We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
34
22
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
22
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews felt like home barron ireland guests breakfast avoiding
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night while doing some sightseeing with our three girls (7,4,4). We had a warm welcome, nice room and lovely breakfast. Pity the weather wasn't great as they didn't get a chance to play in the garden. The stay was also good value as a lot of hotels don't cater for a family of five.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Mrs. Barron, Lisa, and Billy made us feel very much at home. The room and adjoining bathroom was large and comfortable. The breakfast was hot and very good. We left each day quite full and ready for adventure. Mrs. Barron and Lisa would serve breakfast and always interacted with the guests asking what their plans were and offering any advise on best places to visit. The view outside the B&B was stunning both at night and morning. So easy to find and get around the area.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This was the 1st B&B we stayed in on our trip to Ireland and we were not disappointed. The room, the views, the food & our host were absolutely perfect. We had checked in rather early so that we could spend time in town. Unfortunately the owner wasn't home at the time but we were allowed in the room to put our bags down. The room was already clean, fresh and waiting for us. Once we returned we were greeted by a gentleman that helps around the house. He explained about breakfast and any other questions we had. The next morning we were greeted by the owner and served breakfast. The food was excellent! I would recommend this place to my friends in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Be respectful and appreciate that people are opening their homes to you.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Valli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely B&B near Kerrickfergus in a picturesque country setting.The owner, Mrs.Barron, is like a sweet, considerate grandmother. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast is a home cooked delight.Kerrickfergus is close by. The castle, originally built in 1177, is remarkable and wonderful to tour.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank 460debrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

This B&B was outside Carrickfergus - a former farm, now just B&B. It's run by Betty, an elderly lady who was very pleasant and helpful. The room was dated but clean and the bed and shower were fine. The wifi was good, as was the breakfast. We were in an upstairs room that was fine, but our relatives had the accessible room, which was, although clean, rather stale smelling/stuffy (no window) and not suitable for people who did not require the special toilet seat, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIvebeenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty_Beechgrove_BnB, Owner at Beechgrove Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Hello WIvebeenthere - thank you for your nice review and glad to hear that you made use of our free wifi and free on-site parking. Actually we are still a working farm though most of the farming is now done by a relative. I'm glad you liked your rooms. All our rooms are independently inspected regularly by the Northern Ireland Tourist Board and maintained to the high standards required for B&B registration within N.Ireland. Room 8 is located downstairs as it functions as a category 2 disabled room allowing guests with mobility issues to enjoy a lovely stay with us too. Although room 8 has no window, due to the physical location of the room, it does have a light funnel specially designed to bring light into the room from the roof as well as a large fully-glassed, fully opening, doubled door entrance from the front yard into the room (allowing easy access). These doors also provide lots of light into the room. Sorry to hear you found the room a bit stuffy on the night of your stay. We have never had reports of 'stuffiness' from the room before (or since) so are unsure what may have caused it during your stay. Had you mentioned it to us at the time we certainly would have resolved it for you at that time. If you ever travel here again then feel free to try us again in the future. Remember that we are also a pet friendly establishment and welcome pets. Kind regards, Betty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews