We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking through a different world”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tullah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Walking through a different world”
Reviewed 14 December 2016

I did the six day Rainforest Walk. Spending this time walking through an other worldly, moss-covered, primeval landscape was indescribably moving, humbling and joyous. Words really can't do it justice; you're just going to have to go and see/feel for yourself. On a more practical level, the pre-trip organisation was flawless, the guides were knowledgeable and clearly passionate about the Tarkine and they looked after us superbly. I don't know what they're paid but its not enough! One of the delights of this walk is that you're not following tracks, so good guides are essential and although I felt pleasantly divorced from the everyday world I always felt completely safe. The waterfalls, brightly coloured fungi (including some glow-in-the-dark green ones), gurgling creeks, towering trees and centuries old tree ferns were wonderful but it was the intangible atmosphere of this ancient place that had the most profound and, I suspect, lasting effect on me. Do this walk if you possibly can.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarkineTrailsAdmin, Manager at Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 22 May 2017
Thank you, Rosemary, for your kind review!
You are right, it is very difficult to put into words just how spectacular and moving the Tarkine/takayna rainforest is. We are glad you had an incredible experience with our guides in this ancient rainforest, and we hope you have left with memories that you will never forget! We look forward to welcoming you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

We had an incredible time at the Tarkine. The guides were thoughtful, caring and very informative. The food awesome and the expierience to be in this remote, ancient rainforest simply stunning. Thank you for letting me have such a memorable time

Stayed December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Heike1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarkineTrailsAdmin, Manager at Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 22 May 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Heike! We are glad you had a wonderful time in this ancient rainforest, not only once but on two occasions. We are privileged to have such fantastic guides, who share such passion and knowledge for this incredible environment. We hope to see you back in the not too distant future, on your third Tarkine/takayna experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Our visit to the Tarkine was a life changing adventure. It was a wonderful opportunity to relax, live in the moment and recharge our batteries. Our guides, Trevor, Jane and Dan, were delightful, very caring and knowledgable. They provided us with beautiful Tasmanian food and wine and catered for the group's many dietary requirements. Our days were spent exploring our surroundings with our guides and the walkers set the pace. Our nights were spent laughing and getting to know the others in the group. It was quite therapeutic and the Tarkine truly is a magical place.

Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karenop2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

My partner and I were picked up from Launceston and from the moment we stepped into the van we knew we were in for a fun, educational and easy going experience!

All the guides were relaxed, knowledgeable and professional. The walks were calm and allowed for plenty of photo opportunities or even just moments to reflect.

The environment is like none other! Immense ancient trees that will leave you with your jaw on the floor. Microscopic fungi that come in all shapes and sizes, and some perhaps not even discovered yet!

All of our needs were met, even a vegan diet for myself. The long hut was a fantastic communal area to share stories but private tents were only a short distance away if you felt like retreating.

One of the highlights for me was the Japanese style shower. And the water was hot!

But the most important thing about this trip was the connection we made with this unique wilderness. It draws you in and infects your veins. You don't want to leave. And for that, as well as MANY other environmental reasons, it deserves protection.

Go. Experience it. And be amazed.

Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Stunningly beautiful forest and rivers. An amazing profusion of brightly coloured fungi. We were completely supported in the wilderness environment. The walks were led at a leisurely pace with plenty of opportunity for rest, photography and just soaking it in. The long hut was a great meeting place and dining room, high above the forest on the top of Tiger Ridge. The accommodation consisted of a large, head high 2 room tent situated with privacy. We ate very well washed down with great coffee and Tasmanian wines. The guides were deeply knowledgeable about the area, flora and fauna, passionate in their concern for the environment and great fun. There was a lot of laughter. I would recommend this trip to anyone who would like a well supported trip in the Tasmanian Tarkine wilderness.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullah
0.0 km away
Tullah Lakeside Lodge
0.0 km away
Zeehan Bush Camp and Caravan Park
0.0 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Tullah Tavern
#1 of 1 in Tullah
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat

Property: Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat
Address: Boco Road, Tullah, Tasmania 7321, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Tullah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tullah
Price range (per night): $1,299
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarkine Rainforest Retreat gives visitors access to a remote section of the Tarkine rainforest and the opportunity to experience the ancient rainforest from a comfortable base camp. Nestled amongst ancient forests and Eucalypts at Tiger Ridge, the retreat is the first of its kind in the region, and includes large private permanent tents erected amongst the trees, and the new Tarkine Longhouse – the hub for meals and relaxation around the fireplace. Located on the edge of a forested valley, the Tarkine Longhouse features an open design that allows guests to connect to the surrounding forests on three sides, and a cantilevered veranda extending into the lush canopy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat Tullah, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing