We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday lunchtime treat”
Review of The Vine Tree

The Vine Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located on the south side of the River Usk, looking toward Crickhowell, the thirteen arched stone bridge and Table Mountain beyond. Built as a coaching Inn, The Vine Tree was established in 1857 and celebrates it’s 160 year anniversary. Here at the Vine Tree, we aim to provide great service, food and drink, using locally sourced fresh produce and showcasing all that is best in Wales. Opening Hours Lunch 12:00pm to 2:30pm Dinner 6:00pm to 9:30pm Weekends 6:00pm to 10:00pm Sunday Lunch 12:00pm to 4:00pm Bar is open all day. Restaurant and Bar closed Monday
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We were delighted with our lovely food from the lunch menu. The Welsh Rarebit starter was a meal in itself and main courses of chicken in a morels sauce and fish and chips were very tasty and very filing. Living within walking distance of the Vine Tree, we’ll definitely make a return visit.

Thank 2014Crick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT_Llangattock, Manager at The Vine Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post such a positive review.

It's so nice to hear that you thought our lunch menu was lovely and that you enjoyed all of the dishes.

We feel our lunch menu offers a suitable variety and choice for all appetites and tastes.

Happy New Year, hopefully we will see you again soon.

The Vine Tree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Beautiful food, and cooked exactly how I asked, service was brilliant to be fair! Defiantly be returning

Thank Welshbabe024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT_Llangattock, Manager at The Vine Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Vine Tree, Llangattock to celebrate New Years Eve.

We are so pleased that you thought the food and service were so good.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome back to The Vine Tree in 2018.

Happy New Year.
The Vine Tree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

We came on a friday night, and there was some confusion about our booking, however we were found a table, but then waited 25 minutes for our order to be taken and our starter arrived just within the hour, by which point we were VERY hungry! The staff apologised nicely but the food did not come any quicker. Starters of whitebait and soup were ok but not exciting. Onion Celebration was super and monkfish really well cooked.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank juliabaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT_Llangattock, Manager at The Vine Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. As a team we discuss all reviews, this allows us to improve the service to our guests. I am obviously disappointed that you have considered your experience as three stars/average. We work hard to achieve much more than that.

I am sorry that there was an issue with your booking. I am told that there was no reservation for your party that evening, however I am pleased that on a busy Friday evening we were able to prepare a table and serve you as quickly as possible. We will review how this happened.

I am pleased that you enjoyed The Celebration of Onion and Monkfish. Head Chef David Chamberlain and his team work tirelessly to produce high quality dishes. The Celebration of Onion is the main course dish that won Sous Chef Gavin Kellett, the title of Vegetarian Society Chef of The Future award in 2016.

We wish you a Happy New Year and hope that we can welcome you back to The Vine Tree soon.

The Vine Tree

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Absolutely Fabulous. Superb food, brilliant atmosphere, great service.
Fantastic Christmas Day. Great value.

Thank GrampyNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT_Llangattock, Manager at The Vine Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Firstly may we take the opportunity to thank you for celebrating Christmas Day with us at The Vine Tree, Llangattock.

We are so pleased that you had a fabulous day.

We wish you a Happy New Year and hope that we can welcome you and your family back to The Vine Tree in 2018.

The Vine Tree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Spent a fantastic few days over Christmas here with family and friends! Great atmosphere, delicious food and the cocktails are amazing! All served with impeccable service; staff who are friendly and can’t do enough to enhance your experience! Definitely worth a visit!!

Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT_Llangattock, Manager at The Vine Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind review and for choosing The Vine Tree to dine and relax at Christmas time.

All our staff work hard to make our customers completely satisfied, from your comments it seems that on this occasion we were successful. That's great and I will pass this onto all our staff.

We wish you a Happy New Year and hope that we will see you agin in 2018.

The Vine Tree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vine Tree also viewed

Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Llangattock, Crickhowell
 

Been to The Vine Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing