We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem, hiding on the main street”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrickfergus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Keep Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Good value home comfort in a strong location for central Carrickfergus with the town easily accessible. The host was most welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area and gave us a good steer on where to eat locally. Friendly and welcoming, the room was not stark or modern but serviceable, comfortable and clean = good value. The breakfast here was excellent, one of the best of our driving tour of Ireland (1800 miles of it - well done The Keep

Room Tip: A room at the back would slightly insulate the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Hi Caren,

Thanks for taking the time to write us an informative review. We are so glad you enjoyed your breakfast, think I will hide your comments from Raymond about it being one of your best breakfasts on your long driving tour of Ireland, wouldn't want him to be getting a big head. lol
I am glad you found the the information on where to eat etc, of value, we only recommend places we would eat in ourselves or have had great reviews from our other Guests.
We hope you will stay again on your next trip.
Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

This is our fourth family stay at this BnB and like the first Raymond and Heather have been fantastic and really helpful the breakfast has anything and everything to start our day right and we would and will recommend this to our friends and family back home in Scotland and anywhere else anyone asks. Thank you to all at The Keep you have made our trip a good one.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Hi David, Teresa and Sarah,

We are so glad you are home safe and sound. I hope Sarah got her ice-cream on the way home. lol. It was an absolute pleasure having you all stay with us again, it was like welcoming family back, Sarah,s laughter brought such delight to us and the other guests, she is such a happy child it,s wonderful to see, you are both very blessed.
We look forward to your next visit and perhaps we will have a wee milk shake for Sarah as a surprise for after her breakfast of course. lol. Take care. See you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

We first stayed at the keep in January 2010 my husband is originally from carrickfergus and we were visiting family. Breakfast was fantastic Heather and Raymond were so nice and friendly and welcoming we have since stayed another twice and are heading back this week can't wait to go back

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank teasy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Hi Teasy,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are really looking forward to having you back to stay with us again. Take care and have a pleasant journey. We will see you all very soon.

Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We found this B&B disappointing. The room we had overlooked the backyard with hanging washing and dustbins so didn't match up with the photos on the website. It was an average room, definitely not boutique. The view was the same during breakfast. We were never invited to the front rooms. The staff were fairly friendly, however the cooked breakfast was plonked down before we had finished our cereal. Overlooks a busy road and next to some waste ground. Parking in Cul-de-sac was easy.The view of the castle (Keep) is somewhat distant. The location was good for Belfast and the coastal road.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuriousKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Hi Keith,

I am really sorry to hear that we didn't seem to meet your expectations on your resent visit and you felt the Castle was distant (google maps we are 1 min, 210 yds away from Castle)
Believe it or not reason we called the Guesthouse The Keep wasn't totally to do with the Castle, the word Keep means ,to keep safe, and we felt thats what we would be doing with our customers, to keep them safe while they where visiting our home Town.
Please accept our apologies that you felt you where being rushed over your breakfast, I can assure you it was a genuine mistake and either Raymond or Paula must have misjudged bringing your freshly cooked breakfast in on that occasion and perhaps they didn't notice your cereal bowls. We pride ourselves on cooking our Guests Breakfasts freshly to order and do not have them sitting cooked 2 hours before, this seems to be a dying art, even in the 4 star Hotels you will find a buffet style breakfast which you choose yourself from hot Bain Marie, which is fine if you get there when it has just been cooked but not so good if it has been there for a short while.
We couldn't have invited you to our front bedrooms as they are both Family rooms which have a double bed and two single beds and where occupied two of the three nights of your stay, the room you booked was a double room. We also pride ourselves on hanging our daily laundry in the fresh air when weather permits as there is nothing as nice as having sheets,dried in fresh air, rather dried in a tumble dryer, so we take every opportunity to dry our laundry outside, it usually wouldn't be able to be hung out until after breakfast as we dont service the rooms until breakfast is over.
I would like to thank you for your review, we feel all reviews are important and really appreciate people taking the time to give us feed back. We have taken on board what you have said and will endeavor to address any issues that we can. Thank you again for your time.

Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Stayed at the Keep for two nights in May... clean and comfortable, nice bed and good breakfast.
In a perfect location walking distance to restaurants and to the castle and town.
Hosts are kind and helpful, and Paula catered to our every request at breakfast.
All in all a great choice.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank travelln-twosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Hi Margaret,
Thanks very much for taking the time, when you got home, to write your review for us, along with the lovely photos. It was very kind of you to post them to let other people see our beautiful wee Town. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your freshly cooked breakfast. I am sure other people will find your review very helpful. We hope to see you again the next time you are passing.
Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carrickfergus hotels
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
#1 of 6 in Carrickfergus
572 reviews
1 km away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
669 reviews
0.5 km away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
Dobbins Inn Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carrickfergus
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Leafield House
Leafield House
#1 of 3 in Carrickfergus
4 reviews
2.2 km away
Beechgrove Farm B&B
Beechgrove Farm B&B
#3 of 8 in Carrickfergus
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep Guesthouse

Address: 93 Irish Quarter South, Carrickfergus BT38 8BW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Carrickfergus
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrickfergus
Price Range: $61 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keep Guesthouse is conveniently located in Carrickfergus Town centre. The superb guest rooms all have en-suite shower facilities. We trust you will find your stay with us extremely comfortable whether it is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Keep Guesthouse Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing