We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Faultless”

Review of Beacon Park Boats

Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets. Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
171 reviews
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets.
Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Narrowboat Grouse: Lounge with comfy chairs and log-effect gas stove.
Narrowboat Grouse: Front deck, with seating and table, can be enclosed to form a conservatory.
Narrowboat Grouse: Snuggle up to the fire with a good book for a relaxing evening in spring/autumn.
Narrowboat Grouse: For 2 couples. Has a large canopied front deck - perfect for al fresco dining.
Narrowboat Grouse: The beds are large and comfy for a great night's sleep.
Narrowboat Grouse: At the touch of a button, the beds glide away, providing more space for daytime.
Narrowboat Grouse: Spacious shower room.
Narrowboat Grouse: Ceramic handbasin on marble counter, with Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangattock, Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 171 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
KShaw1963
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Having read the other reviews I'm finding it difficult to think of some other way of saying how excellent this Company and it's boats are , so I will just go with the flow and use words like luxury, spotless, welcoming, well organised, fun, beautiful, relaxing, friendly... the list goes on. This was our first family narrow boat holiday and I have to admit to being slightly anxious about it but I needn't have worried. From start to finish, even through some awful weather (one full set of waterproofs provided on boat) this was a fabulous, relaxing holiday. The locks are actually good fun and there is quite often a volunteer on hand to help if you want some. Everyone is friendly and happy and laid back, a real escape. Great food and service to be had at The Coach & Horses and The Bear in Crickhowell. Try and book ahead as the pubs en route tend to be busy. My top tip is to take a pair of gloves each for mooring up, the ropes can be a bit harsh on your hands, especially if they're wet. We will be doing this again and I can't imagine that we would be able to do any better than Beacon Park Boats...and I'm fussy! Thank you to Sarah, Alasdair and all of their hard working staff.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your holiday. It's so useful for other potential customers to be able to read your opinion. We are delighted that you had such a great time on your first family narrowboat holiday. Hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise D
1 review
“fantastic”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

WE spent a long weekend on the kestrel boat. The boat had everything on it that you could ever need.
Everything was fantastically clean and of excellent quality. There was even a towel for the dog
The handover at the beginning was well presented and very well explained - having never done this before.
We enjoyed this so much we have already booked for next year - 2018.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
It's so lovely to hear that having experienced your first boating holiday, you've already booked a second. Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you in 2018.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kermit100...
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations at every bend in the canal...”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our first time on a narrow boat and what a surprise it turned out to be. Looking for something that the whole family, including the dog, might enjoy - we stumbled upon Beacon Park Boats in a part of the world that we already knew to be rather special.
I can report that not a single moment of this holiday was less than 100% enjoyable. Relaxing and active at the same time, we met lots of lovely fellow travellers and indulged in the luxury of what can only be described as a floating boutique hotel suite but without staff.
After a comprehensive handover you are let loose with a state of the art narrow boat with all mod cons (including bow thrusters normally reserved for plastic gin palaces) and quickly achieve a Zen like state of relaxation. Added to this, the Mon and Brec canal is simply breathtakingly beautiful. I doubt there is a better yard to rent from, nothing could touch the attention to detail and pride with which this service is delivered.
Thoroughly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
What a lovely review. Thank you for your kind words. All our staff put a great deal of effort into delighting our customers. We are so pleased this shows. And we couldn't agree more about the Mon & Brec canal being 'breathtakingly beautiful'. We hope to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dandecomm...
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxurious end-to-end Fun!”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We wondered if this holiday could possibly live up to last years.....which was on the same boat! It did indeed! We had a great week and the changeable weather didn't really affect the enjoyment since we had wet proofs for the odd (warm) shower. It was great to revisit old haunts at Talybont (the Star) and Llangynidr (Coach and horses) and note the portion sizes were as huge as ever. The boat was immaculately presented and we were very well looked after from arrival to departure. Thanks so much and will be booking again for next year though will probably select a different boat just for the change!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
It was lovely to welcome you back, and super to hear that you had another enjoyable week cruising the canal. We look forward to discovering which boat you choose for your next holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slangers1...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great boat- lovely canal”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We hired Hobby for a week in mid July and were blessed with excellent weather for 6 out of 7 days. Hobby was well kitted out and very comfortable to stay in. We had a great induction video before we set out and good guidance on how to handle the boat and navigate the canal, which is incredibly narrow and shallow. Within the first day I think I had reached expert level and so we had very few problems with grounding or collisions!

Can't fault Beacon Boats on anything. It was an excellent week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you for leaving a review. We are so pleased that your week in Wales was excellent and sunny! We hope to welcome you back back before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing