We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tullah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bliss”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

My partner and I were picked up from Launceston and from the moment we stepped into the van we knew we were in for a fun, educational and easy going experience!

All the guides were relaxed, knowledgeable and professional. The walks were calm and allowed for plenty of photo opportunities or even just moments to reflect.

The environment is like none other! Immense ancient trees that will leave you with your jaw on the floor. Microscopic fungi that come in all shapes and sizes, and some perhaps not even discovered yet!

All of our needs were met, even a vegan diet for myself. The long hut was a fantastic communal area to share stories but private tents were only a short distance away if you felt like retreating.

One of the highlights for me was the Japanese style shower. And the water was hot!

But the most important thing about this trip was the connection we made with this unique wilderness. It draws you in and infects your veins. You don't want to leave. And for that, as well as MANY other environmental reasons, it deserves protection.

Go. Experience it. And be amazed.

Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Stunningly beautiful forest and rivers. An amazing profusion of brightly coloured fungi. We were completely supported in the wilderness environment. The walks were led at a leisurely pace with plenty of opportunity for rest, photography and just soaking it in. The long hut was a great meeting place and dining room, high above the forest on the top of Tiger Ridge. The accommodation consisted of a large, head high 2 room tent situated with privacy. We ate very well washed down with great coffee and Tasmanian wines. The guides were deeply knowledgeable about the area, flora and fauna, passionate in their concern for the environment and great fun. There was a lot of laughter. I would recommend this trip to anyone who would like a well supported trip in the Tasmanian Tarkine wilderness.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2016

For anyone wanting to get right up close and personal with the Tasmanian rainforest and not an experienced bushwalker or even camper, then this is the ideal way to do it.

Everything is provided for you including transport, food, accommodation and expert guiding. The walks are very easy going and there's plenty of time to take in the scenery or take photos.

The food deserves special mention. There was cheese and biscuits, wine, beautiful main courses and desserts and even cooked lunches on our walks.

All up a great trip and highly recommended.

Room Tip: No noise in any room except the sounds of the rainforest at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Egerton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2016

What a way to start my new 'thing' of hiking. A 6 day bushwalk in one of the most beautiful parts of this beautiful country. The idea of going somewhere where so few people have been, leaving the 'civilised' world so far behind really appealed to me. It was green, it was quiet, it was full of the most wonderful array of fungi, of trees, ferns, grasses, fallen logs, 'totem poles' created by black cockatoos, masses of mosses, lichens, devil cameras, pristine rivers, cascading waterfalls. Heaven (yes, we really went there).

And the Tarkine Trail folk who make the visits possible - you seriously could not ask for better service (thanks Indianna!) nor better companions (not just guides or drivers - thanks Dan, thanks Erik, thanks Gino!) They all truly care about this planet and in particular this spectacular region. Their passion for it, for its continued existence, and for their part in showcasing the Tarkine to the world via their intimate tours, is inspiring. It bodes well for the future.

Carrying what I needed (well, mostly - thanks Mark!), drinking water from the river, sharing wonderful meals with good like-minded folk (hi Caroline, hi Jason, hi Brian!), snuggled at night in my sleeping bag in my little tent under the stars, getting to sleep not long after dark, feeling encouraged and supported by my fellow hikers (because yes, my short legs did make me last to arrive every time), I also felt supported by the environment, by the very air around me. I even swam in the river - totally NOT planned, but I couldn't resist it.

I plan to go again, next time on the Tarkine CoastTrail. It's good to know that, after that, if I don't feel up to a 6 day hike, with a 15k pack, Tarkine Trails has a rainforest base camp, where I can stay and just go on day walks into the forest. It looks beautiful.

I'd encourage everyone to get to the Tarkine, to see its majesty, to breathe in its essence, and to understand its importance.

Room Tip: My room was a tent in the forest - nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

I participated in the 6 day walk at the end of March this year. Camping, an acceptable pack weight following recommendations of gear to bring. Two wonderful guides, Trevor & Jane plus guest-porter Brodie. Two other guests on the trip. Food was prepared from scratch and really lovely & nourishing. On trail interpretation was excellent. Really focused us all on the now & on the environment we were walking through. The trail is a circular trip, no major backtracking. Soft forest floor made for nice walking and good camp sites. The real star of the trail is the stunning Tarkine itself. Magnificent rainforest, truly awe inspiring giant myrtle trees with statuesque tree ferns covered in filmy ferns. It was the time of Autumn fungi emergents too. Gets you focused on the minute. Really wonderful trip.

Stayed March 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullah
0.0 km away
Tullah Lakeside Lodge
0.0 km away
Zeehan Bush Camp and Caravan Park
0.0 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Tullah Tavern
#1 of 1 in Tullah
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat

Property: Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat
Address: Boco Road, Tullah, Tasmania 7321, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Tullah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tullah
Price range (per night): $1,299
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarkine Rainforest Retreat gives visitors access to a remote section of the Tarkine rainforest and the opportunity to experience the ancient rainforest from a comfortable base camp. Nestled amongst ancient forests and Eucalypts at Tiger Ridge, the retreat is the first of its kind in the region, and includes large private permanent tents erected amongst the trees, and the new Tarkine Longhouse – the hub for meals and relaxation around the fireplace. Located on the edge of a forested valley, the Tarkine Longhouse features an open design that allows guests to connect to the surrounding forests on three sides, and a cantilevered veranda extending into the lush canopy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat Tullah, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing