We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh that mushy peas to die for”

Morgan's Traditional Chippy
Ranked #7 of 150 Restaurants in Carmarthen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Visited Morgan's chip shop on more than a dozen times it has never let its standards drop below Exelent. Read all the comments and agree with them all.
Keep up your brilliant work many thanks for a chippy well worth the aculade of top one.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Diychimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Probably the opposite of the healthy eating options just down the street. However sometimes only chips will do. A reasonably priced chippy with fish cooked fresh to order. Light batter, well cooked chips despite being busy. Reasonable prices.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Androyd55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

7 of us visited on a Saturday evening prior to going to the cinema. We chose this place after reading the reviews here.

I was a bit unsure from the outside, but one of the reviews had specifically said not to be put off by thus, so we went in.

The staff were lovely and the food was great. It uscrwally popular, which says a lot abour tve wuality. Shortly after we sat down, the restaurant filled up. The takeaway side was non stop.

We would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Had Cod Chips and Mushy peas at Morgans, the fish and chips were superb, but the mushy peas was the star of the show. Don,t know what the magic recipe is, but I would love to get hold of it. Then again, they probably would not taste quite as good at home. The ambience of the traditional "Chippy" adds so much to the experience. Lush!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gwenllian812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

It's tucked away down a side street off the main square and the place itself is not particularly smart from the outside, but the food makes it well worth visiting.

You can have a takeaway but there is also a big restaurant area, which I used. Service was quick and friendly. I had the Merlin Special - cod, chips, mushy peas, bread and butter and a pot of tea for less than £10. Freshly cooked fish and chips, good mushy peas, large portions. One of the best fish and chip meals I've had.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank missdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morgan's Traditional Chippy also viewed

Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Morgan's Traditional Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing