We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop to arrange visits to Pandan island and apo reef”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gustav's Place Beach Resort
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Gustavs place is a little out of the way but it is a great spot once you get there.

The beach is beautiful and the sunset stunning.

We arrived late afternoon and the place seemed a little deserted but we were shown our rooms and told what time the buffet dinner would be served. We were the only guests at dinner but the buffet was delicious and fresh.

The bungalows are located right opposite the beach and for the price you pay were adequate if a little bit hot (more powerful fans could be an improvement as we woke a lot in the night)

The only other criticism I would have is that the staff were not overly welcoming or friendly, saying that they were as helpful as they could be when we had questions.

They arranged a boat over to Pandan island for us at a good price the following morning and I believe they also offer diving trips to Apo reef.



Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hannah222222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2016

We end up staying in Gustav for one night as we couldn't t stay on pandan island.
Which was great as pandan was not very welcoming, Gustav s was on the other hand much more welcoming and friendly.
We were welcomed by the owner and his wife, and you can immediately feel they love the Philippines and there resort.

The place is well maintain, done with taste and very clean.

We were 3 people, so we had a room with a double bed and one mattress on the floor, we were given linen and a blanket who were spotless clean and nicely smell of washing power nice to get when you planing on spending the night on a mattress on the floor, the bungalow was facing the ocean with trees and hammock around.

The location is great for a day at the beach with a very very long beach to walk on, an amazing sunset, also a great spot to go to pandan island as it s right opposite the island.

I will definitely recommend this place, it s a great spot at a very low price.
The only down side we found the food and the drinks to be a bit pricy.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfette31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustav G, Manager at Gustav's Place Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much and were very pleased to welcome you. Thank you also for the recommendation. Yes, you are right, we really love the Philippines with all its beauty in the surroundings and we love our resort!
We make big efforts for ours guests and try to make their stay a great one. Our ressort is virtually situated on an island, isolated from the country way and unfortunately has no direct road access, so we have to transport any material on the seaway oder over the river. Often the costs for the transport are twice the costs for the material and therefore we have a significant additional financial outlay. This is why food and drinks seem to be a bit pricy. We appreciate your understanding.

Best regards
Gustav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Unfortunately we spent only 3 days in this fantastic place. The cottages are isolated from everything on the big peopleless beach, is not far from a famous dive spot - the Apo reef. Exept of diving with cheerful instructor, you can walk in a small fishing village nearby with funny kids, following you everyweher and frendly natives, buy some fruites at Sablayan market and spend time evenings in hotel's bar in pleasent company.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kobylkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustav G, Manager at Gustav's Place Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2015

Thanks a lot for your review. We are glad, you enjoyed the diving trip so much. We highly appreciated your stay and would be pleased to welcome you again in our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2015

Gustav's place is located in Sablayan on Mindoro island, separated from the town on one side by a river and on the other side by a 20 minutes walk on a deserted large beach and a hanging bridge. This really good hotel has bungalows facing the ocean and are surrounded by a garden very well maintained. The very clean rooms are very simple but they all have a bathroom and they all have a balcony were you can seat and relax. Nice to sleep in sheets smelling good ! long chairs under shelters are scattered on the beach. The beach is a white-grey sand beach, witness of a past of a volcanic activity but it's as nice as a white sand beach. The sand is smooth and the only reason you have to wear your flip flops it's because it's hot. So called " white sand beaches" in Philippines are not that nice. Everything is great here. You feel like being on an island but at the same time you can go to town whenever you want taking a nice walk on a deserted beach. Did I mentioned that the sunset there is beautiful?
It's a good place to snorkel. A dive center is on site and Gustav organizes 2 day boat trips to Apo reef, (snorkelers are welcome) as well as dives all around. There is plenty of activities on Mindoro, hiking, trecking... if you visit Gustav's place website, you'll find all the information you need.
Gustav and his staff are all very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious thanks to that lovely lady Caroline the cook. Really, it's a great place to settle for a while if you want to explore Mindoro. I positively recommend it. take the opportunity to go there while it's still off the beaten tracks, it's not gonna last !

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustav G, Manager at Gustav's Place Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2015

Thank you very much for your great Review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our resort so much. We would be pleased to welcome you again and shall tell you also many regards from Caroline. Best regards from the whole staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

I stayed here as part of a stopover organised by a Philippines-based cycle touring company with which my group was travelling! The owner, Gustav, is a quirky guy with limited English but his wife Irene speaks perfect English. The staff try hard but are let down by a place that reeks of "faded glory"! The very worst thing about this place were the crap beds.....I hate vinyl-covered mattresses...save them for when I have dementia and am incontinent....don't ever make me sleep on one when I'm on holidays, especially when it's in the steamy tropics....and like most of the places I've seen in the Philippines, the toilets are bad news, as was the shower, which only ran cold water. The food was great though and the staff soon figured out that Australians like their beer chilled to the max. The access to the place can be fun!....if you go out at night and the punt across the river is not running, you have to walk a couple of kilometers along the beach from Sablayan.... Quite pleasant as long as you don't trip over the ropes that secure the fishing boats. Oh, if you're staying in one of the two upstairs rooms in the double-storey bungalows, the stairs are hard work!!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with steep stairs avoid upstairs rooms in bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asturiasparasiempre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustav G, Manager at Gustav's Place Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

Thank you for your good evaluation.
You staid in Gustav’s Place in Sablayan/Occ. Mindoro. Gustav’s place is virtually situated on an island, surrounded by the sea on one side and the river on the other side. We are not a hotel with 5 stars, Gustav’s Place is a simple, clean ressort beneath palms with a wonderful beach according to the circumstances and we are all taking a lot of trouble over our guests well-being. There are many things we have to transport from Manila to us, as they are not available in Sablayan. Sablayan is a little town and not so developed as Boracay, Cebu or other touristic hot spots on the Philippines.
The Philippinian people in Sablayan are in large part very poor and have to work very hard. You have ordered 3 tricycles for your visit to the town with your friends and the drivers were on time and waited for you at the other side of the river, but you refused then to use them despite of ordering them and it was not worth your while to compensate them. We paid them the day after. What do you expect, that this drivers will think about you and strangers, when you pay a lot of money for your trip to the Philippines and then you don’t have a Cent for the drivers of the tricycles?

I don’t speak English as good as Irene, but I am still learning (for us European Australian English is much harder to understand then the British we learn at school, it is usually that we have to get used to it) and that doesn’t mean I am a quirky guy.

Dear guest, your for sure have not been in the steamy tropics, we have an air humidity of 60 till 70% - not steamy tropics. For the mattresses: some people are incontinent or highly sweating or something else: do you think they will pay us a new mattress after their stay? Would you prefer to sleep on a mattress, where before slept someone with incontinency if there wasn’t a protection for the mattress? But we will make efforts and try to change this covers.

The water of the showers has almost body temperature, it is about 30 degrees. As it is very warm the whole day, would you really like to have a hotter shower? You could have also booked a room with warm water, just had to tell us. But you didn’t tell us anything. It is very easy afterwards to talk everything down. Why weren’t you able to talk to us and tell us before, we were there for you.

And as mentioned you don’t have to walk 20 minutes at night under the starry sky along the beach from Sablayan to us – for little money you can take a tricycle to Dulo Malungay and take then the boat to us.

In the house are 2 rooms on the first floor with a great view to the sea and the palms. This rooms can be reached via concrete stairs, of course to climb them after a longer visit to a bar in the night can be fun, we don’t have a lift to this rooms.

We wish you many great holidays in future, maybe hotels with 4 or 5 stars would be better for you, or you try the steamy tropic.
Thank you and god bless you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gustav's Place Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gustav's Place Beach Resort

Address: Dulo Malungay Street | Sto. Nino, Sablayan, Mindoro 5104, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Occidental Mindoro Province > Sablayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sablayan
Price Range: $18 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special resort with dive shop and training center for CMAS diving courses in Sablayan, far away from the beaten tourist tracks. And a lot of kilometers long, lonely, beautiful silver palm beach. The Majority of the premises is covered by palms and other exotic plants, and there is a view of the sea from almost anywhere. Embedded in this scenery, you will be Accommodated amongst the palms in clean, good-quality and comfortable bungalows or rooms with a shower and WC situated Directly on the deserted, endlessly long beach. We offer exploring inland, as well as many sporting activities on land and water on. A highlight is a dive trip to the world famous Apo Reef or dive safaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Gustav's Place Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing