We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
111
28
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
28
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseulster fryfamily roommade us feel at homefriendly ownersthe rooms were niceamazing hostscarrickfergus castlelovely surprisetea and coffee making facilitiesbusy roadstayed nightsa great staytown centreraymondbelfastcereal
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and bright and felt like home. Comfortable beds, almost didn't want to get out of them! The owners were great, they gave us pointers on what to do and where to go and how to get there - even drove us to the train on a rainy morning! Great people for conversation over breakfast or on the way out the door.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeepcarrick3, Owner at The Keep Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi Lyndi,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope on your next visit to N.Ireland the weather will be kinder to you both.


Warmest regards,
Raymond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Booked this B&B on a local recommendation and glad we did. Owners really friendly they were in the middles of decorating the dining room but still welcomed us in and apologised for the upheaval. This did not really bother us in the slightest.

Nice room, was offered late checkout with us being the only couple due to the redecoration.

Lovely breakfast, Nice people easy to chat to.

We stayed there 2nd Jan 2014

PS We got to Egypt just.

A great place to stay carrick fergus is a good base for getting about too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VISTABOY1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

we happened upon 'The Keep". We were driving and started to get late as we got closer to Belfast. Heather answered the door and we found ourselves talking to Raymond and Heather for some time, before checking in. They love a chat as do we. Raymond helped with our heavy cases. Heather suggested we consider 2 nights to enable us to have a good look around Belfast. Our room was up 4 flights, but very comfortable. The B&B was on the busy Coastal route, but not at all noisy. We slept with a window open. Free wifi, but had to go down a couple of levels to get it working. Tea and coffee facilities in the room and Raymond even offered us a glass of wine.Heather and Raymond were very helpful with evening meal suggestions and things to do in Belfast. We could have caught a train or a bus into Belfast, but we chose to drive. We followed Heather's instructions and it was easy to find a park (it was a sunday) and return.She directed us to a pub wherev we could catch up with live music and a bite to eat. It was great.We stayed the 2 nights. Asked Heather whether there was a laundrymat around..she said she could get our washing done for us for ten pounds.Breakfast was great and we enjoyed our stay. When it came time to leave, Heather waived the washing cost, which was a nice gesture.
No hesitation in recommending "the Keep" as a good place to stay if visiting Belfast and surrounds

Room Tip: Wifi struggled in the upper level room and staircase is steep with Heavy cases. Get smart and just have a relatively small carry bag and leave the cases in the car
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Only our second full day of driving in Ireland and we could not locate some printed directions we had for The Keep Guest House. Raymond heard our distress over the phone and offered to stand at the intersection to "wave" us in! His red t-shirt was ideal for the task. This was just the first of the kind and hospitable aid given to us my Heather and Raymond. They sent us to a lovely restaurant within walking distance for dinner. He was astute enough to pick up on our desire to find an area where MacAuley was a common name and directed us to Carnlough. To our delight the location of The Keep is ideal for exploring the town and the castle on foot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroChampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were not planning on ending up in Carrickfergus the night we stayed. We had been on the road for hours due to a detour that led us far off from where we intended to be. In desperate need for a place to stay we called The Keep and not only were they accommodating they also helped navigate us to their location. Ray was extremely friendly and really made us feel at home. He and his wife helped us get to a location for a late dinner and even made recommendations to us for traveling the following day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onasunday24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews