We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmoshpere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gustav's Place Beach Resort
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Gustav and Irene, the owners are very accommodating and friendly! Their staff are very helpful and attentive. The rooms were small ( approx 12sq.m.) yet clean and affordable (we paid P 800.00 for a fan only bungalow with patio). It has a relaxing atmosphere. They offer good buffet at P 400.00. Gustav and Irene were hands on about fixing our diving trip at Apo Reef. They have a cozy restaurants where the guests gather every night to eat and drink and talk. Gustav's is the best place to stay at Sablayan aside from Pandan Island resort which is always fully booked.

Room Tip: If Pandayan Island Resort is fully booked, This is the best place to stay at!
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonathan Alfie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Gustav's Place Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2015

I just spent 5 days at Gustav's Place Beach resort and I loved it. The place consists of several cottages spread over a large area along a beautiful beach. It is close to town but you have to cross a small river (with a boat provided by the resort) to reach the place so it is quiet and isolated, and at the same time conveniently located near the town. The beach is made of very fine black sand, and you can walk for several kilometers on it without seeing anybody or any construction. Sunsets are gorgeous.

Our aircon room was comfortable, with large windows and a great terrace. The bathroom is basic but functional. The food is local Filipino food and is very good by Philippine provincial standards. There is no menu, you just eat what they cook for the day. Dinner is usually buffet style. The dining area is nice and pleasant. (If you want to eat in town for a change, I recommend Camalig Restaurant behind Card Bank).

Service was good and friendly, and management very accommodating with all our requests (such as breakfast at 4:30am). They arranged for a boat trip to Apo Reef and we had a good boat with a nice and competent crew.

Since nothing is perfect, I have to mention two things I didn't like: there was no brewed coffee (instant coffee is NOT coffee!); and the wifi was weak and erratic.

In any case, I would highly recommend Gustav's Place as a base in Sablayan for diving, snorkeling, birdwatching, hiking, or any other nature activity the area.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ChristianManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

Very nice and cheap hostel. Stayed there for 4 nights. Highly recommended for divers who wants to dive in apo reef. Amazing sunset view and very nice black sand beach. The owner is very accomodating and very kind hands on in everything.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank MAP S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Nice place, very quiet, and very kind people.
From there, they can organize diving trip to Apo Reef. It was one of the most beautiful dives in my life.
I just spent a couple of days there. It was a peaceful experience.
Thank you again Gustav and Irene!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at Gustav's for 4 nights in June 2014. We spent the first night in a beachfront bungalow, unfortunately a heavy rainstorm came up the next day and Irene asked us to move in one of the aircon rooms without extra charge. As the rain wouldn't stop we stayed at the aircon room for the rest of our stay.
Because of low season the chef was on holiday in her hometown which didn't pose any problem because the manager Irene cooked some delicious meals for us everyday.
Because of the weather we weren't able to dive Apo reef, so we have to come back to Mindoro occidental one day and Gustav's Place will definately be our resort of choice again then!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Antonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustav G, Inhaber at Gustav's Place Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for the very good rating.

We look forward to your coming again.

best regards

Gustav & Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gustav's Place Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gustav's Place Beach Resort

Address: Dulo Malungay Street | Sto. Nino, Sablayan, Mindoro 5104, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Occidental Mindoro Province > Sablayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sablayan
Price Range: $18 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special resort with dive shop and training center for CMAS diving courses in Sablayan, far away from the beaten tourist tracks. And a lot of kilometers long, lonely, beautiful silver palm beach. The Majority of the premises is covered by palms and other exotic plants, and there is a view of the sea from almost anywhere. Embedded in this scenery, you will be Accommodated amongst the palms in clean, good-quality and comfortable bungalows or rooms with a shower and WC situated Directly on the deserted, endlessly long beach. We offer exploring inland, as well as many sporting activities on land and water on. A highlight is a dive trip to the world famous Apo Reef or dive safaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Gustav's Place Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing