We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location and Home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mandalay

Mandalay viewed from pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mandalay viewed from pool
Front aspect of Mandalay Swimming pool, overlooking one of the cabanas and paddy fields below
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Mandalay viewed from pool
Front aspect of Mandalay
Swimming pool, overlooking one of the cabanas and paddy fields below
Second cabana
Garden and treehouse
Mandalay's beautifully manicured grounds
Pool cabana and sun loungers
Mandalay illuminated at dusk
Master bedroom
Overlooking second cabana from master bedroom balcony
Second bedroom
Third bedroom
Fresh local fruit breakfast, prepared by your chef
Mandalay's team of staff and its fleet of vehicles
Picking our own tea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Darga Town, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stuart P
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and Home away from home”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Mandalay is beautiful and the staff there make sure that you'll have a memorable stay. We stayed there as a family including a 17 year old daughter and 10 year old boy. All of us had something to do there and we all had an amazing two weeks.
Kim the owner is very helpful with replying to emails very promptly and Sudu the building/holiday manager is excellent at answering all your questions and helping out where ever he can.
We went on a few trips while we were there and again, Sudu or Alvis were always on hand to take us were we wanted to go even if it meant an overnight stay somewhere. The fact the property comes with a driver, cook and gardener means you can sit back and relax and have nothing to worry about. It means you can go shopping for whatever you want to eat and tell the chef and it's all sorted for you. You'll never feel hungry when you stay here!
it is definitely a destination that we would stay at again, this time exploring more of beautiful Sri Lanka.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The best staff ever and the location
Liked least: Solar showers on cloudy days
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6416942
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HEAVEN ON EARTH! LITERALLY!!!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I have just returned from a family holiday to Mandalay in Sri Lanka - Dharga down with my family for my Dad's 60th Birthday. I saw photograph's online beforehand but I was well and truly amazed when I arrived as were the rest of my family!

When we arrived at the airport we were greeted by the manager of Mandalay in a 4x4 and another vehicle to take us all back to Mandalay.

When we arrived we were greeted with the young man who took care of the property while we were there. He greeted us in traditional wear and fresh fruit juice, and upon arrival we were absolutely stunned by the location, the staff, the treatment!!! The list is endless. Immediately, we all felt like royalty !!!!!!!

Life in Mandalay got better as days went on! The staff were so attentive and could not do enough for us. It was immaculate at all times (despite the mess that WE made)! Every morning we were greeted with fresh fruit, fresh juice, a newly cleaned swimming pool, and a full course breakfast - and this was EVERY DAY! Dinner was served on a beautifully laid table every single night and the table was set up in different locations within Mandalay each night! As a family - we all felt like we were on one big honeymoon together and ended up calling ourselves "The Honeymoon Family"!

THE FOOD WAS FANTASTIC! Before going away we wondered if there were local restaurants or places to go. We didn't need to go anywhere! We arranged a few excursions but other than that we didn't need to eat anywhere else! The chef made about 6 different dishes every day. Most of my family are vegetarian so we were a little worried that we would be living on fruit for two weeks but I cannot even begin to explain all the variety of food that was available to us. And if we felt like eating anything in particular, it was no trouble for the staff to arrange and nothing was too much to ask!

Every day the young man who maintained the property cleaned our rooms, asked us when we wanted to eat and drink, went out to buy anything we needed! It was TRULY fantastic.

The staff did so much for us that we ended up cooking for them one night and enjoyed one big party together ! Kim and Tracey have a brilliant team in Sri Lanka and I could not recommend this place as a holiday much more than this - I have no words to explain how amazing it was and think anyone who reads this should not think twice!!! BOOK IT AND GET YOURSELF OVER THERE!!!!!!!!! YOU WILL NEVER FORGET THIS.

MANDALAY IS PARADISE - THE PEOPLE ARE AMAZING - THE HOUSE IS AMAZING - THE STAFF ARE AMAZING AND THE PRICES ARE MORE THAN REASONABLE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THANK YOU KIM AND TRACEY!!!!!!!! MANDALAY IS THE BEST PLACE I HAVE EVER BEEN AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! XXXXX

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linepress
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“wonderful stay at Mandalay”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Thank you so much for a wonderful start of our 3 weeks around trip in sri lanka. We stayed at Mandalay House for one week in the beginning of feb 2014. The house have pleanty of room for our family of to adutls and tre kids.
The house is set peacefully at a hilltop overlooking the very buitiful and green landscape.
And best of all is the fabulous team in the house, making the house feel as a home for us. We surely miss Katuranga and his smile and how he learned us a lot about Sri lanka, and our driver Alwis who was an excelente driver and tourguide, they took very much care of us all - thank you very much!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatjusaOP
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, amazing, unforgettable. We are grateful for this experience!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It's difficult to find the right words that would describe how amazing our stay at Sri Lanka was. But if we try:
- the house in Mandalay is amazing - clean (you don't have to do anything - it's like in a luxury hotel), big, bright and it has everthing we are used to having at home
- the scenery, the pool, garden...are incredibly relaxing, green, peaceful
- our 5-day trip around Sri Lanka was so well organized, educating, exciting. All the hotels were smartly chosen by people who know Sri Lanka the most. If you would like to travel around the island be smart and ask them if they can help you.
- We loved the closest beach the most - aren't we lucky? It's not far at all - and the driver is always available.
- the food: of course we gained a lot of weight, because we just couldn't resist trying everithing our amazing cook has prepared for us and our picky children.
- driver was wery reliable and safe, just as a driver should be
- Sudu was born to make people happy - with his smile, responsibility, hospitality and warmth. Many thanx to his family and well-chosen workers, who helped us understand life in Sri Lanka
- and finally - Kim is extremely helpful with her answers, when you book the place. Thank you Kim, Sudu and the rest of the team! You made us feel special.

Best holidays ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality.
Liked least: That we had to go back home.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iremalam
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“most memorable place and hospitality!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

First of al before I even got there making Arrangements with kim via email was excellent!!! She replied in a very timely manner. Very prompt and helpful. I mentioned ed go her what I would be interested to see which was a lot , obviously could not do all in a week stay. So she was kind enough to make the plan for me and also to enjoy her beautiful homely bungalow.
Everything went very smoothly as planned Drom picking up at the airport to dropping at the end of the week.
The house is beautifully located on a hill so the views are great!!! The staff unbelievable!!!! Words cannot describe e how amazing they were. From the Cook,houseboy to our tour guide. The bungalow and srilanka were great but they made it extra extra special. Never met such an amazing tour guide sodu.
Would definitely recommend this place. Please do take mosquitoes repellants:) the cook is also great, he will show u how he cooks if you are interested to watch him:))) kim was right in order to enjoy the house I needed more than a week....

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location and the people!!!
Liked least: my short visit
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing