We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Raumati Sands Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor service and not recommended”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The lady the greeted us at reception was ill tempered and very rude. Not what you would expect from a 4.5 star resort. Some other people that were staying there as well made the same comments so it was not just us. Also a wedding party was staying there and the manager ended up arguing with both the brides mother and the main wedding party which considering this is meant to be the happiest days of theirs life it just turned into a major fiasco, This is an incredibly bad experience and considering the cost to stay there an absolute joke. Maybe if they get rid of the people managing the business it would be a different story. If you do a search around you will find a host of complaints about this resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    40
    14
    10
    6
See reviews for
49
36
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We booked this as something special for Xmas and were disappointed. The studio room was fine but had no laundry facilities and no dining table. The wi-fi didn't work which was upsetting as we wished to contact home at this time of year. You could hear loads of noise from neighbouring appartments which kept us awake after midnight, and sometimes later. We've stayed in far better places since in NZ for less

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DawnWalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We booked on-line for an 9 day stay in June 11 so we could visit family who live Paraparaumu. We arrived from the UK late due to the Ausie unions not wanting to fly and were saved by NZ Airlines . Right from the beginning we were made very welcome and the next day we met Tom and Heather who made us more welcome.
The room we had was on the front, which we preferred , could even see the sea from the bedroom. It was very spacious, clean and had everything we wanted for an extended stay,
We made full use of the dining area,lounge and washing/drying facilities . We loved the walk in shower and good sized bathroom. As it was winter and in training we made full use of the lane swimming at the swimming baths on the beach 200yds away. Our relations are going to stay shortly and we will be back on our next visit to NZ.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gra l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Beautifully appointed apartment-style units, great kitchens and lots of space. Near the gorgeous beach,and has its own lovely pool and spa in a lovely garden setting.

But the main difference is the personal service - as a semi-regular guest it is so nice to be remembered and greeted. This makes you feel so welcome and valued.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marywgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My partner and I (who lived locally) decided to have a last minute Sunday night stay.
The pool was great, nice and big and the spa was lovely to relax in after a swim :)
I found the service to be great. The tv was a little old, but the rest of the apartment was really modern and the king bed was great!!! Would stay again

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_in_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raumati Beach
4.8 km away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#2 of 7 in Paraparaumu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.9 km away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.6 km away
Asure Kapiti Court Motel
Asure Kapiti Court Motel
#5 of 7 in Paraparaumu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Kapiti Lindale Motel & Conference Centre
2.4 km away
Ocean Motel
Ocean Motel
#3 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
8.8 km away
Kapiti Gateway Motel
Kapiti Gateway Motel
#1 of 2 in Waikanae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raumati Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raumati Sands Resort

Property: Raumati Sands Resort
Address: 4 - 8 Matatua Rd, Raumati Beach 5255, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Raumati Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Raumati Beach
Price range (per night): $154 - $197
Hotel Class:4 star — Raumati Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 large and modern two bedroom apartments. Bedrooms and bathroom upstairs. Spa bath with shower or double shower apartments. Fully self contained with own washing machine, dryer and dishwasher. Large living area opening onto own private deck. Heated swimming pool, hot tub and BBQ facility. 100 mtrs to beach and boutique village shops. Selection of restaurants and cafes in village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Raumati Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing