We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our little piece of heaven....”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mandalay

Mandalay viewed from pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mandalay viewed from pool
Front aspect of Mandalay Swimming pool, overlooking one of the cabanas and paddy fields below
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Mandalay viewed from pool
Front aspect of Mandalay
Swimming pool, overlooking one of the cabanas and paddy fields below
Second cabana
Garden and treehouse
Mandalay's beautifully manicured grounds
Pool cabana and sun loungers
Mandalay illuminated at dusk
Master bedroom
Overlooking second cabana from master bedroom balcony
Second bedroom
Third bedroom
Dining room
Fresh local fruit breakfast, prepared by your chef
Mandalay's team of staff and its fleet of vehicles
Picking our own tea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Darga Town, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ali955
Saudi Arabia
1 review
“Our little piece of heaven....”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our visit to Mandalay was exceptional and one of the best holidays we have taken with our young children. The villa was perfect for our needs, was comfortable and clean and was in the most beautiful of settings. The staff were more than that and became our friends who shared conversation and laughs and even a game of cricket!
Mandalay offers you the best of both worlds - you can relax by the pool or go out and visit temples, elephants, tea plantations , the beach - the list is endless. We will be back for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
I am so pleased that you all had such a fantastic holiday, thank you very much for your wonderful review and we welcome you all back to Mandalay with pleasure
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sogalo1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Henderson”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Our holiday was organised by Sudu and his daughter Lakeesha who were both brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we were taken to lots of wonderful places off the beaten track. I could not recommend them enough, the whole family welcomed us and invited us to share in all their celebrations.
We did not stay at Mandalay but stayed in the Elephant house nearby. Although, Sudu did organise for us to visit and have dinner at Mandalay with the family staying there. Both houses have lovely gardens and large pools. Mandalay has a beautiful outlook and is nicer than the elephant house which is reflected in my ratings. However, our house was near to the local temple and Lakeesha guided us around the temple introducing us to the temple elephant and explaining the workings of the temple to us. We fed this gorgeous elephant and also got to wash her so we would definitely recommend a morning walk/drive to the temple to try and catch this lovely experience. There were so many highlights to our holiday from releasing baby turtles, to seeing blue whales and watching sunsets on the beach, all of which were made all the more enjoyable by Sudu. He took care of everything from booking to transport, allowing us all to relax and just enjoy these wonderful experiences in this beautiful country. The sea temperature and the pool are like getting into a warm bath, even at midnight on New Years Eve the water was beautifully warm and a great setting to enjoy the fireworks. Our driver Alvis was a true gentleman and Sudu treated us like family.

Can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and having travelled round the Island we were very pleased that we chose to stay in Aluthgama/ Bentota as the sand on the beech was superior to the beeches further south.
Liked least: The beach
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CollinsFa...
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our family holiday of a lifetime made even more perfect!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There are not enough words to describe how wonderful our whole stay at Mandalay was! Our group of 6 (3 adults and 3 young children) were treated like royalty from start to finish, with Sudu and his staff doing everything possible to make our stay with them as relaxing as possible. 5* is not enough for this villa and certainly not high enough for the staff! From body boarding on Bentota beach, to a visit to the local fish market. Shopping in the local Monday market to river boat trips in the Mangroves.....so much variety to be as busy or relaxed as you wish. My family and I have made some true friends whilst in this beautiful country, especially at Mandalay and will be doing our upmost to book again as quickly as possible. Thank you Sudu for making our stay so special, you are a true gentlemen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff - unbeateable!
Liked least: The wifi is a little slow, but it is sufficient to maintain a link to home.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Thank you all for your wonderful review. It is so nice to know that we are doing it right. I know it is so important to all at Mandalay that you have the best holiday ever.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola_C...
Wilmslow, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Faultless, just wonderful”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Mandalay Villa over the Christmas period as a group of three adults and three children for our first visit to Sri Lanka.
I cannot say enough nice things about our stay. From the second we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel welcome, comfortable and very well looked after by Sudu and his team. Every positive comment you read on these reviews is accurate; whether it be about the stunning peaceful location; the lovingly cared for, spotless house; the delicious authentic freshly prepared food; or the incredible host Sudu, they are all just perfect, in fact, beyond perfection.
On returning to Sri Lanka in the future I can safely say I would not wish to stay anywhere else.
Our stay at Madalay reflected everything that is beautiful about Sri Lanka as a country and Sudu and the team reflect everything that is warm, welcoming, friendly and hospitable about the Sri Lankan people. Thank you for some amazing memories to be cherished forever.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
This is just wonderful. THANK YOU
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
njc1978
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Mandalay is a beautiful property situated on a small hill with a stunning view overlooking paddy fields, a river, marshland and jungle beyond on the edge of Dharga town. The house itself is lovely, and is very well maintained and furnished. It has a super range of TV channels, especially if you're a sports fan worried about missing their Sky Sports.
The gardens of the property are beautifully appointed, with an amazing display of flowers including hibiscus, orchids, jasmine, frangipani and numerous others I'm not familiar with, all surrounded by mango and coconut trees, attracting humming-birds, chipmunks, butterflies, fire-flies - a true tropical paradise! We also saw parrots, monkeys, monitors, chameleons and kingfishers. The pool at Mandalay was perfect for us and our 4 and 5 year old boys, having a separate shallow pool and shallow and deep end in main pool - where we were able to teach our 5 year old how to dive! The water was a lovely warm temperature despite not being artificially heated!
We absolutely loved this house, its setting and environment, and the abundant wildlife, however, what made this holiday amazing was how we were looked after by Sudu and his team! Sudu was there waiting for us on arrival at the airport to take us to Mandalay, and was always on hand, but also took time to visit us every morning to discuss our needs or trips for the day and week ahead. Sudu allowed us to get an insight into the Sri Lankan and Buddhist culture that would have been impossible as a normal tourist during a 2 week holiday! Sudu went out of his way to ensure we had a good holiday and was so warm and welcoming- a great guy with a lovely family, who made us feel like good friends rather than tourists!
The service we received during our stay at the house was way beyond expectations. We were met on arrival by Chataranga (sorry for spelling?) and Sanjay (?) with glasses of fresh juice for all. Chataranga is the 'house boy' and is such a nice guy, appearing at the crack of dawn to clean the pool then at meal times to serve and clean up, before cleaning bedrooms if desired. Sanjay is the genius cook who made us fat in 2 weeks. lol. We actually ate vegetarian for a good portion of our stay as his veggie dishes were so good we didn't miss meat at all - again a lovely guy! I should mention that the gardens are also kept in immaculate condition due to the efforts of the husband and wife gardeners who will have the gardening done and garden looking perfect before you get out of bed in the morning!
Before I finish the review I should mention Kim, the owner of Mandalay, who is a pleasure to deal with. I found her to be so helpful, offering advice, options and guidance with regards to our stay and potential trips.
Mandalay is the most perfect and complete holiday villa package that I have encountered, and I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone wanting to experience Sri Lanka. Thank-you Kim, Sudu, Lakeesha, Chataranga and Sanjay!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. I know everyone always tries to make your holiday special and when we know we have succeeded it makes us all very happy.
From Kim, Sudu and the Mandalay team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing