We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and Atmosphere”

Bustopher Jones Wine Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 192 Restaurants in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: More a dining experience than a restaurant. A beautiful menu of modern British cuisine with a European influence. Bustopher Jones also offers an extensive wine list to compliment the food with a unique selection of cocktails.
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We attended Bustophers for a leaving meal for 13 people. The communication beforehand was efficient and meals were pre-ordered by name so no confusion. Food was amazing! Atmosphere was lovely and the host made sure that nothing was too much trouble. We also took a cake for the lady that was leaving and the restaurant took care of this for us.
Would definitely go back with friends again.
Loved it!
Thank you
Kath x

Thank Kath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Head chef at Bustopher Jones Wine Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Than ks for your kind words Kath,

Always great to have pre-orders by names, makes everyone's life easier.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, and were well looked after, it was a very busy night for us in the main restaurant so glad that we still kept our standards for your party upstairs.

The singing of happy Birthday when Ashley brought the cake in nearly unsettled him in to song, but he just managed to resist.

Hope to see you all again, you were a great crowd

All the best,

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2018

Intrigued by the name we went for dinner and found an unusual and interesting menu and friendly, efficient service. Would go again

Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Head Chef at Bustopher Jones Wine Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

The name has been around for many years now, and we believe that we are now the best we have ever been.

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

We booked this restaurant as it welcomed children as we wanted to go with our daughter and her two children aged 6 & 9.All the staff were friendly without being intrusive and we were made welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
Our table was right next to the open kitchen and the chefs made the children welcome to watch from a safe distance what they were cooking. The food was excellent and well presented and there were even bread and little treats to eat while we were waiting for the starters. There was a good atmosphere and even though it was an evening we weren't made to feel uncomfortable having brought the children with us.
At the end of the evening the children went to give the chefs a little tip and again they were very friendly.
On our way out we were invited to go back and try the cocktail menus but unfortunately didn't have the time to do this, however I would highly recommend this restaurant and will certainly be going there again on our next visit to Truro, shame we don't live closer as we would certainly make it our favourite!

Thank Vinney10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Head chef at Bustopher Jones Wine Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, they are important to us as we still feel that being the 22nd best restaurant in Truro is an unfair reflection on our team.

We enjoyed having the critics watching us from over the glass screen that night, and it was very sweet of them to come to the kitchen at the end of the night to thank us in person.

Hopefully you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and made it safely back to Bristol without too much queuing on the A30.

Best wishes,

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

We are currently on our summer break in Cornwall with our 3 boys. We googled good Sunday lunches and Bustopher Jones came up as a good bet. It’s not on the main strip of Truro but on one of the off roads, we parked in Lemon Street carpark in M & S (only £1.20 to park all day on Sunday) it was by the Plaza cinema so easy to find.
The restaurant bar was very nice and airy but quite cosy too. We ordered our meals - 5 roasts including one child’s portion at £15 each and £7.50 for the child’s. We are always a bit wary of Sunday lunch out as Gareth is a chef (and to be honest sometimes a pain to feed). The meals came out with the meat, potatoes & Yorkshire puds on the plate. The veg, cauliflower cheese & gravy all came separate. The meat was cooked to perfection, the roast potatoes were the best I’d ever eaten out & the veg a bit more exotic than the average Sunday lunch and was so good! Would go as far to say that this was the best Sunday lunch we have ever eaten out!! We didn’t have pud as we were off to the cinema but you can have two course for £18. Very good value and we left nicely full. Next time we would order extra roasties as two of my boys are teenagers and you literally can’t fill them up. The staff were lovely especially the lady who looks like Amy Winehouse (in the healthy days!) and the front of house manager and owner was so nice - really passionate and has great belief in his product and rightly so. Hope to return again before we leave. Keep up the good work!

Thank Fablandlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Head chef at Bustopher Jones Wine Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave the review.

Being the head chef, I know what a challenge it is to go out for a meal and truly enjoy yourself when you have high standards of food, and it makes me very proud to read this review and to know what an amazing job my relatively new sous is doing.

Good work big lad!

Tash enjoyed her Amy Winehouse shout out and has been putting plenty of her hits on whilst setting up the restaurant in the mornings this week.

Hope to see you all back in before you go.

Happy holidays,

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We met up with some of our friends for a light lunch and we found this wonderful looking restaurant. The menu looks really good, excellent seasonal foods!!
The drinks menu is out of the world! If you like a fabulous drink this place will blow you away! Honestly amazing! Cocktails, wine and soft drinks.
The head chef and his team have done an excellent job with the menu!! As we were a big group we decided to order the whole menu, (we’re a funny group)
The food come out, omg! Blown away! Everything we had was delicious! Best chicken wings and the pork is mouth watering, yummy!! The salads were delicious too, best broccoli ever!!!
Now, the front of house staff are amazing, Ashley and his team are true hospitality professionals, he made us feel comfortable, relaxed and gave us good menu recommendations!!
If you were a business company and you wanted to do a working lunch perfect light lunch and to have a meeting or a dinner event this would be your place! Excellent meeting room.
Thank you so much for an amazing lunch!!

Thank 598sarahd598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren M, Head chef at Bustopher Jones Wine Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thanks very much for your review Sarah. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch time with us, the aim of the lunch menu is that it is easy to cater for large groups like yours with the same top quality we serve to smaller tables in the same time frame so that they can get back to whatever they are up to in their day.

It certainly has been a massive boost to myself and the restaurant to have Ashley (my big brother) heading up the front of house and really pushing the standards of service.

We hope to see you again next time you are around.

Best wishes,

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bustopher Jones Wine Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Truro, Truro District
Truro, Truro District
 
Truro, Truro District
 

Been to Bustopher Jones Wine Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing