We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully relaxing way to spend a weekend”

Review of Beacon Park Boats

Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets. Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
166 reviews
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets.
Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Narrowboat Grouse: Lounge with comfy chairs and log-effect gas stove.
Narrowboat Grouse: Front deck, with seating and table, can be enclosed to form a conservatory.
Narrowboat Grouse: Snuggle up to the fire with a good book for a relaxing evening in spring/autumn.
Narrowboat Grouse: For 2 couples. Has a large canopied front deck - perfect for al fresco dining.
Narrowboat Grouse: The beds are large and comfy for a great night's sleep.
Narrowboat Grouse: At the touch of a button, the beds glide away, providing more space for daytime.
Narrowboat Grouse: Spacious shower room.
Narrowboat Grouse: Ceramic handbasin on marble counter, with Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangattock, Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 166 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Olliercw
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderfully relaxing way to spend a weekend”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend of narrow boating from Crickhowell to Brecon. The weather was sensational, the canal and countryside was beautiful and all on board had a memorable time. Would thoroughly recommend the experience to young and old and the locks were much easier than I thought they would be!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent holiday. We're glad to hear that you had such a good time enjoying the glorious Brecon Beacons, and that you got to grips with the locks so easily. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallavant...
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very professional and well run holiday company. Our boat was "Grouse" a 60ft long custom designed canal boat. It provided two 5ft double beds with an on suite bathroom and additional WC at the stern. It had a seating area and a table plus four chairs for dining. The galley came with all modern accessories and was easy to use. The bonus for me was the bow area which during the day could be used as an open or closed seating place whilst in transit or stopped for lunch. The boat was 8ft 6in wide and only just fitted under some bridges and locks. The scenery was magnificent and wildlife was there in abundance from Llamas to Red Kites. The canal has a few pubs very near to it and some that require a walk. You need to plan each day so you can ensure you have food aboard or have a place to go for dinner. There are also a couple of cafes and even a fish and chip shop not too far from the canal. My only negative comment is that in places the canal is very overgrown which makes it difficult to line up the vessel to get through some bridges. It can also creates difficulties when trying to pass other boats. All in all however a brilliant holiday and even the Welsh weather was at its best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday on the Mon & Brec canal, and that the weather was good. Hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0lmurp...
Guilford, Connecticut
1 review
“A wonderful boating experience”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Merlin, The boat we were given lived up to all expectations, It was beautifully presented and we were so impressed with all the equipment provided to ensure all our needs were met, The design and eye for detail was superb and the boatyard site was the most peaceful and attractive we have ever seen in all our years of boating, The only drawback of the experience being we know it can never be surpassed! The staff were a delight, Cannot recommend a boating holiday with this company enough..Many thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Thank you for writing such a commendation. It's so pleasing for all the staff to read that their hard work results in holidays that can 'never be surpassed'! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time in Wales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portishea...
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A luxury home afloat ....”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was only our second canal boating holiday and we also spent a weekend on one of the houseboats at Beacon Park in January 2017 having already booked our June trip.

The weekend alone was worth our time and money and it was a great chance to see what the Owners do out of season - basically build one new boat, returb one or more and do maintenance on the whole fleet.

So to our second ever canal holiday ... seems to us the two main criteria are "the boat" and "the canal" and in this case the boat is the star (well 5* actually) .... they are all different, very luxurious, very well built and beautifully equipped. Most of the boats are traditional style wood interiors but with very different layouts whereas the newest boat goes for off-white interior with stainless steel kitchen and an amazing shower ...!!!

We were on board Osprey - excellent 2 bed 2 loo/shower with galley and lounge at front - and me the driver at the back. Osprey like a lot of the boats has bow-thrusters - a real boon for first and second timers on this canal especially when passing under some bridges in particular. I won't give you the numbers - enjoy them when you find them!

The brochure and the online system are excellent; the booking process fine; the arrival day welcome and even the friendly departure day all worked well. On arrival day make sure you get at least 2 pieces of flapjack each if you can.

A word on the canal ... its a closed canal in that it doesn't link up with any others; average speed is 1.5mph given the bridges (we went under 95 of them - twice); the scenery is spectacular and will differ between the seasons as the foliage changes.

Beginner or experienced boater you will enjoy the boats and the canal.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
What a lovely review - thank you. It's super to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the canal, and appreciated the features on board our narrowboats. We hope to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A brilliant holiday experience”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had wonderful time, the weather was really good, the canal not to crowded and the boat (Hobby) was just the right size the two of us and our two labs. On arriving at Beconpark Boats the handover to was fast and efficient allowing us a good start to our holiday, the return handover was just as simple and efficient. The owners and there staff were helpful, courteous and such a pleasure to deal with we have already booked for next year.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent holiday on Hobby. We are so pleased that you had a great time and perfect weather. We look forward to welcoming you and your two labs back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing