We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastically relaxing home from home.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Flookburgh, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Celia S
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastically relaxing home from home.”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Superbly equipped property, (from the kitchen and laundry room, to the dvd and games drawers) that made our holiday just perfect. The owners have thought carefully about what their guests may want or need. They have also added some lovely touches that make the property really homely. Willow Barn is ideally positioned for travelling around the Lake District, either by car or by train, as the station is just a short walk away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atmosphere and presentation
Liked least: Intermittent wi-fi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this thoroughly lovely review with us all, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your stay at Willow Barn. It is wonderful to hear that everything you could have needed was to hand there, we will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owners! We certainly hope you return for another holiday again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzt
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous barn”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a truly gorgeous barn conversion. We were a family of 5 covering 3 generations from age 6 to age 82 and it had everything we needed. Decorated to a really high standard, and a great base to holiday round the lakes from. The only thing that could be added to make this 5 star would be the addition of wifi in the house, even if it's charged for. There is no phone coverage on 4 of the main networks, which made it very difficult to either research places to go, or check in on the dreaded work emails when necessary. Blinds would also be a bonus in the master bedroom, especially in the spring sunshine, but these are really minor niggles in a truly beautiful and well equipped house. The nearby safari park for kids was excellent, and access to other lake attractions is an easy drive. We would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly J
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beatifully appointed home with all the elements to provide a perfect holiday.”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Wereally enjoyed our stay. We holidayed with our daughters, son in law and grandson. The house is very well furnished and the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. The house deserved five stars and the house was all we needed in October. I gave it four because the outside area is only a courtyard at the rear and an area at the front with a sitting area no garden. Parking is limited to one car. I would most definatly stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: no garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferR...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stunning cottage”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the willow barn cottage. The cottage it's self is a beautiful barn conversion. It's comfortably furnished to a high standard. We often stay in cottages and over the years have accumulated a "kit" of stuff that has been missing or of not a high enough standard, this time we could have lived without our kit! The kitchen was equipped with everything you need and it was all of good quality. The gardens are small but lovely. Parking can be tricky if all the neighbours have parked, but street parking is very close by and quite convenient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
912freyab
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Lovely house with an amazing big kitchen and bath. In a nice quiet area, a perfect getaway, lots of things to do including a great day at the zoo :) would have been nice to have some information about the house such as what to do with the bins and how to work the heating and kitchen appliances. Would love to return, wish we could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing