We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tarkine Trails
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Tullah
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cradle Mountain Hotel(Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn Gold Rush(Queenstown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Hills Motel(Queenstown)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
West Coaster Motel(Queenstown)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Empire Hotel(Queenstown)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
36
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainforest walklong houseancient rainforestbase campfrom scratchtree fernsknowledgeable guidespre triptemperate rainforestglowtrevorimmersedfunghitigerwalksinterpretationuntouched
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I did the rainforest walk, where you spend 4 days and 3 nights in the remote Tarkine wilderness. The time of year when I went was perfect as the rainforest was lush and green from rain and there was an abundance of amazing fungi. Treva and Daniel fed us fantastic food (including Tasmanian Samon) and provided us with a wealth of information about the Tarkine, including it's values, ecology, threats and indigenous history. One of Trevas stories will move you to tears. The guides took care of anyone with any particular needs (not that I was one of these people) and the walks were suited for people at all levels. I had an amazing experience in this beautiful part of Tasmania, with great guides and a great group. I would recommend this to any one. My only regret is that I didn't try the outdoor shower

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pen2014395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We recently spent 5 days and 4 nights on the Tarkine Explorer. The Tarkine is the most pristine wilderness area we had ever visited: the majesty of the trees, the absolute quietness, the beauty of the forest and Pieman river and the history were all stunning.

Two nights are spent in tents with a communal long house and superb outdoor solar powered shower ( Oh the luxury!).

The guides , especially Colin are fantastic; their passion, knowledge and love of this region helped make the trip a really inspiring one.

Highlights: canoeing the Pieman river, the rugged coastline walk and pristine wilderness walk to the river, the guides and our fantastic group dynamics ( most of us were unknown to the others) made this a trip to remember.

Room Tip: nil tips, this is remote wilderness camping and all tents are equal.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank lyn-tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

My husband & I were fortunate enough to spend 4 wonderful days in the Tarkine. The effect it had on us is indescribable. We expected something "magical" and were not disappointed. Had to keep pinching ourselves that we were immersed in this enchanting wonderland of such beautiful old, old, old growth trees and the most fantastic fungi, ferns and vines. We were especially intrigued with the numerous little crays" houses that we were desperately careful not to squash as we plodded nearby. We of course couldn't have and wouldn't have been able to explore this precious forest without our two wonderful and knowledgeable guides, Trevor and Jane. They took great care with all of us and their passion for the Tarkine forest and coastline was infectious and we are so grateful to them. It is a "special" place that must be protected at all costs and we urge anyone looking for a "life changing experience" to go as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Just completed a fantastic 4-day long weekend with emphasis on forest and fungi photography with Wynyard Camera Club members and friends accompanied by Tasmanian landscape photographer Chris Bell and local Wynyard photographer and Club Patron, Phil O'Neill.
Sixteen people enjoyed a catered camp under canvas in permanent tents with comfy stretcher and mattress, kitchen/dining/communal meeting shelter with wood fire and tremendous views, composting toilet and 'bare all to the bush' bathroom. No swimming pool provided but definitely no time for that!!! No need for fitness centre as plenty on offer with hikes/walks as well as photography, fireside chats, etc. Only two leeches found the whole time. The time away was a great 'bonding' time for our Club. Members pitched in for kitchen duties and shared photography skills. Very friendly and knowledgeable guide/host and guest photographer who spent individual time with all and answered endless questions.
We were given a good understanding of the history of the Tarkine and the current challenges the region faces. Guide/jhost Darvis provided a unique insight into the Tasmanian Devil Program that Tarkine Trails are involved with and we had an opportunity to visit one of the camera installations they maintain and check for pics of devils with facial tumours. Fortunately this disease has not reached the area as yet.
The trip was professionally run and the operators are very safety conscious and respectful of the environment. I am sure a fabulous time, great food and new/closer friendships similarly await any who get involved with Tarkine Trails.

Room Tip: Tents are placed in areas throughout the forest in proximity to facilities but sedparated enough to ensure privacy.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanSomerset_Tasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

It was an unforgettable 4 days. I expected it to be beautiful and amazing, and I wasn't disappointed. Our guide Darvis, the accommodation, the food, and the amenities were all great. What I didn't expect was the emotional response I felt to this amazing landscape, it bought me to tears more than once. How very privileged we are to still have a place like this to visit in this world. It must be protected, whatever it takes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews