We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tullah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We did the 4 day rainforest walk, which is light on walking but a beautiful experience. Each day you set off from base camp for an easy walk exploring ancient temperate rainforest. The guides are passionate and knowledgeable. The evenings are spent chatting around the fireplace of the long hut with various local wines and a well cooked dinner. This is a very important part of the world.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank emilyjanetclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarkineTrailsAdmin, Manager at Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you for your kind review Emily!
We are glad you had a wonderful time in the Tarkine/tarkine rainforest this year. Our guides are spectacular at what they do, with their passion and knowledge for this ancient rainforest, guests come away with an added appreciation for this ancient landscape. We hope you can visit the Tarkine again one day, maybe to do a longer, multi-day walk into the heart of this incredible landscape!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2017

Our group of 9 friends traveled into the Tarkine to stay at Tiger Ridge base camp as part of the Tarkine Rainforest Walk four day experience. Our guides Dan and Mic were friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. We were treated to excellent food and drinks in the magical surrounds of this pristine and very precious part of the world. Our delicious evening sun-downers and meals were served around the warmth and glow of a glass enclosed pot belly fire surrounded and overlooking the ancient trees and ferns. The guided walks into the forest were an immersion into beauty, tranquility and the wonder of nature. What a privilege to be able to live in this virtually untouched landscape in such comfort.
Highly recommended for all nature lovers.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Trev6211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarkineTrailsAdmin, Manager at Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you for your great review Trev!
It was a pleasure to have you and your group of friends join us on a private tour of the Tarkine/takayna rainforest this year. We take great pride in our wonderful guides, and the experience we offer in this ancient rainforest, and are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time in this very special part of the world. If you ever want to organise another group trip, please let us know as we would love to welcome you all back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

I did the six day Rainforest Walk. Spending this time walking through an other worldly, moss-covered, primeval landscape was indescribably moving, humbling and joyous. Words really can't do it justice; you're just going to have to go and see/feel for yourself. On a more practical level, the pre-trip organisation was flawless, the guides were knowledgeable and clearly passionate about the Tarkine and they looked after us superbly. I don't know what they're paid but its not enough! One of the delights of this walk is that you're not following tracks, so good guides are essential and although I felt pleasantly divorced from the everyday world I always felt completely safe. The waterfalls, brightly coloured fungi (including some glow-in-the-dark green ones), gurgling creeks, towering trees and centuries old tree ferns were wonderful but it was the intangible atmosphere of this ancient place that had the most profound and, I suspect, lasting effect on me. Do this walk if you possibly can.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarkineTrailsAdmin, Manager at Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you, Rosemary, for your kind review!
You are right, it is very difficult to put into words just how spectacular and moving the Tarkine/takayna rainforest is. We are glad you had an incredible experience with our guides in this ancient rainforest, and we hope you have left with memories that you will never forget! We look forward to welcoming you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

We had an incredible time at the Tarkine. The guides were thoughtful, caring and very informative. The food awesome and the expierience to be in this remote, ancient rainforest simply stunning. Thank you for letting me have such a memorable time

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Heike1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarkineTrailsAdmin, Manager at Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Thank you for your lovely review Heike! We are glad you had a wonderful time in this ancient rainforest, not only once but on two occasions. We are privileged to have such fantastic guides, who share such passion and knowledge for this incredible environment. We hope to see you back in the not too distant future, on your third Tarkine/takayna experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Our visit to the Tarkine was a life changing adventure. It was a wonderful opportunity to relax, live in the moment and recharge our batteries. Our guides, Trevor, Jane and Dan, were delightful, very caring and knowledgable. They provided us with beautiful Tasmanian food and wine and catered for the group's many dietary requirements. Our days were spent exploring our surroundings with our guides and the walkers set the pace. Our nights were spent laughing and getting to know the others in the group. It was quite therapeutic and the Tarkine truly is a magical place.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank karenop2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullah
0.0 km away
Corinna Wilderness Experience
0.0 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
728 reviews
0.0 km away
Zeehan Bush Camp and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Tullah Lakeside Lodge
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Tullah Tavern
#1 of 1 in Tullah
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat

Address: Boco Road, Tullah, Tasmania 7321, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Tullah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tullah
Price Range: $1,299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarkine Rainforest Retreat gives visitors access to a remote section of the Tarkine rainforest and the opportunity to experience the ancient rainforest from a comfortable base camp. Nestled amongst ancient forests and Eucalypts at Tiger Ridge, the retreat is the first of its kind in the region, and includes large private permanent tents erected amongst the trees, and the new Tarkine Longhouse – the hub for meals and relaxation around the fireplace. Located on the edge of a forested valley, the Tarkine Longhouse features an open design that allows guests to connect to the surrounding forests on three sides, and a cantilevered veranda extending into the lush canopy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat Tullah, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing