We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magic!”

Review of Beacon Park Boats

Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets. Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
178 reviews
Narrowboat Grouse: One of our fleet of 5-star hand-built boats with lavish interiors.
Narrowboat Grouse: Beds have luxurious sprung mattresses, duvets and traditional Welsh blankets.
Narrowboat Grouse: Impressively large kitchen with everything you'll need to cook a superb meal.
Narrowboat Grouse: Lounge with comfy chairs and log-effect gas stove.
Narrowboat Grouse: Front deck, with seating and table, can be enclosed to form a conservatory.
Narrowboat Grouse: Snuggle up to the fire with a good book for a relaxing evening in spring/autumn.
Narrowboat Grouse: For 2 couples. Has a large canopied front deck - perfect for al fresco dining.
Narrowboat Grouse: The beds are large and comfy for a great night's sleep.
Narrowboat Grouse: At the touch of a button, the beds glide away, providing more space for daytime.
Narrowboat Grouse: Spacious shower room.
Narrowboat Grouse: Ceramic handbasin on marble counter, with Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangattock, Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 178 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
PoisFishe...
Hagworthingham
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Magic!”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The only negative about our holiday was that we only booked for a week.
From the moment we arrived at the spanking new boat yard, we knew we had picked the right team to hire from. The boat was unlike anything you would normally find on a canal. Where else can you get five foot beds and en-suite bedrooms? This was five star plus as was the service.
One reason for only hiring for a week was the fact that the canal is only 30 miles long. However, the canal is so beautiful and there are so many good walks from it, our next hire will be for two weeks. We never did get to see either end of the canal, just too relaxed and chilled out to bother.
These are probably the best boats on any canal from the best hosts. And thanks for the tea and cake on arrival.
See you again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The canal
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Delighted to read your review. Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to welcome you again to the Mon & Brec very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveP555
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“These boats are true luxury”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We’ve been hiring narrow boats for over 20 years and have never come across such quality boat.
The new base is easy to find and has all the facilities you need to get you underway, including tea, coffee and biscuits, a nice deck area with rattan furniture so you can relax after travelling to the base and watch other boats pass by.
Alasdair and Sarah are great hosts and welcome guests personally and also remember if you’ve booked with them before. The household and maintenance team are very thorough and the boat are beautifully presented. Local products consisting of Bottled apple juice, Welsh cakes and Jam are a welcome gift.
Alasdair gives a full briefing before you set off, however he also takes into account previous experience with their boats so this is tailored to the individual skipper.
The bed was very, very comfortable and it was great to have a full size shower cubicle. Two TV's and two surround sound systems complement the overall quality and you can even borrow DVD's if you haven't packed your own.
Free Wi Fi was available but you do have to be in a good 3G signal area to make use of it. Hey, you're in mountains and forests for a good part of the time so what do you expect. Also sometimes it's good to be away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
The only way to improve on the whole experience is if Alasdair and Sarah decide to offer these beautiful boats on another canal, such as the Llangollen or Kennet and Avon canals. (No plans at present but you never know)
Alasdair and Sarah, thanks for another great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the boats
Liked least: Having to leave the boat at the end of the holiday (could have stayed for another week)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Delighted that you had another super holiday on the Mon & Brec canal. Thank you for leaving a review. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikechime...
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent holiday as always”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have been using Beacon Park Boats every year since 2008, sometimes twice a year. Alasdair and Sarah make you feel that you have known them for years, of which we have. Very friendly & welcoming with outstanding individually designed, quality and finishing on ALL the boats and cottages, Two separate on-suite facilities make it very comfortable for two couples (and a well behaved border collie).
5 star luxury all the way, with crisp white sheets & very comfortable beds, The kitchen has all you need and more, Thank you, see you next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The continuing very high standards
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thank you for posting this review. We are thrilled that you have chosen to holiday so many times with Beacon Park Boats. See you in 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley M
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Forget Barbados - Beacon Park Boats in Wales is the place to Honeymoon!”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent an amazing 6 days on the wonderful Owl for our honeymoon. The boat was 5 star accommodation, spotlessly clean and with every mod con you could need. The boat had a 4 poster bed, a wood burning stove and.... wait for it.... a HOT TUB on the front!! Honestly, we were the envy of every other person we met on the canal! We spent the days leisurely sailing (I've still not decided if this is the right term but never mind) up the canal and then we would find a pretty bit of scenery (not difficult in the beautiful Brecons), moor up and then jump into the hot tub to share a bottle or two whilst watching the sunset.

You're sent a DVD prior to even setting foot at the marina so that you have some basic knowledge of what's expected in terms of looking after the boat etc and even I managed to grasp the basics. The locks were fun and broke the day up and everyone on the canal were so friendly, helping each other out.

A wonderful holiday, I thoroughly recommend Beacon Park Boats, in particular The Owl and we hope to go back for our first anniversary!

Thanks to Sarah and Alisdair for keeping such a 5 star fleet of boats!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that your honeymoon on Owl was 'wonderful'. Look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

10 full days and nights spent on the luxurious narrow boat Peregrine. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our holiday and we hope to book up again in the future. Our boat was perfect in every way and the team at Beacon Park Boats were professional, friendly and reassuring throughout.
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent holiday on Peregrine. Hope to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing