We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lunch”
Review of Sonder

Sonder
Ranked #11 of 192 Restaurants in Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 1 - USD 21
Description: City centre venue focussing on amazing street food recipes from around the world. Fantastic flavours, aromas and colours backed up with craft beer and cider, artisan coffee and tea, amazing spirits, infusions, cocktails and more.
Restaurant details
Description: City centre venue focussing on amazing street food recipes from around the world. Fantastic flavours, aromas and colours backed up with craft beer and cider, artisan coffee and tea, amazing spirits, infusions, cocktails and more.
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We had our first visit on a fairly busy Saturday lunchtime. We had a voucher so we ordered LOTS of yummy food to try and were not disappointed at all. What a great place! Food was perfect, drinks were lush, atmosphere was great. We will definitely be back. Thank you Sonder.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Emzixxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, Owner at Sonder, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Emzixxxx! We're really glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

My friend was desperate to try out Sonders, so we decided that Saturday lunchtime would be the perfect opportunity. We were welcomed by the barmaid (who was extremely friendly) and were asked if we were there for drinks or food. We said we were there to eat and the barmaid said she would sort our drinks for us before we went up.
Unfortunately, when we went upstairs to eat, we discovered, after two visits from the same waitress and overhearing a conversation by another waiter, that nearly half the menu was not available - no tornado fries, no spicy cheddar, no shrimp, no pulled pork (plus others!)
However, not all was lost, as the whole of the front menu was all about brunch. It was only moments later that we heard a waiter explain to another table that “we don’t do brunch” - not something that was explained to us on entering or on the menu. I was unsure as to why it was there at all if it isn’t offered. It wasn’t as if we were told “it’s not available after this time...” it was that they do not do brunch at all.
At this point, there wasn’t anything we wanted to eat and decided to head elsewhere. Unfortunately we had drinks to pay for, as that order was taken as we walked in. If we had ordered normally, we wouldn’t have ordered drinks as we would be leaving. I know this wasn’t intentional, but it felt like we were a little conned.
I have to give this a two star review, because we had to leave the restaurant!
I love the premise of this place but to be out of so many items was just so disappointing. I wasn’t aware they allowed dogs into the restaurant either - up on the higher floors - which didn’t feel very hygienic.
I’m hoping to give this place another chance, but maybe next time I’ll wait to see if they have the food first!

Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, Owner at Sonder, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Hi Kate,

It is a shame that you felt the need to leave such a low review after not even eating with us and I appreciate that some of it may have been a communication issue with what you overheard.

Our food is cooked fresh and in smallish batches to avoid wastage and make sure it is served fresh.

Pulled Pork - On arrival in the kitchen on Saturday morning I noticed we were low on Pulled Pork and ordered more from the butcher. This dish takes about 30 mins to prepare either end of a 6 hour cooking time. Unfortunately it wasn't quite ready when you came in and we had sold the last portions.

The 3 items that were not available did not make up any where near half of the menu.

Tornado Fries - these are cut from the same potatoes as our Skinny Fries. As Skinny Fries are far more popular I had used the last of the potatoes for them and we were waiting for a delivery that was delayed.

We still had Skinny Fries, Haloumi Fries and Sweet Potato Fries.

Shrimp - these had been out of stock with our supplier for a couple of days. That can't be helped.

Spicy Cheddar - we have taken this off the menu (being reprinted today) due to supply issues, but as it's on the menu we have to let people know.

Brunch - The waiter had been to the kitchen and asked if I could still do brunch as it was approaching mid afternoon. With numerous orders for burgers, tacos, salads and more in I said no as I had no grill space left and there would have been an excessive delay. What you heard was the waiter returning to the guest and saying 'I'm sorry we can't do brunch' not ' we don't do brunch'.

As I understand it you only wanted Pulled Pork and stated this on arrival. Unfortunately there was nothing I could do to speed up the process and we aren't like many restaurants who buy in frozen produce or keep it longer than it should be.

However, we did have a huge menu of burgers, tacos, nachos, fries, loaded fries to choose from so I think you comment 'maybe next time I’ll wait to see if they have the food first!' is a bit unfair.

As for the dogs. Yes we do allow well behaved dogs into all public areas of the building. However, we regularly clean the building, use clean plates and cutlery (a separate bowl for dogs) and sanitise the tables between users. We have never had a dog cause any mess in the building or cause anyone any concern.

Unfortunately we have had plenty of humans leave awful messes including bodily fluids, damage our property, steal our property and abuse staff and customers.

We will continue to allow dogs into Sonder.

If you do fancy coming back can I suggest you check our website as Pulled Pork isn't always on the menu and if it is send us a message and we'll make sure we save you some.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

What a find. 3 generations all loved our meals. Great meat and veggie options, cracking choice of ales, brilliant staff and a nice vibe. We'll definitely be back

Thank Kernowtraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Felt as though I had landed from Mars after the ~ landlord / one of the barmaids boy friends had left. Beer not brill but at least they said sorry when I left it n walked out.

Thank gmessenger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, Owner at Sonder, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Hi there.

I must say that I am perplexed as to why you left this review after looking into the circumstances and emailing you to discuss with no response.

You entered the premises on a quiet evening and were greeted as everyone is. We can have up to 14 beers and ciders on tap which change frequently. These are displayed on a digital screen behind the bar which was pointed out to you. Some of these are extreme flavours so we ensure everybody without fail is asked if they would like to try before they buy. You were offered the same opportunity. You insisted on having Tap 1 without trying it which is clearly listed as a 'Still Cider' not a beer. It is a well loved cider that is locally made in small batches and pleases numerous cider drinkers and is a great still cider. We understand that tastes vary which is why we offer the tasters as previously mentioned.

You took one sip of it, said it's horrible and left. This took our team member by surprise as it is odd behaviour and she just naturally apologised.

Had you stopped to discuss the issue and despite it being YOUR choice we would have replaced that drink free of charge, we're nice like that.

So to summarise.

You came in. Were greeted in a friendly, professional manner. You were shown the list of products on offer and offered a FREE taster. You insisted on taking a cider (perhaps bizarrely thinking it was a beer and wouldn't taste of apples?!).
You said its horrible and left and despite this received an apology.

So great product, amazing service, no wait yet you decided that you would give a 2 star review on Trip Advisor and damage the hard work that independent businesses such as Wasted Apple Cider and Sonder put in to achieve high standards and make a living.

All quite bizarre really.

My advice to you for the future to avoid such a disastrous reoccurrence would be -

1. If you are offered a free taster take it
2. Remember that cider isn't beer and tastes of apples (and sometimes other fruit)
3. Know what you are ordering. Dangerous things can happen (elsewhere) if you drink anything that is put in front of you!!
4. Drink elsewhere!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

Another great visit. Not been for a while but still the same great welcome from Gary and the team. Great choice of food and beer. Still best pub in Truro xx verdant as a regular hurray

Thank charl3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, Owner at Sonder, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Thanks for your lovely review and there is always a warm welcome for you at Sonder!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonder also viewed

Truro, Truro District
Truro, Truro District
 
Truro, Truro District
Truro, Truro District
 

Been to Sonder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing