We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing resort and beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing resort and beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My family & I (7 adults and 2 babies) recently visited this property and turned out that our timing was terrible and we got alot of rain which forced us to spend alot of time in the hotel itself. We'd chosen two suites to accomodate for the babies and their things and this was perfect because we had alot of common space.
The rooms are decorated in a very charming oldish manner. Most hotels in Maui arent too modern.
Bed was uber comfortable. Bathrooms were spacious and had rooms has tons of storage space.
The food in the entire hotel must get a special mention because it was fabulous!!!
From the french fries to the fine dining restaurant to the butler service by the pool and lobby bar. Everything was yummy!!
The chef at the Banyan Tree (fine dining) place prepared things for us that werent on the menu because some of us ate vegetarian food only!

Beach: their hotel beach was rated as the world's number 1 beach in 2009 and we were very happy with it. mu husband was looking to enjoy some of the higher and rougher waves that hawaii is known for and we got just that!
if you drive towards lahaina and wailea, is where you will find the calmer waters. so it just depends what you are looking for.
the sea bed is super clean and its a pleasure to walk into the water without worrying about a rocky sea bed or plants and stuff.

Poolside: the pool is very spread out and even though the hotel was full you never found it difficult to find sunbed's. they also rent cabana's at an extra cost which we got every day because of the babies and the rains! the service staff here are also very friendly.

Downside: the hotel cleaning staff was very very very irresponsible with their cleaning. we used the utensils and kitchen extensively because of the babies and they did a horrible job of cleaning up. things in the dishwasher still had food in it. they didn't even fold clothes that may have been thrown on the ground. ive travelled to 5-stars worldwide and never saw such a bad cleaning etiquette. my sister in law had left a glass of wine in her bathroom while getting dressed one night, and they didnt pick it up the next day while cleaning and only did after they were told to remove it!!!!!!!

Room Tip: ensure you pick a room that looks over the inside of the property. we had one of each and enjoyed th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,033
    620
    283
    135
    85
See reviews for
742
1,501
47
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at the Ritz on Maui for 3 nights in mid March and have only positive things to say about the resort. We loved it!! I have stayed at Ritz Carltons before and none were as peaceful and pleasant as this. My fiance and I actually went to look at the venue for a potential destination wedding for next year, so I will talk a little about the wedding venues but for the most part we just enjoyed our stay as guests.

The hotel is impeccably clean and well kept. Everywhere you go the staff greets you in a friendly and genuine way. No one had a bad attitude or negative thing to say. By the pool, the wait staff was very attentive and friendly but would also leave you alone. The gym is large and modern as is the spa (they have outdoor jacuzzi's and treatment areas unique to Hawaii). Overall the best part about this place is how big the property is. We went to visit a Four Seasons and a Fairmont while on the island and each of those hotels, despite not being at capacity or busy, felt very crowded whereas the Ritz felt very open. This makes a huge difference to people looking to relax - if you feel like you're two feet away from the next person at all times it kills the mood.

There were kids at the resort for spring break but honestly they were some of the most well behaved kids I've ever encountered. The clientele in general was great. I think the guests tend to be more quiet as Kapalua is a quieter, more secluded part of Maui. We did not encounter any obnoxious spring breaker groups which was nice. I sat by the adults only pool. A family of 3 came into the pool area and their 3 year old daughter was squealing and yelling. The adults laying around the pool seemed visibly annoyed but no one said anything. After about 5 minutes the parents realized it was adult's only (as there are signs all over the place) and immediately got up and moved to the kids pool. The adults only pool doesn't have a shallow end so kids can't stand in it. I've read reviews that kids use the adults only pool - the staff was keeping a close watch on the situation and I'm sure they would have asked this family to move had they stayed and bothered the other guests. Adults only refers to 14 and up.

At the same time, the resort, despite being expensive, seemed very kid friendly. They have a playground, two kid friendly pools, kids activities, and LOTS of space for kids to run around. All of the restaurants had kid friendly foods like grilled cheese and hot dogs.

We did go down to the beach a couple of times - the walk is about 5 minutes. If you're disabled, they provide golf carts. The walk back is up hill but not difficult for someone with working legs :) The beach was great - all beaches in Hawaii must have public access, but Kapalua is so secluded that it was probably 85% hotel guests and so it was not crowded. We ate at the Beach House for lunch one day and it was good, nothing spectacular. They do make very strong drinks down there - which is nice when you're paying $12 for the mai tai. Our dinner one night at The Banyan Tree was outstanding! My fiance had the halibut and it was delicious! I am vegetarian and they were able to customize one of the dishes for me. They did a wine pairing with Sonoma's En Route and Napa's Far Niente wines. Their wine list in general is impressive. Our waiter was hilarious and so nice. They really make a huge effort there to make you feel welcome. You do need a reservation at the Banyan Tree, even if the resort isn't full.

We ate the breakfast buffet on Sunday morning - it was admittedly not as great as other Ritz Carlton's brunches we'd been to but it had all of the basics of a good breakfast including the omelet bar, pancakes, etc. You can do the buffet for around $30 or a la carte. I also recommend a reservation there which you can book on open table.

We stayed in an ocean front suite (one bedroom, two bath) on the second floor. Breathtaking! We spent hours on the balcony relaxing just watching and listening to the ocean. Our bedroom door did not face the ocean but rather the golf course so we could not hear the sounds of the ocean at night but we still slept with the doors open every night nonetheless enjoying the breeze. We had zero issues with noise and no issues with our room, everything was perfect. The rooms come with mini fridges so we stocked up on some essentials at the Whole Foods near the airport before driving in. We parked at the hotel (self parking is $10/day) with our rental car.

Two of the three nights we ate outside of the hotel, once in downtown Lahaina and once in Kaanapali at the Maui Brewing Co (for St. Patrick's Day). The drive to Lahaina is about 20 minutes each way yet it's just one road and not complicated. We did designated driving but I'm sure you can take cabs, albeit pricey. Downtown Lahaina is cute but obviously touristy. We prefer serenity over action. However, if being near bars and lots of restaurants is your preference, the Ritz is pretty far from those options. The Maui Brewing Co was inexpensive and about a 10 minute's drive. They do pizza and burgers and also have a full bar.

The Ritz lobby bar stays open until midnight or until the last patron leaves. There's also a sushi bar in the lobby which we'd heard was fantastic but didn't get a chance to try. Hawaii in general shuts down pretty early, so don't expect any hotel bar or restaurant to stay busy past 9 pm.

From a wedding venue perspective, the events coordinator Maria was amazing. She was the most professional, kind, and accommodating events coordinator we've met with so far. She showed us the indoor spaces which were both fantastic as well as the two outdoor ceremony locations and Beach House Lawn for outdoor receptions. Both the outdoor ceremony locations had amazing views. The Napili lawn (the most popular with incredible views of the ocean) had much more wind than the Beach House Lawn which also had panoramic views of the ocean. One of the things we liked most about the Ritz was how private your wedding would be. The Beach House Lawn is a walk from the main hotel and is off in a secluded area where guests cannot gawk or watch your wedding. There's also a clear delineation of space between your private event and the rest of the resort and the staff works hard to keep that separated. Every night that we were there a private event was going on at the Beach House Lawn (including a Sat night wedding!) and no guests were allowed in the space after around 3 pm. We did not get this same experience at the Four Seasons or Fairmont where your ceremony and reception are so close to the guest rooms and pools that all of the hotel guests can see your private event. It also felt very crowded and forced at the Four Seasons where the best reception area is literally below the adults only pool (which was packed!). The pricing and menus were nearly identical among the three resorts (packages typically start around $6500 and go up from there). You can see tons of photos of weddings at the various locations by just googling "Ritz Carlton kapalua wedding" or "four seasons maui wedding" if you want to compare.

The Beach House Lawn at the Ritz is the best location for an outdoor reception and has a row of trees on one side which blocks most of the wind. We went and stood out there around noon and again at night. Despite being very windy on the beach, the lawn itself had almost no wind! The lawn can comfortably host a large wedding seated but can also be used for a small under 50 person wedding. The wind was strongest in the early afternoon and then died down around sunset then picked back up again around 9 pm. The curfew for outdoor receptions is 10 pm, there is no curfew for the ballroom (a lot of people move their party from the lawn indoors at 10 pm to keep the party going).

That brings me to the wind. It really bothers me that people would take away stars from this hotel in their rating because of weather. How ridiculous. We LOVED the wind. We are from northern California and generally used to cold(er) weather. We actually had 3 very windy days while we were there (they say the wind is the worse dec - march) and still loved it. We had no rain. I sat by the pool for several hours and did not sweat ONCE. The breeze is necessary when it's 85 degrees out and you're sitting in the sun. You can also get a cabana which blocks the wind, but I think you need the wind! I was able to read magazines and a book without anything blowing away. We went down to the Four Seasons and the Fairmont to look at wedding venues and within 10 minutes out in the sun we were sweating. There was almost no wind in Wailea even though it was very windy up in Kapalua. If an ocean breeze really bothers you, don't stay at the Ritz. However, if you're used to a breeze or temperatures in the 70's you will be so thankful when the wind picks up. On our first night it was fairly windy but I just wore a thin sweater and was fine. For brides - you may want to tell the super sensitive guest to bring a shawl, but for the most part it won't matter if you're using the Beach House Lawn or the indoor spaces. I would not let the wind deter you from staying at this hotel or having a wedding here if you appreciate an ocean breeze.

Finally I want to bring up the cost. Look, it's a Ritz Carlton. If you are struggling with money, don't have a lot of money, are worried about money, don't like to spend money, can't afford to stay at a Ritz, or are generally grumpy about spending money on vacations, DON'T STAY AT A RITZ CARLTON. I realize that only a tiny very lucky percentage of the population can stay there, but it's the truth. Everything is expensive, not just the rooms. The food, the drinks, the resort "fees," the sunblock in the hotel gift shop. If you can't afford to pay for it, just do yourself a favor and don't stay there.

If you do have the means and don't mind spending money on your vacations, I would strongly recommend the Ritz Carlton Kapalua. It is romantic, peaceful, pleasant, and unforgettable. We are definitely going back, even if we don't end up having our wedding there. My brother and his wife refer to it as their "favorite place on the planet." I agree!

Room Tip: The ocean front suites are incredible (but pricey)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, and it was a pleasant experience.

We were greeted with leis and refreshments upon arrival, and shown to our Deluxe Room which was elegant, yet a bit uninspired. While the rooms lacked charm, the hotel's secluded location (note Kapalua is significantly windier than other areas onn Maui), service, stunning views of the ocean, and layout of the pool and grounds more than made up for it, and made our stay a worthwhile one.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotter1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

You could not expect less from a Ritz. It is quite expensive at about 800$/night but well worth it. Magnificent views. Great rooms. Great service. Nice common areas. Very nice kids club (educative). Great concierge service. Average Spa. Kapalua is much nicer than Wailea and more private. If you want to be at a place with more "action" then go to the four seasons in wilea. If you want to relax, this is the place. I would most defenitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shishito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbybolly
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Everything is good at the hotel except the location... We were there mid march .. The weather was raining and cloudy for over 10 days.. One needs to know that 10 miles away in lahaina .. Weather was perfect... Kapalua is at an elevation.. Causing it to be very windy and cloudy with rain... Lahaina is protected by mountains and much better weather...

Nothing against the hotel.. But someone picked the wrong place to build it

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bobbybolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
1.1 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
42.6 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
42.0 km away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.8 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
41.7 km away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
10.1 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price range (per night): $780 - $1,635
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Otel, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia APAC, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Ritz Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing