We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Keep Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Loughshore Hotel(Carrickfergus)
USD 140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dobbins Inn Hotel(Carrickfergus)
USD 104
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 306
USD 275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rayanne House(Holywood)
USD 206
USD 190
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leafield House(Carrickfergus)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
107
28
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
28
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseulster fryfamily roomcarrickfergus castlefriendly ownerstraditional irish breakfastexcellent hoststhe rooms were nicecouple who runnear the train stationlovely surprisebusy roadtea and coffee making facilitiesa great stayshort walkenjoyed our staystayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Stayed at the Keep for two nights in May... clean and comfortable, nice bed and good breakfast.
In a perfect location walking distance to restaurants and to the castle and town.
Hosts are kind and helpful, and Paula catered to our every request at breakfast.
All in all a great choice.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank travelln-twosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Hi Margaret,
Thanks very much for taking the time, when you got home, to write your review for us, along with the lovely photos. It was very kind of you to post them to let other people see our beautiful wee Town. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your freshly cooked breakfast. I am sure other people will find your review very helpful. We hope to see you again the next time you are passing.
Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful holiday in Carrickfergus, made all the better by our stay at the Keep. Heather and Ray made us very welcome and, from the outset, they couldn't do enough for us. Our room was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Local amenities/attractions were walking distance from the Keep. We loved our stay at the Keep and Ray's Ulster fried breakfast, served with a smile by Paula, was the highlight of our day. We will definitely be revisiting the Keep and would highly recommend it. Thanks Heather & Ray and look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tomkennedy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Hi Tom,

We hope you had a pleasant journey home. We feel you are both still with us as we hear your wonderful singing each time we are in the car from the really lovely CD,s you gave us. I would recommend them to anyone who has moved away from here as they would just remind you of our beautiful wee country.Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review, we both enjoyed having you stay with us, we felt we were having family home to stay. You didn't even take the beautiful weather back that arrived with you, it was another beautiful day today and we got to sit out and enjoy it. I will pass your kind comments on to Paula, she is a real treasure and always happy . I wont tell Raymond, he will get a big head, he already thinks he does a better fry than I do. lol Take care of Leslie and we will see you both again soon.
Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

My fiancé and I were very impressed with The Keep. We had a warm welcome from Heather on our arrival and she even gave us some tips for places to eat and visit. Breakfast each day was absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection. The cleaner/cook (sorry can't remember her name) even offered to not clean out our room on the Sunday as we were a little hungover having been to a wedding the night before, and needed more sleep, our privacy was very well respected. We had the large family room for just the two of us and considering we stayed 4 nights it was the perfect amount of space for us. Great location for ease of access to the local restaurants. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you Heather & Ray.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 962helens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Hi Helen,

Thank you for all your very kind words, we will also pass them unto Paula, she is very thoughtful and goes out of her way, as we do, to make sure our Guests have the sort of stay they all deserve. It was lovely to have you stay for 4 days, it meant we got to see more of you. We hope you will come back to Carrickfergus and of course come to stay with us again, until then, take care.

Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

love thisguesthouse. have stayed here a few times while visiting family.rooms are lovely and food is great.the hosts are lovely people and you can come and go as you please. it is reasonably priced at 60 poundsfor double room with breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorothealucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Hi Dorothy,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are looking forward to your next visit. It is a great compliment to us, having Guests return, like yourselves. it is a pleasure having you stay. Hopefully see you again soon.
Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

I stayed for about 1 week when I was in town on business. I was very happy with the room. It was very comfortable and perfect for what I needed, Owners were very friend and accommodating to my schedule. I would definitely be staying here on my next to town aswell.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Guest Relations Manager at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Hi Marco,
Glad to hear from you and that you got home safe and sound. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, Raymond enjoyed the early morning breakfasts and his chats with you. We are so pleased that you will be back someday to stay with us again. Until then, take care and dont let them work you too hard. lol
Warmest regards,
Heather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews