We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family holiday with kids”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scott B
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family holiday with kids”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our family had the most amazing stay at the Coach House. The Coach House cottage was clean and tidy when we arrived and a perfect cottage for 4-6 people.
Fiona & Rob were very friendly and our children (11 & 9) thoroughly enjoyed their morning farm rounds with them. There were enough animals to feed and tend to each day. Rob especially really enjoys his time with the children and loved taking them around the farm on his tractor & quad bike.
The playground area is excellent for kids under 12 & hours were spent there with the other kids staying on the farm. A great holiday all round -thanks Fiona & Rob.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
So glad you had a good stay. Farmer Rob loves showing the families the farm and getting the children involved with his animals who are all very friendly. The quad and tractor are always a hit and something a little different for most children. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and thank you for making our summer successful
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William M
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Farm Getaway”
Reviewed 11 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This trip succeeded my expectations! The coach cottage was cozy will all basic amenities. It is about an 8-9 minute drive into Llandeilo, which was perfect. Away from all the hustle and bustle. We woke up two mornings and did the farm experience. Farmer Rob and Mrs Fiona let my children (6&8) feed, pet, hold animals. There are pigs, chickens, goats, dogs, donkeys, sheep and highland cows! What an experience that they will not forget! You can purchase delicious bacon and sausages from them as well! Our breakfasts were spectacular because of these homemade items!! They also have gorgeous blankets all made from their sheep wool for sale! Shampoos, soaps, and stuff animals for the kids for purchase if you forget to pick up items for family members back home!

The house is set on a timer for heating so if it is a cold month you may want to ask how to adjust. Our hot water was a tad iffy one morning because we tried to shower during off time- probably an easy fix with a switch of a button. Lol. We did find that they had a lot of items to cook with, but needed to bring some or buys some of our own to make days easier- i.e.- firewood or coals- from town, tin foil, plastic bags, & laundry soap. The cottages provide one roll of toilet paper per bathroom which is fine if you don't have a lot of people but if there are 4-6 you may want to bring a roll with you just in case You'll find everything very clean and tidy! There are two fridges so bring all the food and drinks you want! Plenty of room!! All in all a quiet fun getaway where we could let kids be kids and explore the nature and beauty of Wales! Great time was had by all and would love to come back one day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2017
Thanks for the lovely review Hannah and so glad you enjoyed your stay. The hot water is on a combination boiler so you should have hot water 24/7 same with heating so I have no idea why struggled with hot water one day, shame you should have asked us. Same with the heating it was set to continuous and you can turn it up as high as suits 24/7. So glad you enjoyed your feeding rounds and hope you enjoy the Welsh Blankets from our beautiful sheep
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather S
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to come back.”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What an amazing holiday, I'm back in Sheffield now and I miss the peace of the farm and the fully dark nights. I've never slept so well, the cottage is just lovely. Incredibly clean and beautiful. We took my one year old niece around the farm, her favourites were the "chick chicks" as she calls them. The cottage was perfect for her as they're lots of toys to play with and at the same time she could watch Cebeebies on the TV. She loved her time on the farm and very much enjoyed her morning egg from Farmer Rob. There is also a children's play area with sand pits. There's plenty for children to do.

We also took our dog a basset hound, he was very settled here, if you're a reasonable dog owner then your dog will love it. They have two dogs on the farm called Bryn and Meg who are lovely with children and adults.

I can't wait to go back, a week simply wasn't long enough. There is so much to explore in Wales. I can't recommend them enough, book now!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and we are so glad you had a lovely holiday and we loved having you to stay. The little ones absolutely love the farm and having the chicks and rabbits pet corner means they can get close anytime and they all love helping Farmer Rob be a real farmer in the mornings. Can't wait to welcome you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimmyzara
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Well. We don't have a bad thing to say about our week long stay here. It was perfect.

Staying with our 1 and 3 year old sons it was the perfect mix. The farm was brilliant, plenty to do... The feeding each morning was a great way to start the day & the children really get in to it & get really comfortable with the animals, the donkey and quad bike rides were fab too. They also loved taking some carrots and apples over to the horses in the fields... And they still miss Meg & Brynn the brilliantly bonkers sheepdogs!

It was also so peaceful to have a walk around the farm child free of an evening and say goodnight to the animals too!!
Outdoor games and a lovely bbq area makes the perfect setting for any nice evening and the evenings are also great if you like a spot of bird watching as my husband did.

There is lots to do in the area, castles galore, a day trip to Tenby, rainy day on the steam train, folly farm to name but a few. But equally enough to do on the farm when you need a bit of down time or a lazy day... One day We headed down into Llandeilo, got some nice picky lunch things from the GinHaus Deli and then stopped off at the most amazing chocolate shop for treats...the brownies were utterly to die for! We headed back to the farm and went and sat on a picnic table in the field where the sheep were obviously a tad jealous of our luscious lunch! The boys happily tucked in to their food Inbetween playing on the castle, the play frame, the sandpit and all the ride ons, they were happily occupied while we were able to enjoy a fairly civilised lunch which was followed by some Pond dipping also on site.

Nothing seemed too much trouble for the owners Fiona and Rob, they were always so patient with the children and were happy to chat and supply you with some fine cuts of meat. The sausages are utterly amazing, I would definitely recommend a breakfast pack. We came home with belly pork and some mutton too.

My husband and our 3 year old also spent an evening camping in Mfanway's ark which they loved. We all enjoyed some toasted marshmallows and a 'midnight feast' (aka 7.30pm) before myself and my 1 year old headed back to the cottage for the evening.. We rejoined them in the morning where they had sausages cooking for our breakfast. What more could you ask for... The bed to yourself and farm made sausages waiting in the morning!!

Our cottage was perfect, great layout for the family, really cosy, a great home from home with all the amenities you need including children's plates and cutlery and a great supply of toys and games. There's a great supply of local tourist info in the cottages too. I had taken travel blackout blinds with me but there was also no need for this as the two twin bedrooms had velux Windows with attached blackout blinds... It's the little things!

We loved this place so much there were tears all round when leaving, normally I'm ready for my bed & love coming home but it's the first time in a long while I haven't wanted to (the bed here was ridiculously comfy too)
All our friends have commented on our pictures saying how lovely our holiday seemed... They are not wrong!!!
We had such a wonderful time we have booked to return again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Wow!! Thanks for such a lovey and comprehensive review. Not sure we can add much to that apart from can't wait to see you again next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ollie J
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1 week stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have stayed on Fiona and Rob's farm for the week and can honestly say we have had a wonderfully relaxed and fun time.

The kids have loved engaging in farm life, and finding my 12yr old daughter leave the "almost teen mode" of refusing to get up at home and actually actively jump to get involved in the mornings with the feeding and farm duties is an Accolade to the fun Farmer Rob puts into it.

Both my children, the other aged 10, have absolutely loved everything about being on this farm, and have certainly boosted their love for animals. Now where do we fit dogs, chickens, goats, pigs, cows, donkeys, horses and quad bikes into my comparably tiny garden back in Hertfordshire!

Rob gave great advice on local places worth a day out, and certainly kept our week packed full of great ideas.

Accommodation was clean and very up to standard and did the job perfectly - with a welcome meet and greet from Fiona to settle us in too.

Oh and well worth a try is to have some home grown meats from them - they are true lot superb!

Thanks very much for a fab week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and so glad you had fun. Rob enjoyed feeding the animals with the girls and I hope they enjoyed the Donkey rides today. Thank you for such lovely words and good luck with the backyard farm failing that you would be welcome here anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing