We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tarkine Rainforest Walk”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tullah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tarkine Rainforest Walk”
Reviewed 14 February 2015

This is an amazing place in my own backyard (i'm a local Tasmanian) that i was blown away by. The peaceful and serene wilderness provided us with the best time for 4 days and 3 nights.
The organisation of the trip by Tarkine Trails left nothing to chance and we were looked after by two fabulous young guides Daniel and Johnny who willingly imparted great stories and educational information on the forest flora and fauna of the Tarkine.
We were fed some good local Tassie food and plenty of it amongst some of the best backdrops. My only comment would be that perhaps a greater emphasis onTasmanian produce would be nice.
The walks were not particularly difficult for a general level of fitness. If you are after challenging walks then perhaps discuss this before your trip, as there may be more difficult/challenging tracks the guides can take you on.
The camping was closer to glamping and my friend and i felt pretty spoilt. Tents were spacious and comfortable and the outdoor washroom was the best view i've ever had from a bathroom window!
The communal long house was an awesome setup and nestled unobtrusively into the environment.
Overall an amazing few days and well worth it. Just inspires me to save for the 6 day Tarkine coastal walk.
Like the Nike advert says 'JUST DO IT'

Room Tip: No tips - all tents are comfortable with great mattresses and gear supplied if you need it. You wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2015

If you love bushwalking and want to walk where few people have walked before and not on pristine bush tracks, this is the walk for you . Undisturbed wilderness and so peaceful, walking for 6 days with our packs on our backs, with river crossings , lush fern valleys and ancient trees covered with moss and lichens out of this world.

Room Tip: This was a camping trip with top quality equipment supplied to make the camping comfortable!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2015, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I did the rainforest walk, where you spend 4 days and 3 nights in the remote Tarkine wilderness. The time of year when I went was perfect as the rainforest was lush and green from rain and there was an abundance of amazing fungi. Treva and Daniel fed us fantastic food (including Tasmanian Samon) and provided us with a wealth of information about the Tarkine, including it's values, ecology, threats and indigenous history. One of Trevas stories will move you to tears. The guides took care of anyone with any particular needs (not that I was one of these people) and the walks were suited for people at all levels. I had an amazing experience in this beautiful part of Tasmania, with great guides and a great group. I would recommend this to any one. My only regret is that I didn't try the outdoor shower

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pen2014395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We recently spent 5 days and 4 nights on the Tarkine Explorer. The Tarkine is the most pristine wilderness area we had ever visited: the majesty of the trees, the absolute quietness, the beauty of the forest and Pieman river and the history were all stunning.

Two nights are spent in tents with a communal long house and superb outdoor solar powered shower ( Oh the luxury!).

The guides , especially Colin are fantastic; their passion, knowledge and love of this region helped make the trip a really inspiring one.

Highlights: canoeing the Pieman river, the rugged coastline walk and pristine wilderness walk to the river, the guides and our fantastic group dynamics ( most of us were unknown to the others) made this a trip to remember.

Room Tip: nil tips, this is remote wilderness camping and all tents are equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyn-tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

My husband & I were fortunate enough to spend 4 wonderful days in the Tarkine. The effect it had on us is indescribable. We expected something "magical" and were not disappointed. Had to keep pinching ourselves that we were immersed in this enchanting wonderland of such beautiful old, old, old growth trees and the most fantastic fungi, ferns and vines. We were especially intrigued with the numerous little crays" houses that we were desperately careful not to squash as we plodded nearby. We of course couldn't have and wouldn't have been able to explore this precious forest without our two wonderful and knowledgeable guides, Trevor and Jane. They took great care with all of us and their passion for the Tarkine forest and coastline was infectious and we are so grateful to them. It is a "special" place that must be protected at all costs and we urge anyone looking for a "life changing experience" to go as soon as possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullah
0.0 km away
Tullah Lakeside Lodge
0.0 km away
Zeehan Bush Camp and Caravan Park
0.0 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Tullah Tavern
#1 of 1 in Tullah
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat

Property: Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat
Address: Boco Road, Tullah, Tasmania 7321, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Tullah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tullah
Price range (per night): $1,299
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarkine Rainforest Retreat gives visitors access to a remote section of the Tarkine rainforest and the opportunity to experience the ancient rainforest from a comfortable base camp. Nestled amongst ancient forests and Eucalypts at Tiger Ridge, the retreat is the first of its kind in the region, and includes large private permanent tents erected amongst the trees, and the new Tarkine Longhouse – the hub for meals and relaxation around the fireplace. Located on the edge of a forested valley, the Tarkine Longhouse features an open design that allows guests to connect to the surrounding forests on three sides, and a cantilevered veranda extending into the lush canopy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat Tullah, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing