We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tarkine - nature at it's purest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tullah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat
Reviewed 18 December 2011

My wife and I are reasonably experienced bush-walkers and yet we had never 'really' visited the Tarkine, it's that remote and isolated. We have seen many absolutely beautiful natural places but nothing will move you as much as the ancient forest of the Tarkine as it allows you to become immersed in it's beauty and brings tears of joy to your eyes. All this and Tarkine Trails staff make it easy to get there, staying in comfortable and stunning surroundings with fine food, wine and company. We thought we knew all about Tasmania and it's wilderness but this is new. It's easily as impressive as Cradle Mountain, from a different perspective, and no one else is in there. The fight to save this area from industry is just starting and Tarkine Trails is designed to get us to engage and join the effort. If you go you WILL NOT be able to walk away without feeling the responsibility we must take to protect one of the most wonderful parts of the world.

Room Tip: No room better than the others. Listen for the Sugar Gliders on there roof.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

"Stand 20 metres off the track here, and you will be standing where no human has ever stood before." - Trevor, our guide

How to describe Tarkine Trails? It is almost impossible to encompass what this small business has to offer by using the normal language of the travel industry. Guided walks? Check. Eco-Retreat? Check. Culinary Experience? Check. They are all these things. However they offer something that there is no word for in the typical tourism jargon. In this way, they are transcendental.

This is not your normal "tourism experience". A Tarkine Trails trip is a life experience.

My two journeys with Tarkine Trails (a Tarkine Getaway and a Tarkine Explorer) have lived up to the mighty claim on their website - "Simply life changing". Tarkine Trails operate in a landscape that demands your attention and challenges your emotions. To the point where life "on the outside" is placed into perspective.

As a travel journalist and someone who has worked in the industry I have a particularly high standard for what I think tourism businesses should offer their guests.

What the TT guides have learned to do is to facilitate this experience so that the landscape becomes accessible to people who thought they could "never do that sort of thing". I found myself in a situation where I felt pampered and well-cared for physically, my body was not being asked to do anything overly challenging. This allowed me to totally immerse myself. To be overwhelmed by nature is to be revitalised.

The great thing about this is that it is done in a way that isn't pious or pretentious. Most of all these trips are FUN. It is all about enjoying good people, good wine, good food in sublime surroundings.

The undercurrent which runs beneath every footstep is that the landscape is threatened. The Twin Threats of mining and forestry hang heavy in the Tarkine air. This is truly a region beyond compare. It is incredibly valuable for its diversity of plant and animal life, it also houses sites of great archeological significance to the Aboriginal history of Australia.

The research that Tarkine Trails are doing with regards to Tasmanian devils in the area is astonishing. The Tarkine is one of the only areas that still remains free of the disease which has ravaged their population.

There are various reasons why the area is not protected but what is very obvious is that TT are not interested in fighting to save the Tarkine in the traditional way. They want to show the area to the world and make it more valuable as a tourist destination that as rocks in the back of a big truck.

And that's the kicker....

Because when you go on a Tarkine Trails trip YOU are making a difference. That is what made my experiences so personally valuable. I felt empowered. I felt like I could do something.

It was the best thing I have done.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karlmathiesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This three day trip into the Tasmanian Tarkine rainforest remains a highlight for me. The walk in to the Retreat was just far enough to feel we really were in the wilds, though not really strenuous. Tiger Ridge is in a breath-takingly beautiful mature myrtle rain forest. The fallen leaves form a scattering of golden drops that almost glow - otherwise the path is marked only by tags. Footsteps are silent, and the dappled light falls on a myriad of ferns, mosses and fungi - a photographer's delight. The accommodation is a perfect blend of up market bush camping and good food, company and excellent input from the guides. There is plenty of shelter with fabulous views. Tarkine Rainforest Retreat is the perfect place to sip a glass of Tasmanian wine after a day of seeing black cockatoos, wild trout and no other humans — simply blissful. We would thoroughly recommend this experience.

Room Tip: This is a standing camp and each site is secluded and comfortable
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jillby55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank BettyZie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarkineTrailsAdmin, Manager at Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tullah
0.0 km away
Corinna Wilderness Experience
0.0 km away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
728 reviews
0.0 km away
Zeehan Bush Camp and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Tullah Lakeside Lodge
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Tullah Tavern
#1 of 1 in Tullah
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat

Address: Boco Road, Tullah, Tasmania 7321, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Tullah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tullah
Price Range: $1,299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarkine Rainforest Retreat gives visitors access to a remote section of the Tarkine rainforest and the opportunity to experience the ancient rainforest from a comfortable base camp. Nestled amongst ancient forests and Eucalypts at Tiger Ridge, the retreat is the first of its kind in the region, and includes large private permanent tents erected amongst the trees, and the new Tarkine Longhouse – the hub for meals and relaxation around the fireplace. Located on the edge of a forested valley, the Tarkine Longhouse features an open design that allows guests to connect to the surrounding forests on three sides, and a cantilevered veranda extending into the lush canopy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarkine Trails - Tarkine Rainforest Retreat Tullah, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing