We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tarkine Trails 6 day Rainforest walk”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tullah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat
Reviewed 29 January 2016

This walk was just life altering for me. It transformed my busy, cluttered mind and stressed body into one of peace and serenity and all with a greater appreciation of forest preservation, ecology and Tasmania. The walk challenged me but throughout I felt totally supported and cared for by Trevor, Jane and Erik. There were plenty of rest stops and time to lean on an ancient myrtle and soak up the incredible environment. The food was surprisingly gourmet and delicious and my dietary requirements were catered for on an exceptional level. I'll never forget the humour and laughs we shared along the trail and still quietly chuckle at some of the moments!
This place is truly beautiful and precious and I feel even more passionate about helping to preserve this 65 million year old tract of gondwana rainforest.
I would love to book in to do this walk every year for my own health and wellbeing but to support the tremendous work of Tarkine Trails.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2016

We spent 3 lovely nights at the longhouse, the experience made wonderful by the efforts and kind-spiritedness of the guides (combined of course with the beauty of the rainforest!). Would highly recommend this to anyone looking for some time away, or really for any reason.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Maxim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic experience! The forest itself was the most pristine, unpolluted place I've ever walked in and was just beautiful. The gear was great, the ground soft and I've never slept so well.
Our guides, Trevor and Jonny, were interesting, friendly, knowledgeable and passionate about the Tarkine. The meals Trevor provided were perfect especially for a person with IBS. Nothing was too much trouble. Jonny is a fun young guy who never made us more mature folks feel old! The porter Rick was a gem. He wasn't just a porter he was a kind, compassionate and thoughtful friend to my hiking companion, who at 32 has a permanent disability due to a stroke and epilepsy due to a brain bleed at the age of 13.
Thanks to Ms go/between, Indianna, who went to exceptional lengths to make sure all our various needs were met.
Thanks Tarkine Trails for a terrific 6 days in the wilderness and my only complaint was that it went too fast!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
3  Thank Jeannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Have just returned from amazing 6 day walk in the Tarkine. Superb organisation of every step of the journey. individual needs were all accommodated in a respectful and thorough manner. The rainforest is an untouched paradise and the whole experience was fantastic. The TT staff were all outstanding and incredibly helpful, in particular the 2 guides Trevor and Jonny who guided, cooked, informed and entertained and Rick who went way beyond his porter duties. If you are comfortable to carry a pack and sleep in tents this walk is a must do. Avoid the crowds of other Tassie trails and enter a pristine and unique environment that should be protected.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

Amazing rainforest and wilderness that you see on TV and say it can't be that beautiful! Well it is and more. You walk with a point of view that time is etched on the trees and rocks,history and culture echoing with each step. It's a great treat and one I'll never forget ! True freedom

Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank sheryl r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullah
0.0 km away
Corinna Wilderness Experience
0.0 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
728 reviews
0.0 km away
Zeehan Bush Camp and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Tullah Lakeside Lodge
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Tullah Tavern
#1 of 1 in Tullah
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat

Address: Boco Road, Tullah, Tasmania 7321, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Tullah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tullah
Price Range: $1,299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarkine Rainforest Retreat gives visitors access to a remote section of the Tarkine rainforest and the opportunity to experience the ancient rainforest from a comfortable base camp. Nestled amongst ancient forests and Eucalypts at Tiger Ridge, the retreat is the first of its kind in the region, and includes large private permanent tents erected amongst the trees, and the new Tarkine Longhouse – the hub for meals and relaxation around the fireplace. Located on the edge of a forested valley, the Tarkine Longhouse features an open design that allows guests to connect to the surrounding forests on three sides, and a cantilevered veranda extending into the lush canopy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat Tullah, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing