We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”

Review of Beacon Park Boats

Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets. Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
178 reviews
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets.
Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Narrowboat Grouse: Lounge with comfy chairs and log-effect gas stove.
Narrowboat Grouse: Front deck, with seating and table, can be enclosed to form a conservatory.
Narrowboat Grouse: Snuggle up to the fire with a good book for a relaxing evening in spring/autumn.
Narrowboat Grouse: For 2 couples. Has a large canopied front deck - perfect for al fresco dining.
Narrowboat Grouse: The beds are large and comfy for a great night's sleep.
Narrowboat Grouse: At the touch of a button, the beds glide away, providing more space for daytime.
Narrowboat Grouse: Spacious shower room.
Narrowboat Grouse: Ceramic handbasin on marble counter, with Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangattock, Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 178 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Yorkshire...
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just returned from a week on the Brecon and Monmouthshire Canal in Eagle, one of the narrowboats built and run by Beacon Park Boats.

Everything about the holiday was top class and I doubt that there is a better boat rental company on any of the canals in the U.K.. Beacon's website makes booking a doddle and the information sent to you to review before arriving for your holiday explains everything you need to know about operating the narrowboat.

On arrival at Beacon's excellent home base at Llangattock we were given a guided tour of the boat and its facilities and systems and any questions we had were promptly answered. We then left the wharf with one of Beacon's staff on board to show us the ropes and give us a few tips about navigation and when he was satisfied that we knew what we were doing he hopped ashore and off we went. The fitting out and equipment on the boat is all very high quality and there are many small touches that show the care that Beacon takes to ensure their customers are pampered. My favourite example is that we found the salt cellar and the pepper mill had been filled prior to the boat being handed over to us which is not something you usually find when renting!!

Over the next week we cruised gently up and down the canal admiring the stunning scenery, spotting the wildlife, taking walks with our dog along the towpath and enjoying lunches and dinners at pubs along the way. The weather was fine and sunny for most of the week and we found the whole experience extremely relaxing. We enjoyed it so much that we have already booked another week with Beacon Park Boats next year.

If you are thinking of cruising this canal and you would like to rent a 5 star boat then you will not do better than choose Beacon. My only tip would be to book now because their boats are so much in demand that availability can be limited.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and the quality of the boat and its contents.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your holiday. We always strive to get the details spot on for our customers, and it's lovely to hear that the little things helped to make you feel 'pampered'. That's exactly as it should be on a holiday! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mon & Brec next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidandr...
Llanfyllin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top quality boat”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was our third year with Beacon park boat and was enjoyable as the other two, still plenty to see & do. The narrow boat was in first class condition and a pleasure to drive. With plenty of canalside pubs and restaurants there is lots of choices for dining and liquid refreshments.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
It was a pleasure to welcome you to Beacon Park Boats once again, and it's great that you enjoy the canalside pub and restaurants. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basis15
Biebergemuend, Germany
1 review
“It was a fantastic week in wales”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

It was a wonderful week in wales. We were very warmly welcomed and everything was very well organized. The boats are fantastic and everything was lovingly decorated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thank you for reviewing your week's cruise on the Mon & Brec canal. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time in Wales and hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11janr
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Owl”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just returned from a fabulous 11 night stay on this wonderful boat, which can only be described as "perfect". From the bubbling jacuzzi, which raised a few disbelieving eyebrows as well as a few smiles, to the very comfortable four poster bed; nothing has been left out. No need to have taken my cafetière cozy (which comes with us every time)... Theirs is an insulated one and I could have done without the extra baggage! Little extra touches go a long way to make you feel pampered and it really is 5* treatment. With the added bonus of a wood burning stove in addition to the central heating, we were also very snug indeed. So impressed were we that we had even booked our next break with them at Incline Cottage before we had disembarked and look forward to our return in early January.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Delighted that you describe your holiday on Owl as 'fabulous' and 'perfect'. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to welcoming you to Incline Cottage at Llanfoist Wharf in the New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic barge, beautiful countryside, quiet and peaceful”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We came here for our Honeymoon and hired the 'Owl', what more could you want from a honeymoon barge than a 4 poster bed, wood burning stove and a hot tub on the front deck!
The barge is amazing, well laid out, well stocked.
The canal itself is quiet and peaceful with plenty of places to moor up.
Absolutely loved the whole experience and would highly recommend it to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the barge design and fittings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thank you for your delightful review. We are so pleased that you chose to spend your honeymoon cruising the Mon and Brec on 'Owl'. Seems like a trend, as we're getting a number of honeymoon bookings now. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing