We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful boat to unwind on”

Review of Beacon Park Boats

Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets. Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
143 reviews
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets.
Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Narrowboat Grouse: Lounge with comfy chairs and log-effect gas stove.
Narrowboat Grouse: Front deck, with seating and table, can be enclosed to form a conservatory.
Narrowboat Grouse: Snuggle up to the fire with a good book for a relaxing evening in spring/autumn.
Narrowboat Grouse: For 2 couples. Has a large canopied front deck - perfect for al fresco dining.
Narrowboat Grouse: The beds are large and comfy for a great night's sleep.
Narrowboat Grouse: At the touch of a button, the beds glide away, providing more space for daytime.
Narrowboat Grouse: Spacious shower room.
Narrowboat Grouse: Ceramic handbasin on marble counter, with Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangattock, Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 143 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Karen F
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful boat to unwind on”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We were first time canal boaters and 'Buzzard' set the bar very high for any future ventures. Beautifully designed and built, everything on board was to a very high standard. We slept extremely well in the comfortable bed and were warm and safe even when the Welsh weather turned wet and windy.

We were given a thorough introduction to the boat and soon felt reasonably confident in steering, mooring and filling up the water tank. The Mon & Brec canal was more challenging than we expected, being very narrow in places and with many low bridges. We only tackled one lock but might have done more if we'd known that volunteers patrol the canal on most days and will help boaters through the procedures.

We didn't see very much wildlife, a heron on three occasions, one glimpse of a kingfisher, lots of ducks, but the views were lovely and it was very peaceful all along the stretch we did (Llangynidr to Goytre). There are not as many canal side pubs and shops open as we had expected, so it's a good idea to take provisions and cook on board. The galley kitchen was very well equipped to do that.

We couldn't get TV reception at all on the stretch we did, but WIFI worked occasionally. We listened to our music CDs and watched some films on DVDs borrowed from the library at Beacon Park Boats. All in all we thought it was a great way to unwind.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that your first time on a narrowboat went well, even if the weather wasn't the best. Lovely to hear that you found it relaxing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillMaesE...
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unforgettable weekend.”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The boats were beautiful, very well maintained and luxurious.The staff were very friendly and helpful. The scenery was beautiful. We loved every minute of the holiday, especially the locks where volunteer staff are happy to teach and help you manage them. A truly wonderful weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
What a great time you had! Thank you for leaving the review about your short break. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnaw196...
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury on the Canal”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had Kingfisher for a week which was a beautiful boat for 2 people . Boat was spotlessly clean and very well equipped . The bed was very comfortable with my husband saying he had the best night sleep for along time . The moorings spots at night that we chose were very quiet but we had all we needed on board . From the flowers to make you feel at home to the design of the Interiors - we wanted for nothing. We had never boated on a canal before but are glad we chose Beacon Park Boats for our first experience. There new Dock at Llangattock was most welcoming - as were all the staff. Well done a 5 star experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
We are thrilled that your first time boating was such a success, and that you felt relaxed on your holiday. Thank you for complimenting all the staff; it really is a team effort here. Hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue163
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection afloat”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have been regular clients of Beacon Park Boats for the last 10 years and we are eagerly planning our next visit. Each holiday is different but the boats are always excellent. They are beautifully crafted and equipped to the highest standards, with everything being spotlessly clean.
If you want to be active, then do the trip to Brecon taking in the fun of the locks, the swing bridges and the tunnel. If you would rather not tackle locks (but they are fun and simple) then travel south to Pontymoile. Further than that is a bit tricky as the canal gets shallower and there are a lot of weeds, but we have been down as far as Five Locks in the past. The scenery is beautiful in either direction and entirely different on the way back with fresh surprises around every twist and turn in the canal.
Pubs with excellent food, beer and cider can be found a short walk from your moorings and if you fancy a night in, then sit at your picnic table on the bank with your meal and a bottle of wine enjoying the birdsong. What more can you ask for? The peace and quiet with just wild flowers and nature is a treat. When we visited Crickhowell, we were even lucky enough to watch an otter playing in The River Usk.
We have rented a different boat each time we've ventured out on the Mon and Brec but always with Beacon Park and it has always been a complete pleasure from beginning to end. We've had no complaints at all and we've always felt proud to be out on the water on one of their beautiful boats because they are kept in such pristine condition both inside and out.
This time we chose Kingfisher as this boat has comfy leather chairs in which to relax if it rains, but each of the boats have their own personality and charm.
You have a fantastic business Sarah and Alasdair of which you are justly proud. Your reviews are well earned and we will be returning soon.
P.S. Can we have the recipe for those flapjacks please?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
What a lovely review - many thanks. Your holiday sounds idyllic, being so close to nature and enjoying al fresco meals in tranquil spots. We look forward to welcoming you back... for some more flapjack!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asant2
Linkinhorne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best canal boat in the UK.”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have been hiring canal boats for decades. Beacon Park boats are the best by far. The specification is stunning- hard wood surfaces everywhere. Top class linen and towels. Good quality toiletries. On Grouse there is a professional standard stainless steel kitchen. Almost all of the boats have a bow thruster for ease of manoeuvring. Even Grouse as the largest boat on the canal is a dream to handle. We got many admiring glances and did impromptu tours for several interested people. This is our second holiday with Beacon Park Boats and the major mark of our enjoyment is that we booked next year's holiday the day after we got back. Only 51 weeks left to go!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
We're looking forward to welcoming you back next year, after your enjoyable time on Grouse this summer. We are delighted to read that you were suitably proud of your narrowboat!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing