We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect and most beautiful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of TY ERIN COTTAGE

Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage
Awarded 5* by the Welsh Tourist board January 2016 Driveway up to cotttage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Cottage
Awarded 5* by the Welsh Tourist board January 2016
Driveway up to cotttage
Open plan lounge and dining room
first floor double bedroom
First floor bathroom & shower.
Steam room with monsoon shower
New Sauna Added
Four adults can use the sauna comfortably
Large field to play
Children old & young can watch &  feed  sheep.
Sit by the river and have a picnic or BBQ
Forest in May  - across our river:)
Rhandir Mewn
(45 mina away)
deal for walks & cycling around the lake. The  footpaths are reasonably flat and easy to walk.
Twm Sion Cati Wales is own Robin Hood was born around 1530.  Lived in a cave just below the lakes, t
Summer  at Llyn Fan Fach ( 40 mins drive)
View From Llyn Y Fan Fach
Reservoir  on the way to  Talybont On Usk  (50 mins away)
Reservoir on the way to  Talybont  On Usk (50 mins away)
Waterfall  at Talybont On Usk ( 50 mins away)
Waterfall at Talybont On Usk (50 mins away)
Winter at Lyn Fan Fach
Enjoy nature in  Llyn y Fan Fach
Sunset in Rhosilli (60 mins away) Walk down onto the beach
Walks in a  Brechfa forest (45 mins away)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
sunithanj...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect and most beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We loved each and every aspect of our stay in Ty Erin.Gerard was ever so helpful. Beautiful location, calm atmosphere, well maintained spotless cottage.Even Children loved the nature around it. They had a lovely time feeding sheeps and playing in the riverside. Perfect location to go to Dinefwr and Carreg Cennen Castles and Brecon Breacon.

No faults that I can say....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your kind review I am so glad you all enjoyed, see you again soon. regards Gerard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sightsee6...
1 review
“very nice stay in south Wales”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Very warm welcome by the owner,who gave us a lot of very helpful advices.(walking,places to see and places to eat.)
the house was very confortable and modern decorated especialy the kitchen.
at our arrival a lot of things was provited:bread,butter,milk,orange juice and fruits ,and the same for the bathrooms:soap,tooth-paste.
The surroundings are very quiet.
All was perfect.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Many thanks for your kind review
Gerard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinajorda...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A really lovely cottage in owners grounds.”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The owner of this cottage was extremely helpful from the moment we booked to stay at Ty Erin. On arrival, we made ourselves comfortable and then Gerard (the owner) came over to show us around and explain the technical stuff. He also made some good recommendations for places to eat for our first few days. The cottage itself was well stocked with everything we needed for our stay, from plenty of loo roll to a spare toothbrush, to washing pouches and pegs. It was comfortable and tastefully decorated. The downstairs shower is fab! We had a lovely, peaceful time and would definitely recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No negatives for me
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Many thanks Paul for your kind words about the cottage. Look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Gerard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y6525IHal...
Mold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful property in an ideal location, with a superb host.”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely cottage situated in the owner’s grounds in a nice peaceful location. Arrived to find a bottle of wine, strawberries and other goodies waiting for us. Gerard, in fact, proved to be the perfect host, providing us with essential information on where to go and what to see, including the best places to eat. The cottage itself is ideally located for visiting a variety of places in S Wales, with Cardiff, the Beacons, St David’s and the Gower peninsular all within easy reach. Superb cottage, wonderful host. Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the property, peaceful location and excellent host.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Many thanks for your kind words hope to see you both again.
Regards
Gerard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyle47
east coast
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superlative!”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Ty Erin Cottage and Gerard both exceeded any expectation we had. My wife, her friend, and I enjoyed every minute of our 5-night stay in southern Wales, and the cottage and Gerard were a big part of it.

First, the location was ideal for our purposes. We needed a central hub for exploring in all directions, from Neath Abbey to Caerphilly to St. David's--not to mention the lovely area around the Brecon Beacons. And, as we prefer a quieter place to stay rather than in a town, the location could not have been better for us.

Second, the cottage was just perfect. A newly refurbished garage, it was utterly charming and welcoming. It is completely detached from the main house and completely self-sufficient. Modern conveniences such as wifi combined with luxurious extras such as a steam sauna and pastoral views--there is more to this cottage than meets the eye. Little touches such as the lights in the kitchen window, or the little blue base lights in the kitchen, a basket of new/wrapped toiletry items such as comb, toothbrush, razor, etc in case we had forgotten something were also appreciated. One final note: the bedrooms are upstairs, which is why down below I did not recommend for disabled travelers. The ceilings upstairs are sloped and rather low in some places, so travelers who are very tall will have to be wary of bumping their heads in those areas.

Finally, there was Gerard. He was just 30 yards away in the main house, available when needed, and full of great suggestions for sight-seeing and dining, and a brilliant conversationalist. Knowing what we were interested in seeing, he suggested that we run down to Tenby and take a boat to Caldey Island to see the the old priory there as well as the lighthouse and monastery and enjoy walking around the island. He was right, and we spent a lovely day there. He also provided essentials such as juice, bread, butter, tea, sugar, cereal, and Welsh cakes. He has a couple of dogs and, since my wife's friend was missing her dog, he provided her a lead so she could take his dog for a walk each day. He even helped us out with laundry (the cottage has a washer but no dryer, so he'd take care of that for us and leave it on the front stoop when it was done). Those are just a few examples of how generous and hospitable our host was. He even talked about golf with me without getting bored.

Bottom line, I will not hesitate to book Ty Erin Cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Lack of a dryer, even though the owner was happy to take care of that for us.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
It was a pleasure to host you guys many thanks for choosing our cottage
and for the honest review.
Regards
Gerard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing