We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lathkill Cottage

An old style fireplace with replica fire (safe for children)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
An old style fireplace with replica fire (safe for children)
A beautiful Country Cottage built in 1780 in the heart of the Peak District The traditional cottage garden to the front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
An old style fireplace with replica fire (safe for children)
A beautiful Country Cottage built in 1780 in the heart of the Peak District
The traditional cottage garden to the front
A homely lounge area that seats 7 people with Wifi available for all the family
Well equipped kitchen with coffee machine, dishwasher, fridge/freezer and washer/dryer
The dining room with breakfast bar
Dining table that seats 4 people with an amazing view
Modern newly refurbished bathroom (with shower and bath)
Master bedroom with stunning views over the Wye Valley
The twin room with period detail
Lathkill Cottage, Stanton in Peak, Derbyshire
Enjoy the amazing views of Wye Valley and surrounding areas
Outside patio area on back lawn to enjoy your afternoon tea
Lots of natural wildlife to be spotted in the surrounding fields
The Flying Childers Pub, 70 yards from the Cottage in Stanton
The village church
Chatsworth House, just 5 miles from Lathkill Cottage (where the owner also works)
The picturesque town of Bakewell is just 4 miles away
The Nine Ladies Stone Circle is a bronze age moment within walking distance
The stunning Peak District location which is a haven for walkers and cyclists
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stanton in Peak, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kruti S
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a lovely short break at the Lathkill cottage. Ralph greeted us really warmly and made us feel welcome. It is a very clean and cosy cottage. The bed is so comfortable and the town so quiet that I had the best nights sleep! The welcome basket is a really nice touch and I was grateful for some fresh bread and milk. I also really enjoyed a relaxing bath and cosy evening in front of the wood fire effect. There isn't much to do very nearby but the town of Bakewell is 3 miles away - this is where we got our groceries and where we started out walks. If there is one suggestion I would make it is to provide some basic condiments/spices such as oil and ketchup to help with our cooking. But that is only a tiny suggestion in an otherwise great review.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p1nkym0us...
1 review
“Welcoming, comfortable and great value for money”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It was our first time staying in the Peak District and Lathkill Cottage is situated in a lovely village not far from some beautiful places to explore. The owner was very welcoming and a welcome basket was a lovely touch after a long car journey! The cottage is cosy and fully equipped and it was nice to return there after a long day out.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A beautiful cottage in a beautiful village, with fantastic views. We had a lovely few days at this cosy cottage. Owner very welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy & quiet. WIFI, dishwasher, electric shower
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbyH-071...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely time in the Peak District.”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had an amazing time these last few days in this lovely cottage. Upon arrival we saw a lovely welcome basket that made us feel welcome. Everything that one would need was here. The local pub was lovely and friendly - it was nice to be able to go out once in a while to have a pint or two. Also, the view from our garden was absolutely stunning! We felt so good here we did not want to leave. We would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassiane...
North Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Wish I could have stayed longer an amazing experience and beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I can only say great things about my stay at Lathkill Cottage in the Peak District. We were greeted by Ralph who's warmth and knowledge of the area was an added bonus. The accommodation was everything that was promised and more on top. We couldn't have felt more in the countryside and Ralph helped us with visiting Chatsworth House as he works there. The Wifi was so useful for keeping in contact with all my friends and family in Brazil.
I had one of the best nights sleep ever. It was so quiet. We had lunch at the local pub which was 100 meters from the cottage.

All in all a 5 Star holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Meeting Ralph and being made to feel at home straight away
Liked least: I only stayed a short time
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing