We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
309
114
48
29
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
309
114
48
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursejacuzzi bathon arrivalhoneymoon suitewalk in showerwedding venueevening mealbeautiful hotelbooked this hotelone night stayfamily roomsteakbrecon beaconsstandard roomwedding breakfastno liftfull welsh breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 523 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We were a party of fourteen adults for a family reunion and we all agreed it was a great place to stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food excellent. We were only going to eat in for one night but ended up eating in both nights and we all found the food well cooked, tasty and plentiful. Bar prices were also reasonable. Breakfast on Saturday was waitress service and on the Sunday a buffet but again the food was good with a wide choice. Cameron, the manager, and all his staff were friendly and very helpful. We would definitely stay here again and have recommended it to all our family and friends. Well done and thank you for helping make a great weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay in the deluxe double, room 22. The big jacuzzi bath was perfect and the bed comfortable. The view from the window was pretty.
This room was above the function room and before we arrived we received an email to inform us there would be a noisy event on the evening we stayed. Cameron was very accommodating and was willing to do anything to make our stay enjoyable. He offered us another room but we decided we preferred the features in our original room, he threw in a bottle of bubbly to compensate for the noise.
The grounds of the hotel are lovely and the food and drink on offer was enjoyable!

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Shellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Arrived at The Old Rectory early evening and were greeted by very friendly staff. There were many locals in the bar celebrating The Old Rectory winning a series of the television program "Four in a Bed." The dinner menu was good and varied and we had an excellent mixed grill served in the conservatory. The room was clean, bright and contained two very comfortable beds giving us a very good nights sleep. A character hotel in a great location and one we hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Junior suite was a good upgrade
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ijmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Pros: beautiful setting, building with character, very friendly and welcoming. Detailed guide for a 3 mile walk in the room, which we used to walk the beautiful area. Good toiletries. Friendly staff, sometimes not quite professional.
Cons: our room was very dated. The bathroom only had a sink and a very small shower where the missing door had been replaced by a curtain. Biggest problem were the thin walls (we constantly heard the neighbouring room bash their door until late) and the lack of appropriate window dressing to keep the light out in the early hours (just a flimsy venetian blind and some unlined curtains). We did not get much sleep that night.
Breakfast was very disappointing: while the information in the room gave the impression of a great breakfast with cooked items made to order, the reality was a small buffet with rubbery fried eggs and other items for your fried breakfast, no sign of the advertised smoked salmon and no fruit, except for some dried apricots and prunes. Breakfast had absolutely no resemblance of the one served in the "Four in the bed" TV-program, where the hotel came out tops! So sadly just a one off for the TV cameras.
We also had dinner there the night before, which also was not very good. Only fish on the menu was Fish and Chips, salad was served without dressing, kids did not like their sausage and mash at all.
I'd go back, as the setting is beautiful and the management style is entertaining (a bit like a younger Faulty Towers). However, I'd make sure to get a refurbished room and I'd eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsB224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Our son and his future wife chose this venue for their wedding. My wife and I decided to stay from Friday until the Monday. We were not disappointed. The hotel is set in a stunning location and everybody from the Manager to the cleaning team were very helpful, friendly, considerate and accommodating.

Usually at hotels, alcohol prices are inflated. However the prices were reasonable at the Old Rectory with a great selection of beers, wines and spirits.

The restaurant food was excellent quality and again, reasonably priced. Service was exceptional.

The bride and groom had a many requirements to ensure that their day went without a hitch. Cameron, Alice and the team (as well as the families) worked tirelessly to ensure that the marquee was ready for the big day and that everything was as it should be.

The weather was kind for the photographs, but it poured down during the serving of the wedding fayre. However, the food was served with military precision and staff were kept dry with a series of golfing umbrellas. I would recommend a canopy to be erected between hotel and marquee for future events.

Weekend breakfast was self service with everything you could possibly want for a "full Welsh". On the Monday it was waitress service to order.

We loved our very memorable stay at this beautiful hotel. The people that operate it made the weekend go with no apparent hitch. Only one complaint-it was over too quick.

Nothing appeared to be too much trouble, the rooms were clean, spacious and well decorated. The beds were very comfortable. The Manager, Cameron had a maturity beyond his years and handled any problems in his stride.

Thanks to all at the Old Rectory. We will be back.

PS. Congratulations on winning "4 In A Bed"

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank PeteObee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews