is a revelation - great fun especially in the dark with the Christmas fairy lights. We will certainly rent this property again the next time we visit NI.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness and BBQ hut.
Liked least: Slightly small living room.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Hi, thank you for your kind comments and we are very pleased you will consider staying at Fools Haven again when you visit this area. It is always nice to hear our guests enjoy the bbq cabin and once the coals are lit - it is definitely a great social space. WIshing you a happy New Year and we look forward to hearing from you. Best wishes, Alison & Robbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard F
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Days”
Reviewed 18 December 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Perfect in every way. Ideal location for exploring up the coast or heading back into Belfast. Homely cottage with fascinating Titanic links. Hosts very welcoming and on hand for advice and help. Never mind the weather, Betty's Bothy is a fun place to socialise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kids loved sleeping up in the eaves
Liked least: Not staying longer!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2015
Hi and thank you for reviewing Fools Haven for future and potential guests. We do appreciate your kind comments and so glad you enjoyed our Titanic Links. Best wishes - Alison & Robbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom Z
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Another super stay at Fools Haven, great reception from Alison .The house was super, really cosy, a home from home and so easy to get around from, Belfast just 30 mins.

We'll be back.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2015
Hi and thanks for the review and information - potential guests will find it so helpful when making a d is ion to stay. Best wishes, Alison & Robbie. PS: your next booking/stay is confirmed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire S
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“THE cottage”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

A beautiful cottage, most warming and welcoming. Alison ( the proprietor) made our stay, with an extensive knowledge of the area, in fact the whole country. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Liked least: Nothing.....even the weather ( November) was grand !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Hi, and thanks for reviewing our Cottage and for your kind words. So lovely to read your first trip to Ireland was such a success and we hope you will return again. Best wishes, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 133
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing